We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal we have had since leaving home!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria Toscana di Giovanni

Trattoria Toscana di Giovanni
Ranked #970 of 8,030 Restaurants in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Stazione Centrale
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best meal we have had since leaving home!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The receptionist of our hotel recommended this restaurant to us when asked for a place with good food. We found the service excellent, the food very delicious, the wine very good, all up the whole evening was one of the best we have had since leaving home.
We shared the seafood risotto which was beyond excellent, my husband does not like risotto usually but he loved this one. We then shared a Veal Marsala with a dish of steamed mixed vegetables and french fries. The staff were a little perplexed at us wanting one of each dish, but we find one between the two of us we can have up to three courses. We followed our meal with strawberries and ice cream which finished off a very fine meal indeed. We also found their house white wine to be so good we had two half carafes. Would we recommend this restaurant. Most definitely.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    83
    35
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
302 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Nice meal but not outstanding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Had a nice meal here last weekend, the only time we ate out in Milan.

I had the Risotto with Salmon, which was excellent, and the Veal Milanese, also very good.
Wife had the veggie soup and a grilled swordfish, both quite good. We shared a dish of steamed mixed veggies - tasty.
The red table wine was very good.
For dessert I had the mixed berries with gelato - the only exceptional part of the meal.

The service was good - the waiter spoke good enough english that questions about menu items were not a problem.

Price was acceptable: 64e for 2, with 1st and 2nd dish + 1 dessert and some wine.

So while everything was very good, the dining experience lacked something which I can't put my finger on, and prevents it from being a 5* experience. Maybe it was because the restaurant was mostly empty when we were there. Maybe the food just didn't have enough to rock my world, I don't know. Even still, I would recommend this restaurant. Just don't expect an amazing experience; just a solid one and that's good enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scphil21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Delicious food and lovely service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We decided to go here for dinner based on the great reviews here on Tripadvisor and are really happy we did; the food was really tasty and wellprepared, and the service was perfect. Our waiter did a great job helping us pick out dishes to try even though we didn't know Italian, and kept a good, attentive eye on us during the meal without hovering or ever being intrusive or rushing us. I had a starter dish of Pappardelle pasta with Asparagus on suggestion from our server and it was really good, well cooked and savory. For main course I had a really tender Cotoletta alla Milanese Primavera (veal with crispy coating and topped with fresh chopped tomatoes and basil leaves), and my husband had a well done steak with green pepper sauce, both cooked just perfect and full of flavor. We were served the house wine (a Chianti) that went great with the food. The meal ended with some fresh pineapple with gelato and a crema catalano, and then to top it off our kind server brought a basket of sweet cookies and candies on the house. The restaurant was very calm yet had a good flow of customers that seemed like locals rather than tourists. We spent almost 2 hours enjoying our meal and were shocked to find that the bill came in at only 65 euro, including plenty of wine and mineral water and the obligatory tax. Very much recommend this restaurant for the tasty, great value food, the "local" feel and the no fuss yet friendly staff. Will definitely return if we come back to Milan!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank killtoknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I'll take this over Michelin stars any day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This restaurant was the highlight of our trip to Milan. We were originally sceptical due to the close proximity of this "Trattoria" to the main train station (these establishments usually scream "tourist trap"!) as well as the rather unattractive street (Via Fara) it sits on. We were wrong. What we discovered was a gem patronized only by the local milanese, who clearly knew what they were doing. The food was outstanding, full of flavour and very true to its Tuscan origins. The sunny skies really shined through every dish, and the quality of the ingredients was evident. We treated ourselves to some Antipasti from the buffet - an assortment of grilled vegetables, mushrooms and even some octopus, followed by primi piattis - Spaghetti al Carbonnara (my favourite!) and Penne al Arraiatta (quite hot!), secondi piattis - Squid (fantastic) and Sole, and finished with a very light and well balanced Tiramisu. We asked for half a liter of the house wine, and were served a delicious Chianti which rivals some of the higher end French wines we are accustomed to. Some typically robust italian espressos ended the meal nicely. We were shocked by the bill, Giovanni offers some outstanding value for money! Our bill came at a little over EUR 60 for our party of two, with the wine costing only EUR 6, for a meal which left us no room for supper! What we perhaps enjoyed the most, however, was the service. Our waiter, however much he struggled with english, was very professional, courteous and friendly. We felt very much welcome, and were glad to have chosen Trattoria Toscana di Giovanni.
N.B.: The Trattoria is closed on Saturday.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank switzerlandtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saluda, NC
Level Contributor
153 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Dependably Good Regional Italian Trattoria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Looking back at my month of travel throughout Italy this trattoria ranks in my top 10%. Good service, Quality fresh food and a location near the UNA hotel and Central Train station. I will make a return visit in subsequent stays in Milan.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OrdinarymanSaluda_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Toscana di Giovanni also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Toscana di Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing