We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a special trip: Creative, delicious dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ferrelli

Ferrelli
Reserve with
Ferrelli is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,836 of 8,089 Restaurants in Milan
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Stazione Centrale
Minneapolis, USA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth a special trip: Creative, delicious dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The manager of Hotel San Guido, where we stayed, recommended this small restaurant located right across the street. Try the red onion sautéed in blueberry sauce appetizer, and any of the risottos. Desserts (made there) also delicious. Service was excellent (maybe because there were so few diners during our visit), but honestly this was our best meal in Italy this trip! Hats off to Nicolla (chef and owner), and to the great service from Nick. Both had some difficulty with English (particularly Nick), but were so accommodating and friendly. This place is worth a special trip. The tram from the Duomo will drop you off close by (number 2? number 5? can't remember now). A hidden gem in Milan.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank akker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    54
    26
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent creative dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The chef is creative and eccentric, supervising closely the service,very good dishes,fresh ingredients. Warm and cozy atmosphere, small restaurant, home like. Good atmosphere, very friendly and welcoming, creative dishes. Will go back next time in Milan, not to be missed. Good wine, good experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bruna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good, lively trattoria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a very good meal and experience at Ferrelli. The place gave us the feeling of a good local trattoria. During the evening the restaurant filled up with guests, much thanks to a (birthday?) party. The food was very good and a bottle of Barolo reasonably priced. Service was excellent and friendly - even with a full restaurant. We had complimentary grappas after the meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Godtfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Yona, HaMerkaz, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprising gastronomic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Chef restaurant is located close to Garibaldi Metro station. The modest design of the restaurant conveys homelike warm cosiness. The meal there however became to surprising gastronomic celebration.
Starting with special starters, the main course, desert and the wine. The chef was closely supervising waiters while taking order to assure that each one of us will get the food excactly the way he likes.
Two days later, before flying back home, I returned to the restaurant for buying a bottle of this amazing wine to take with me.
I will definitely look for opportunity to visit this restaurant again in my next trip to Milan.

Marina W.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howey in the Hills, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The restaurant does not appear to be in the best part of town, but it was decent enough to feel comfortable. The important thing is that the food was delicious and the service was very good. It almost felt like eating at home, as they made you feel very welcome. If I am ever back in Milan, I will look Ferrelli’s up again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tripJamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferrelli also viewed

 
Milan, Lombardy
 

Been to Ferrelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing