We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood treat”

La Maniera di Carlo
Ranked #567 of 8,161 Restaurants in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Neighborhood treat”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place was recommended by our hotel, the Monfort, and it is within walking distance. It is not in a well traveled location, making all the more interesting. The ambiance was low key,and the service people were accommodating without being over the top. The chef checked on our enjoyment of the food periodically and bid us good bye as we walked out. Now, the food! It was tasty, innovative without leaving its Italian perspective. Loved it. LAchik

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    127
    43
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Maybe it was an unlucky evening, but it was a complete disappointment.
1. It was cold in the restaurant: we mentioned it during the meal and when we were leaving and the reply we got was that when it is very cold outside they have a hard time heating the place up!!?? It was one of the first cold evenings of the winter, but the excuse is unacceptable.
2. All of the food we got was lukewarm or cold, as if in the kitchen they had windows open and the food waiting around until all dishes for the table were all ready.
3. All the dishes we got were lacking salt and none was particularly good or tasty.
4. We asked for two wines from the wine list that were both not available (bad luck again?).
5. My homemade pasta was undercooked (I love my pasta al dente, but this one was a real effort to chew) and the calamari that were served with it were not cleaned properly.
6. Carlo was kindly going around the tables suggesting wines, greeting guests, etc, but he had an unkempt look, with oily hair and a white jacket with big stains on it.
In conclusion they really deserved a "terrible" rating for our dining experience, but Carlo was kind and he did not charge us for one of the four main courses after we sent it back to the kitchen because it was totally cold. In any case, I will not give them a second chance.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viclugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
226 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A perfect evening with excellent food”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This restaurant is special. Imaginative, tasty food in the connoisseur range. Elegant interieur, very calm with subdued lighting. We took the menu which allows you to taste quite a range of dishes. Very recommendable. English spoken, special requests due to allergies or preferences are attened to.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trufflesnout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous meal in Milan”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The presentation of the food was amazing! You can tell that there is definitely an art to cooking at this restaurant. My friend and I went during the week and it was not busy at all. We were a little worried seeing that we were one of two couples that were there for the evening, but after the first course we were impressed. We ordered the ravioli and the squid ink pasta, yet were given several other dishes to enjoy as we were waited for our food. We were both very impressed with every course and everything was delicious! We spent 3 weeks in Europe and this restaurant was one of the highlights!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoadTrippinKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Very Good”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Not only the food you order, but the place, service and food among courses they are all great.
If does worth a visit, specially if you like premiun quality food and service at a relative low price.

Helpful?
Thank Fernando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Maniera di Carlo also viewed

 
Milan, Lombardy
Milan, Lombardy
 

Been to La Maniera di Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing