We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smart Hotel Milano Centrale

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Smart Hotel Milano Centrale
Ranked #340 of 430 Hotels in Milan
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Very friendly staff, enjoyable basic breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms and great location as its just 2 min walk from Milan central station.
This area can be a little rough at late hours so be careful if walking with valuables.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo_IE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    191
    214
    96
    110
See reviews for
69
219
44
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Bad staff (under staffed it seems) with bad manners and the worst attitude AND IN LOUD RENOVATION UNTILL OCTOBER (when we arrived the overweight blond lady manning tha front desk was eating a sandwich and discussing something in Italian with a colleague, very unprofessional)
It turned out the hotel AC system was not working (80 degrees outside in Milan) and we're trying to have it fixed (it was Saturday afternoon.
So I asked if they would have the system running by the night time and the blond fat lady answered very rudely "I hope so"', so I told her that I payed for rooms with AC and I would not stay there during the weekend melting in their small rooms so I needed a definite answer, so she said that it would probably would work (it was working when we returned at night)
At breakfast they did not have bread so we complained to the front lady manager (another unhappy Italian ) so she got into a discussion wit the person in charge of breakfast right there in the lobby like a third rate back alley hostel, a sad unpleasant show. DO NOT GO THERE IF YOU ARE TRAVELER WITH A HINT OF CLASS!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milan hotels

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
258 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Newer hotel with clean, but small rooms. Main objection was the way sound carried from other rooms. Breakfast is included but not wifi. The location is convenient to the train station and sights in the center of the city. Would be a good choice for a single female traveler.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night, it's around EUR110 for a standard double room included b'fast, I booked it on Agoda.

We were arranged on the 2nd floor, the room is very small, not much space for our luggage.

Just like other comment said, the water leaking is a big problem, the bathroom utility is wrongly placed. However, it's very close to the train station, just right at the corner, so the location is the only selling point. and It looked nicer than other hotels nearby.

The renovation is new and modern, however, lack of style.

There was not much staff, we didn't need them, so it was all fine.

The breakfast is terrible, luckily it was included.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay6_travela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We've had a terrible experience with this hotel and advise anyone NOT to book here.

We had a confirmed reservation for this hotel which we had chosen because of its convenient location close to central station. This was good for us since two in our party are elderly people.

However, upon our arrival we were told there was "an issue" with our room and that we were not able to stay there. They sent us to another Idea hotel (it's a chain) WAY outside the city centre, very far away from everything which is highly uncomfortable for the two elderly people in our party. They said it was only 1km and had a free shuttle bus, but in reality it is much further away and the shuttle runs very irregularly.

Even worse, they made us pay up front and afterwards we found out that the room we got in the far away hotel was actually €70 cheaper than the one we had originally booked, but we had to pay the same price. And a taxi to get there. They were absolutely unaccomodating: did not offer a substitute room in the hotel we originally booked or any discount for the inconvenience of staying in a worthless location far from the city centre and public transport.

It appears to me that this hotel chain operates in a really nasty way: they don't care if their rooms in the hotel near the station get overbooked, because this enables them to fill up their far away hotels and catch the same amount of money. In fact I wouldn't be surprised if this is a conscious strategy of theirs.

A business that treats its customers like this is not worth your money. Avoid!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank due_passi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

I stayed here with my husband during our honeymoon. It was the most expensive hotel we stayed at in Europe and it was nothing special. It was a good location near the station but apart from that it didn't have a lot going for it. Breakfast was nice. However the shower overflowed. The heating was too hot we had to open the window which made very noisey. It was the only hotel in europe that didn't have free wifi and to top it all off not even the staff were not even friendly. We will have a better look around for hotels before we stay next time we're in Milano.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juanita1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Very good quality hotel with new interior rather small spaces bot hey its Europe.
Close to the train station and dozens of restaurants.
The Dom is only 3 subway stops away.
Would stay there again....

Room Tip: 2 floor or top floor (6th) best as soundproofing is non existant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunandsandNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Aosta - Gruppo MiniHotel
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#181 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Stazione Centrale
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Augustus Hotel
Augustus Hotel
#225 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Glam Hotel Milano
Glam Hotel Milano
#63 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Flora Hotel
Flora Hotel
#158 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hotel Milano Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hotel Milano Centrale

Property: Smart Hotel Milano Centrale
Address: Via Napo Torriani 28, 20124 Milan, Italy (Formerly San Carlo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #340 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Hotel Milano Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Smart Hotel Milano Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing