We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Milan Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nottingham Forest Cocktail Bar

Nottingham Forest Cocktail Bar
Ranked #145 of 8,030 Restaurants in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hidden Milan Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This chic cocktail bar is tucked away in an unassuming location, just a single shy door leads you into a universe of bottles. Whatever you can't find to drink in this bar is not worth drinking in my opinion. Cocktails served in syringes, bubbling skulls and books that hide hip flasks they are sure to surprise you with their colourful presentation. Nottingham Forest is the perfect venue to appreciate a few great cocktails in a cosy environment before you hit the town and lose yourself to the night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    242
    69
    40
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“amazing cocktails with phenomenal presentation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I went here a few times when I was on holiday in June and it served the best cocktails I have ever come across. The menu is hilarious – every cocktail is described in terms of what effect it’s supposed to have on your mood or skin. It tells you where the drink originated (from the Inca people and such like) but there’s very little mention of what actually goes into it – they tell you the spirits used, but not much else. Each cocktail comes in a unique container, from tiny bathtubs (with a yellow rubber duck on the side) to Chinese pots. So, everything you order is a surprise.

The staff were a mix of friendly and grumpy. The friendlier ones were serving inside, and were happy to help if you wanted something sweet, or fruity, or quite strong. Some of the cocktails had quite a kick, so it’s good to ask for advice before ordering. The grumpy guy was on the door, and on some nights of the week (especially the weekend) it was extremely busy. We got there around 10pm the times that we went, and never had a problem getting seats, but we did see people who arrived later (or who were in a big group) queuing for 30 minutes. I’d advise you to go earlier rather than later. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JellyBaby24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of most unique and cool cocktail bars I've ever been to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This isn't a place for food, this isn't even the best cocktails I've had... but the decor, thoughtfulness, ingenuity and creativity that went into creating this place and, more importantly, its menu, is not to be missed.
A must-go if you're a fan of specialty cocktails and you're in Milan.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Namidawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Cocktail Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We visited this bar as it is rated in the 'top 50 in the world' and 'top 25 in Europe'
It did not disappoint.
The menu (available in different languages) is more like a science lesson, with no specifics on cocktail ingredients but lots of interesting ways your drink may be concocted.
We had a CSI NY and a Zen Lab. Both were weird and wonderful and presented like no other drinks we have had before.
We got nibbles included as well and for a very reasonable price- less then 20 euros for both drinks- cheaper than the beer we had had at dinner.
The service at the bar was excellent, among the best we experienced in Italy.
Definitely check this place out if your in Milan.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Massively overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

OK the drinks are quite interesting, but not all of them work it has to be said - it seems with some they've just thrown things together trying to be weird and different without considering whether or not it would taste good. Very long wait to be seated, rude staff, and very expensive, with a senseless and inflexible pricing policy. Overall probably not really worth the effort of waiting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jobi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nottingham Forest Cocktail Bar also viewed

 

Been to Nottingham Forest Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing