We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“going downhill” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gala
Ranked #328 of 430 Hotels in Milan
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“going downhill”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel has a lot of potential to be a friendly family run business but standards are falling. We have stayed there a few times and usually found it to fit in the `good value for money' category: not luxury, but certainly comfortable for the price we paid. The latest stay there fell short of this test. Cleaners were up very early for a Saturday, lot's of noise from corridors. Water completely stopped while I was showering. Putting the mixer tap into the `cold' position brought a flow of cold water, but in the warm position, no water at all, or just a trickle. On our check-out day, the cleaner was already in our room moving our stuff around while we were having breakfast. Later, in the reception area, I overheard other guests complaining about the cleaners going into their rooms too. The doors don't have security latches so I would be genuinely concerned about the cleaner coming in while having a shower or sleeping late. At check-out, I asked about the hot water problem and I was told that it just happens in the mornings when all the guests are having showers. Having stayed in remote parts of south America and Asia, I know that hotels can provide a consistent supply of hot water at all times of the day. The proprietor wouldn't even talk to me about the problem because he wanted to take other guests to our room, and he tried to speak to my wife in Italian rather than speaking to me directly in English. I asked him if he would provide a discount because of the hot water failure, but he just seemed to be very stressed about this and the demands of other guests and he told us in exasperation that we either pay the full price or we pay nothing but don't come back again. I have the impression that this business is now in a `run until failure' mode, for example, rather than regularly servicing hot water equipment, they are just waiting until it completely blows up and then doing the minimum to band-aid the problem.

Room Tip: facing away from the street, and higher up if you want to be able to leave the window open safely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank objective_feedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    87
    60
    33
    35
See reviews for
29
109
31
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I chose Hotel Gala because of the great price they had on offer for my August dates, and that great price also included breakfast and free wi-fi in the rooms. I usually go for something a little more luxurious, but the chance to make visible savings for 3 nights and still have all the services I need in a conveniently located hotel, tempted me and I took the risk.

The truth is this is indeed a 3-star hotel and it looks more like a big house than a hotel building - but still most things were quite okay, especially the service. And for the price I paid, I really couldn't expect more.

Wi-fi is really available everywhere, and at a nice speed - the only negative is you need to enter long and difficult names and passwords, and you have to re-log multiple times, especially if you don't work in a browser, but use smartphone or tablet apps, vnc connections or imap mail. But still it performed quite well for my needs.

Breakfast was very good and quite rich - fresh fruits, all the coffee drinks you could expect in Italy, hot meals, salami and cheese, nice bread, fruit juices - to name a few.

Going to the central train station with public transport (and to any airport or other city by train or bus from there) takes about 15-20 minutes by tram or metro, going to the city center takes just just a few more minutes. Tram #5 stops meters from the hotel, the M3 Zara metro station is about 250-300 m away, and the future M5 metro line will stop practically in front of the hotel.

Rooms... well, they are a bit too basic and not too spacious, but still comfortable enough - they provide a minibar (empty, but working, so you can fill it from the nearby supermarket or the hotel lobby), LCD TV (no English or non-Italian channels, sorry) and good inverter A/C (very important in Milan especially in the summer) and a safe deposit-box. The bathroom is better than the room itself, and you even have a bidet!

Overall, the hotel is a very good value for money, but luxury-oriented travellers just won't feel at home here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thomasbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We found this place after an unpleasant stay at another hotel. What a difference! Hotel Gala staff was amazing! The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and quiet. Each has all the hotel amenities you can think of with clean bathrooms, sky tv, wifi, a/c and heat, a desk, storage, etc. We were pleasantly surprised by the awesome breakfast buffet as well. I only wish we had found this place sooner! Oh, and all this for 5 Euro LESS than the other place! I cannot recommend Hotel Gala highly enough. You will not regret staying here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtravlrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middle east
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

from the first minute we felt at home at this hotel.the stuff was eager to help and guide us in every question
the room was causy, wi fi is free off charge and the hotel is near the metro that takes you directly to the duomo
we will return there happily in our next trip to milan!!!

Room Tip: first floor with a view to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shemeshj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soenderborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

We needed a hotel in Milan, where we could park the car. Not too expensive and easy to reach from Malpensa Airport. We chose the Gala, based on good reviews and a close study of the maps. And we were not disappointed. The family running the hotel is friendly and helpful, the breakfast is good and our room was very large - the bathroom almost the same size!

The Metro is only about 10 minutes away and soon, a station on a new metro-line will open right in front of the Gala. The view from our room is not worth mentioning, but everything else was good and affordable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrLicht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordeloos, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
428 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

Ever since 2000, we're coming to Hotel Gala every December for one night. Strategically located at Viale Zara, it's a clean and convenient, family-run place where you even may park your car (nighttime only). Good location for city trips, but also when you're on your way through. With the advent of internet booking (we used "initalia.com"), the rates became a bargain - we paid only EUR 58 (1 double room, breakfast included).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWG_080353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Nice hotel! Big rooms, quite luxury bathrooms, and all very clean. Breakfast is also very nice, with fresh fruits, yoghurts, eggs, cereals and homebaked cakes there sure is something to suit anyone's taste. The place is quiet, but sometimes you do hear the opening and closing of your neighbour's door. It is very close to the metro station so you can be in the city centre in no time. I can also strongly recommend the restaurant next to it. Friendly staff, wide arrange of very tasty dishes to choose from, nice atmosphere and approved by the locals (taking into account the huge amount of italians we met there).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veradepera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Zara Milano
Hotel Zara Milano
#166 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Bicocca
Holiday Homes Residence Appartamenti Milano
Bicocca
Club Hotel
Club Hotel
#251 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bel Sit
#249 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Porta Venezia
Aurelia Hotel
Aurelia Hotel
#288 of 430 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gala

Property: Hotel Gala
Address: Viale Zara 89, 20159 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Bicocca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gala 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Gala is found in Milan in a peaceful residential area only 2km away from the railway station and the city exhibition centre. The hotel is surrounded by a beautiful garden in a convenient location from which to reach the city centre and other neighbourhoods, making it the ideal place to spend a relaxing holiday, to reach the famous shopping roads or to spend a business trip.Guests have access to a TV room, WiFi internet access and free parking. The hotel would like to inform guests that indoor parking is currently unavailable due to recent flooding of the Seveso river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Gala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing