We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smart Hotel Milano Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Smart Hotel Milano Centrale
Ranked #340 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Basic but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

We made a brief stopover in Milan, thus we have selected this hotel which situated very near to the main train station. It is a mere 5 minutes walk away. We were also happy to find that the Swiss Railway (SBB) ticket office is right opposite the hotel, exactly where we need to go too. As we know, this hotel was recently renovated and refurbished. We booked the hotel very much earlier plus they've got the renovation works going on that time, hence we got it at a really good rate i.e. EUR58 for a night inclusive of breakfast.

The interior is modern. The check-in process was quick, front desk staff speaks fluent English and very helpful. She gave us maps and showed us where to visit, shop and eat. Wifi is chargeable. Yes, the room is small but clean. Tiled floor. Small bed but comfortable. Bathroom is clean with adequate supplies. But the shower design is not practical. Same as mentioned by other travelers, we experienced the same flooding problems. Breakfast is good, buffet style with fair variety. Alternatively, the restaurant next to the hotel (Fashion 2 Pizzeria) serves delicious food at reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SenLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    191
    214
    96
    110
See reviews for
69
219
44
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

I do not suggest you to go to this hotel. The staff is so rude espcially the one with long hair from one side. I arrived to do my check in and they told me that they are overbook so they send me to an other hotel that was 20 minutes away from the train station. Once I arrived there I had to go as I needed to run to a meeting. When I came back they mention to me that they did not have more rooms neither. So I end up being in Milan with no where to stay. They did not even care about it. I had to stay to one of my clients house. I was not the only one in that case. I heard otehr clients in the hotel who were complaning about the services. The staff did not care about their clients.
I travel two weeks a month and this never happened to me.

There is no service at all and I really tell you DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL. You might have bad surprises.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milan hotels

Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, being the last stop of our 2-week Italy vacation. As we researched from the internet, we were attracted to stay here because of its proximity to the railway station and its modern and “clean” look.

We shared the views of many travelers about the flooding of the shower, noise level and smallness of the room, so we won’t repeat here. We just want to share with you our experiences.

We checked in around 8 p.m. and the lady at the front desk was not friendly at all, in fact, she made us feel “unwelcome”. There were no smiles and she spoke in a rude manner.

When we checked in the room, aside from its smallness, we found out that the button of the toilet flush was broken so we called the front desk and she said she would send someone to check. We then noticed that the safe was placed with the back facing out so we assume that it must be broken as well (Note : Normally the back of the safe should be bolted to the wall, so that one can’t remove it from the room. Never have I seen one just being put on top of a shelf.). Then we discovered that there were a few mosquitoes flying in the room. We squashed a few of them and every one of them has blood spilling out. One good thing about the room is that the walls are white so it is easy to spot the mosquitoes. We saw a few more and just at this time, the man came to repair the toilet buttons and we complained to him about the mosquitoes. As soon as he finished fixing the buttons, he came out and back with a spray and before we could ask about the kind of spray he had, he started spraying the stinking spray right above our bed. We were literally choked and smothered by the smell of the spray and then the man opened the big window, which might have let more mosquitoes come in. Then he left and we found out the stinking spray didn’t do any good in killing any mosquitoes, just stink up the entire room. So we decided to deal with the smell first by turning up the air-con to ventilate the air filled with spray, only to discover that the air-con panel was fixed behind the wall-mounted TV which is quite unreachable with normal adult fingers nor could one read the display on the panel. Struggling with our mobile flash light for a few minutes, we managed to turn up the fan speed a bit so as to filter the smell and whatever chemical that may kill us instead. Next, we spent at least another half hour in killing ten more mosquitoes, all together we killed 15 and all were with blood. Poor guest before us must have a really rough evening. Later, we switched on the TV with the remote control but there was nothing on it. We called the lady again and she said she would send someone to check who never came.

The next morning, we felt we should let the manager know about all these and talked to him. He was defensive at the beginning and said that we (the paying guest) should check everything before making complaints. The safe was just turned the wrong way and we should just explore and turn it around. The air-con is centrally controlled so all we need to do is to call the front office (now I understand why the lady was so grumpy, imagine every room calling her to adjust the room temperature!!!). Who would have thought of that? We complained about the mosquitoes, he said I don’t see any mosquitoes now but we did spray your room anyway, didn’t we? The TV, there will be something on the screen if we pressed one of the many buttons at the back of the TV and selected the “HDMI 3” input before using the remote. He made us felt that we were on some sort of an exploration trip and we failed all the tests. It was all our fault! We told him that we were not to argue with him but wanted him to be aware of such problems so he may choose to fix it. At the end, he was apologetic and left us a bottle of wine the next morning at the counter but we didn’t take it as we were ready to leave.

The overall impression is that there is absolutely no service in this hotel and from talking to the manager and limited interaction with the staff, the culture is not there. Even if you are looking for a place to sleep near the station, there are plenty in the same street. Good luck.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casa142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
145 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

This hotel just a few minutes from Milan Central train station, is a good choice for a city stop or a business trip. restaurants and other facilities are close by and for shopping Corso Buenos Aires is about 10 minutes walk. I can not fault this hotel for what it is. the location is a definite positive however the rooms are small but clean and modern. the breakfast provided was good and staff are friendly enough.
A/c was not cold enough and the adjustment can only be done through the reception... I asked to make the room cooler, they didn't but it was fine as the weather was not hot.

Note: just outside the hotel "Fashion Cafe Pizzeria" a casual dining restaurant make beautiful Italian food. One of the best pizzas I had in Italy.

Room Tip: high floor would give you better isolation from the street noise but not that big of a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tosents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed here for a 1 night stay. This is by far not the worse hotel I have stayed in and I would stay here again. It just could do so much more of the smaller things and probably gain an extra star.

The hotel is near the central station. The staff were friendly. Our room was on the 5th floor. The overall hotel is very modern.
When we got to the room the door was very stiff and you had to bang it to open/close. The rooms are very modern and were clean. Just a few small things, the towel rail had fallen off - easily put back on the wall but probably with the banging from the door. The safe was not fastened down at all, could walk out with it. The shower flooeded from the bottom out, the soap dish was "no more nailed" to the wall, the tv had bad reception even though it was SKY and went off a few times.

Apart from that (dont be too put off) the beds were comfy, rooms soundproof, modern and clean.

The breakfast had a large choice of things and was good enough.

As I said before I would stay here again but just attention to detail needs adding!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

This hotel is descent, well located, service is ok, but the evil is in the details : it's impossible to take a shower without having 10 litters of water on the floor (the architect is a complete moron probably), the towel hook is broken, toilet paper is 3rd world style. Also, only one elevator is way too less for some many rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leodium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Located close to the main station, area is quiet nice with decent restaurants and bars close by. Reception staff helfpul and friendly and the public lounge very nice, however no bar or restaurant in the hotel, but there is an Continental Shop opposite where you can buy alcoholic and soft drinks, snacks etc. The mini bar is very limited - so buy your own. No parking - on the next street and the cost is €24 per 24hrs. Room was very small for two people, just about ok for one person really. Only two sheets on the bed, no duvet, beds a bit hard and only one pillow so not the best. Air con is managed centrally which means you have to call reception to turn it on or off. Decor a little plan, plasma on the wall with all the sky TV's. Limited storage space for hanging clothes. Rooms cleanish. Safe in room, but pointless as it is not attached to anything and you can just pick it up. Bathroom nice with walkin shower, but again quiet small but rooms do vary in size as do the bathrooms. They had a tendancy to ration the toilet paper, which was cheap and brown! Does have toiletries though. Breakfast was uninspiringly dull. Generally OK, nothing special, ok for one person for a short stay, but definately better options of places to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Aosta - Gruppo MiniHotel
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#181 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Stazione Centrale
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Augustus Hotel
Augustus Hotel
#225 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Glam Hotel Milano
Glam Hotel Milano
#63 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Flora Hotel
Flora Hotel
#158 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hotel Milano Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hotel Milano Centrale

Property: Smart Hotel Milano Centrale
Address: Via Napo Torriani 28, 20124 Milan, Italy (Formerly San Carlo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #340 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Hotel Milano Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Smart Hotel Milano Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing