We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Milan

“Food doesn’t live up to the decor !”

Ristorante Shangri-La
Order Online
Ranked #2,412 of 9,809 Restaurants in Milan
Cuisines: Chinese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Zone 2
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Spotted this restaurant near our hotel and was instantly taken in by the decor through the window so we decided to eat there one night while in Milan.
Unfortunately it wasn’t as nice as it looks. The beef dish we ordered was only luke warm and the shrimps had been fried complete with tails and shell still attached. While eating no one came to ask if everything was ok so we couldn’t bring beef dish temperature to their attention.
Such a shame as the food let down the decor, albeit relatively inexpensive we would have preferred to pay more and have a better experience.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank damoncali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 371 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2019

Do not be fooled by the beautiful surroundings. The food here is bland, watery and tasteless. All served up on cold plates. The service erratic at best, with the food brought out in no particular order. We waited for almost an hour for our main course, all of which was disgusting and inedible. We complained to the owner who instead of apologising began arguing instead. She suggested that we didn’t want the meal as we were probably full after our duck starter! So rude!!
We asked for the bill and that the food be taken away. They charged us for everything bar the rice.
Such a dreadful experience - AVOID.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Primula46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2019

Between Corso Buenos Aries at Porta Venezia Metro and the Republicca Metro, always busy, so must have a local reputation augmented by its proximity with various hotels like Ibis Milano Centro NH etc.
Recommend the Pesce di Spada Zenzero, Swordfish in ginger, and cheap at the Eu8 price. Chicken in cashews and hot and sour soup were also delicious.
Ubiguitous Tsing Dao beer in 660ml bottles. Typical Chinese ambience it fills up but does not feel crowded.
We visited twice in our 8 days

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PaisleyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

I would not recommend at all.We felt rushed,food was ok nothing special.It was lunch time when we popped in.Very expensive and portions small.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

First time in Milan, and went to this restaurant twice, have not tasted better Chinese food any where else in the world. All so natural food, no msg or overpowering sauces, just amazing !!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank hamy_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Shangri-La also viewed

 
Milan, Lombardy
 

Been to Ristorante Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing