We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“astonishing”

La Maniera di Carlo
Ranked #513 of 8,089 Restaurants in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“astonishing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The restaurant's name is literally translated: the way Carlo does it.
I guess the chef that served us was Carlo- we didn't want to upset him so we did it "his way" and we asked for the fish taste menu and wine "degustazione". 7 dishes (including dessert), 3 (or 4) different wines.
Carlo(?) took us for an awesome food ride, each round serving us plates that had a perfectly balanced taste. For example raw shrimp apple kiwi vanilla. Home made bread and bread sticks (the paprika ones are outstanding).
We spent 130 for 2 fish menus and 30 for the related wine tastes. Totally worth the experience.
Romantic atmosphere that seems formal at tge beginning - instead during the dinner you just settle in and feel confortable.
Service is excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goodmiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    127
    43
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Best dinner of my life, hands down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I'm a foodie, and this was my favorite dinner I have ever had. I would classify the food as modern Italian, as everything on the menu is prepared or presented with a twist. The dishes are all individual works of art. Add to that small tastings served before and between meals (on the house), and you have yourself an unforgettable meal. The dining room's ambience is cozy and classy, and the service is attentive and very smooth. Truly, I am not easy to please, and this is a meal I will never forget.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hkuznet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
113 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We walked into restaurant at about 7.30 and it was totally empty, not encouraging. The serving staff spoke good English and was very helpful, the menu was full of interesting but unfamiliar items, In the end, we decided to have some have a degustation menu and seafood and others of meat. The staff chose items from the menu based on those themes and we all proceeded to mix and match, some very original dishes, pasta w seafood was outstandingly fresh, all the dishes were fresh and tasted fantastic. Truly magnificent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bwkuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Excellent in every way. The food was so fresh and delicious. A gastronomic delight. We chose this restuarant from the latest Trip Advisor recommendations, and we were not dissappointed. We were warmly welcomed on arrival. The food was innovative and beautiful plated. A taste sensation of pre-course extras. The food, and service, extensive wine list - absolutely outstanding!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sallaurlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An excellent Italian experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Carlo's Way was a dream come true. I have always been a great fan of Italian kitchen. A visit to Maniera di Carlo was more than I could imagine. The ambiance, the music (round midnight from Miles Davis will remind me this great place for a long time!), the good feeling of being taken care by the owner personally, and the great dishes that we were exposed, one after another... The most delicious risotto that I have ever tasted until today... Even the burger (alla italiana), which my 5 year old son insisted on were all incredibly delicious! The place is so classy, yet the prices are so reasonable. This is a must for any visitor in Milano, who likes to have an unforgettable Italian experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Maniera di Carlo also viewed

 
Milan, Lombardy
Milan, Lombardy
 

Been to La Maniera di Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing