We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Manin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Manin
Ranked #84 of 431 Hotels in Milan
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I like this hotel it is near the Duomo and there is a metro station near it. the staff were frindly and the room were clean. the breakfast is goood. Really there was nothing I did not like it . All of the luxury stores is near this hotel ...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sundus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcolombo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Manin, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear,
thank You so much for your kind review.
We will be honoured to see You again,
warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    249
    101
    33
    15
See reviews for
66
182
36
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Hotel is in a wonderful location, 5 minutes walk to center & Duomo. More than that, you walk through fashion shop streets such as A.Manzoni, Via Montenapoleone, Via Spiga to the center from the hotel - it cannot be boring :-) Breakfast was satisfactory, rooms were spacious. Location is also perfect if you have a baby and need to return to hotel in case of emergency situations such as sleep, etc. The back garden is lovely for a nice rest during hot weather and a place to have some fresh air. The food (lunch & dinner) was satisfactory as value-for-money. Thanks to the extremely kind, welcoming personnel and especially to Mrs. Ylenia for their valuable support and help during the stay. I would choose the same hotel for further visits to Milan.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side can be chosen if you have a child and need silence
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orhan_Istanbuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcolombo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Manin, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Sir,
thank You so much for sharing with us Your point of view.
I hope we will be able to have once again the privilege to host You here.
Accept our warmest regards,
Miss Ylenia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel itself is in a very good location and has recently been renovated so looks great.

The services is questionable, some if the staff and friendly and helpful. most are cold and have a severe case of can`t do attitude.

Room service is only available after 7am/7:30pm. And if your an early riser and like a coffee while you get ready forget it, there are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room and the front desk staff will not make Snyder concession to help you.

If the hotel was not so close to my office I would most definitely not stay here

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoff77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcolombo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Manin, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Sir,
I would like to express my sincerest thanks for the observations you sent us regarding your experience in our hotel.
I will take them in mind and we will review some wrong attitudes.
I hope, anyway, that You will come again and stay in our place.
Warm regards,
Miss Ylenia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

LOCATION

The location is the best thing about this hotel. It is within walking distance of the major sites including the Duomo and Galleria. The walk from the hotel to Duomo takes you through Milan's finest shopping so if you want to see 10 Prada stores within 1 square mile, the walk from Hotel Manin will not disappoint. There is a lovely park across the street from the hotel and it is a short cab ride from the Milan Central train station. The location is VERY convenient.

SERVICE

The service was fine - cold - unfriendly but polite. I got the distinct feeling Hotel Manin caters to more business travelers than pleasure travelers. The front desk was polite enough but seemed almost annoyed they had to help me. They did provide a map and cursory directions to the tourist areas. Overall, I felt the staff was annoyed by tourists. The front desk staff spoke English well enough to check in but were very limited.

The bell-boy did accompanying us to our room with our luggage. He did not speak English well but he spoke it well enough for basic communication. Unfortunately, he was very smelly (body odor) so the ride up the elevator with him was horrible: TIP - if you want to risk the bell-boy alone with your luggage for a few moments - take a separate elevator and give your nose a break.

CLEANLINESS

No complaints on the cleanliness. Everything from the front desk to the window sills in the room were clean. The lobby and elevators were fine. The only hygienic offense was the smell of the bell-boy. Other than that, it is a very clean hotel.

ROOM

The room was small but that is to be expected in Europe. The bathroom was fine and had a full tub. The closets were super large and came with a very large safe. Again - the room seemed very geared toward business travelers. There was a small amount of built-in desk space. The hallways leading to the rooms had crazy colorful wallpaper with very low ceilings. If you are very tall or claustrophobic - keep this in mind. Beds were fine. Linens were fine.

AMENITIES

Nothing really to speak of for this category. There was a hair dryer! No memorable extras - very basic.

CONCLUSION

Overall, I would NOT stay here again. From the cold staff to the lack of any pleasurable niceties, it was not a good value. There are many more Milan hotels with a personality to choose from within the same area. At best I would say this hotel is clean and convenient at a VERY high price. I paid more at this hotel than any other I stayed in on this trip (and I stayed at 4-stars in Rome, Venice and Paris on this trip). If you want to pay a lot for a little - be their guest.

Cheers and happy travels!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcolombo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Manin, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Sir,
thank You so much.
We hope to host You soon again here.
Warm regards from Milan
Miss Ylenia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Hotel was modern and clean and staff were very friendly. Rooms are small - which is to be expected in European city centre hotels. Hop-on city bus tour stop was outside hotel, which made travelling around very easy on a 48hour ticket.
Breakfast was as expected, not brilliant but nice. Rooms were very clean with plenty of towels and a mini bar fridge. Staff were extremely friendly, with plenty of English, and directed us to a wonderful family restaurant for dinner. Hotel is beside a large city park and within easy access to all the main tourist attractions. We requested a park view, which was lovely. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alioc214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcolombo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Manin, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank You for Your comment and for sharing it with us.
Accept our warmest regards
Miss Ylenia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Manin for two days after arriving in Italy from Australia. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The hotel has a lovely garden out the back which was perfect for my two year old to play in. The breakfast is very good and the rooms are of a good size. In the room we had, there was a shower over a narrow bath and the shower curtain kept getting stuck against us in the shower. They don't have a kettle in the room to make a cup of tea or coffee but I think this is the norm in Italy. They have a computer in the lobby for use by guests but also provide free wi-fi for a limited time. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CAN79Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcolombo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Manin, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear,
thank You so much for your kind review.
We will be honoured to see You again,
warm regards
Miss Ylenia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was in a 3 days business trip in Milan. The Manin hotel is in the very centre, near to the Scala and the Dome. You can find the most interesting shops nearby the hotel. For example: Alessi, Artemide showroom, the Gallery. The hotel faces to a nice park, you can go there at the morning for a little walk. There are a little pub near the hotel and a tobacco shop. The restaurant and the courtyard is very nice in the hotel, and the breakfast is excellent. You can get juices, coffee, ham and eggs, some special cheese, breads, milk, jams, and so on. In the bar [courtyard] you can get fresh drinks at the evening. I had a little room on the 7th floor. The sight was not so good, I saw the mechanical pipes of the building from the window... But the room was OK, the bed is comfortable, there was a TV and a big desk and a garderobe. The bathroom has a toilet, a bidet and a big bathtub. The staff is very polite and helpful.
I bravely recommend this hotel anyone who wants to spend few days in the centre of Milan.

Room Tip: The rooms looks to the Manin street are better. The rooms looks to the courtyard are a little distre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbalazs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcolombo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Manin, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Sir,
we thank You so much for such a nice review and we really hope we will be able to see You soon again!
Accept our warmest regards
Miss Ylenia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
Hotel Cavour
Hotel Cavour
#81 of 431 in Milan
613 reviews
Brera
NH Milano Touring
NH Milano Touring
#57 of 431 in Milan
875 reviews
Brera
Carlyle Brera Hotel
Carlyle Brera Hotel
#90 of 431 in Milan
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brera
Senato Hotel Milano
Senato Hotel Milano
#63 of 431 in Milan
154 reviews
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#37 of 431 in Milan
743 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Windsor Hotel Milano
Windsor Hotel Milano
#61 of 431 in Milan
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manin

Property: Hotel Manin
Address: Via Daniele Manin 7, 20121 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Brera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#71 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#89 Family Hotel in Milan
#107 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Manin 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manin Hotel is located in the heart of Milan, close to La Scala Theatre, the "Duomo di Milano" and the Fashion Quadrilateral, with a unique view over the city’s most beautiful park. The Manin, a 4-star hotel with a century of tradition, is one of the most appreciated historic houses in the centre of Milan for its comfort and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Manin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manin Hotel Milan
Golden Tulip Milan
Milan Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing