We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing 3* at best poorly managed hotel - stay elsewhere”
Review of TownHouse Galleria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TownHouse Galleria
Ranked #165 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Well located hotel with a good bathroom - aside from that extremely disappointing:

Main issue is air-conditioning not turned on until mid-April (Milan was sweltering last weekend). Something to do with regulations not allowing it to be turned on before. Very poor nights sleep. Fan was provided instead ....

Bathroom not made up from the night before

Room plain and uninspiring - no pictures or anything on walls (except huge TV)

Breakfast very disappointing - croissants / bread not fresh - service unsmiling

Cliams to be a 7* deluxe hotel (how it gets there I am not sure) but fails on many levels to meet ordinary standards. Expensive, poorly run, poor value for money hotel

With some effort, organisation and training could be a great hotel .....

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Charles_Donlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear guest,

We sincerely apologize for the negative experience at our property during your recent stay. Guest feedback such as yours help us to continuously review our policies and training procedures. All guest reviews are shared with and communicated to our staff in order to ensure our property standards. Our hotel TownHouse 8 (at the third floor) is 5*. We hope we will be given a second chance to offer you the true TownHouse experience. Head of PR TownHouse Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 286 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

Perhaps our trip to Townhouse 8 got off to a bad start when our taxi driver boasted that the hotel was the world's first 7 star hotel (a boast you see on arrival), setting a quite unrealistic expectation in my mind during the short taxi ride from the airport. But we were soon brought down to earth with a bump. You arrive in a grim little courtyard that has a rather strange glass elevator stuck on the back of an unloved building. We ascended two floors to the reception where we received a very warm welcome from quite a large number of staff. The exuberance and warmth of the reception staff was a welcome feature of our stay, but i had already realised we were a long way from 7 stars and some distance from 5. We were shown to our deluxe room only to find the bathroom had not been fully cleaned from the last occupant (dirty towels on the floor etc.) and the room was so hot it could have doubled up as the hotel sauna. While the staff were very apologetic for all of this it took three discussions with reception to get the bathroom cleaned and the heating was never really resolved. At first a fan was offered. Then i was told there was a rule and the air conditioning could not be used until April. Then i was told a special dispensation had been gained and the aircon would be turned on early. What actually happened was that the aircon fan was turned on but the air was not actually that cold. In combination with the fan, the room was bearable but just that. The staff did offer us a free aperitif to make up for the hassle and indeed put a nightcap of some brandy and chocolates in our room, which was thoughtful.

Turning to the room is had definitely seen better days. All the walls were marked and scuffed. One very nice touch was the complimentary Nespresso machine and mineral water. Breakfast was a further mixture of 5 star service but very poor quality content, with the type of dry pastries and rolls better suited to a 2 star establishment. The last point i would make is that at check-out i was told that as Milan was having a car free day there would be no taxis available but the hotel could arrange a driver to meet us outside the car free zone. Our taxi driver on the way to the hotel had advised us that they would try to get us to use a private car service, so we declined and decided to take our chances, only to find a host of taxis just round the corner. This may have been a genuine mistake by the reception staff but it was the final disappointment with the Townhouse 8 - so despite the staff i would have to award this hotel only 3 of its 7 stars and it was expensive for this rating.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rjac68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear guest,
We sincerely apologize for the negative experience at our property during your recent stay. Guest feedback such as yours help us to continuously review our policies and training procedures. All guest reviews are shared with and communicated to our staff in order to ensure our property standards. Our hotel TownHouse 8 (at the third floor) is 5*. We hope we will be given a second chance to offer you the true TownHouse experience. Head of PR TownHouse Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Perhaps our trip to Townhouse 8 got off to a bad start when our taxi driver boasted that the hotel was the world's first 7 star hotel (a boast you see on arrival), setting a quite unrealistic expectation in my mind during the short taxi ride from the airport. But we were soon brought down to earth with a bump. You arrive in a grim little courtyard that has a rather strange glass elevator stuck on the back of an unloved building. We ascended two floors to the reception where we received a very warm welcome from quite a large number of staff. The exuberance and warmth of the reception staff was a welcome feature of our stay, but i had already realised we were a long way from 7 stars and some distance from 5. We were shown to our deluxe room only to find the bathroom had not been fully cleaned from the last occupant (dirty towels on the floor etc.) and the room was so hot it could have doubled up as the hotel sauna. While the staff were very apologetic for all of this it took three discussions with reception to get the bathroom cleaned and the heating was never really resolved. At first a fan was offered. Then i was told there was a rule and the air conditioning could not be used until April. Then i was told a special dispensation had been gained and the aircon would be turned on early. What actually happened was that the aircon fan was turned on but the air was not actually that cold. In combination with the fan, the room was bearable but just that. The staff did offer us a free aperitif to make up for the hassle and indeed put a nightcap of some brandy and chocolates in our room, which was thoughtful.

Turning to the room is had definitely seen better days. All the walls were marked and scuffed. One very nice touch was the complimentary Nespresso machine and mineral water. Breakfast was a further mixture of 5 star service but very poor quality content, with the type of dry pastries and rolls better suited to a 2 star establishment. The last point i would make is that at check-out i was told that as Milan was having a car free day there would be no taxis available but the hotel could arrange a driver to meet us outside the car free zone. Our taxi driver on the way to the hotel had advised us that they would try to get us to use a private car service, so we declined and decided to take our chances, only to find a host of taxis just round the corner. This may have been a genuine mistake by the reception staff but it was the final disappointment with the Townhouse 8 - so despite the staff i would have to award this hotel only 3 of its 7 stars and it was expensive for this rating.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rjac68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Sirs, we apologize yet again for the outcome of your stay at Town House. We are learning from our mistakes every day. We hope in the future to offer always a better service. Head of PR TownHouse Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Pros: amazing location, great staff when they are present (specifically Annalisa the butler)
Cons: unacceptable mistake made with my room reservation, no manager or chef present overnight

Great welcome. However, upon arrival I learned the room I booked wasn't actually available (a pity for an hotel that sells only so few suites and prices them according to the specific features). Anyway the welcome was great (i.e. they remembered I had been there 2 yrs ago, apologised deeply for the mistake and revised my rate according to the LOWER type of room we got instead).

With that said, the room was nice, but nothing above what you expect for 500 EUR a night in Milan. I also gave shirts and a jacket to iron and they were back almost instantly.

One evening we came back to the hotel at 2am or so and were eager to order from the 24 hour room service menu. However, we learned that the cook was not available and that there was no manager on duty (only a security guard who was answering the calls at reception). Basically, we were told that we could only order items that the security guard could prepare himself. Appalling for a hotel of this caliber! We ended up getting 2 frozen pizzas cooked up by the security guard. The lovely butler, Annalisa (bless her!) woke up to address the situation, but not much could really be done given that there were no senior staff on hand.

The day after, while checking out, there was only a vague mention of the situation.

All in all, in a city like Milan, you can get much more service for your money, but the location is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank vodkamartino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Sirs, We apologize yet again for the outcome of your stay in our Home. Hoping to see you back in the hotel to try out the new silent structure. Head of PR TownHouse Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

great suite, every need is seen to.
Alessandro and Anna-Luisa were outstanding in ensuring our stay was first class
public spaces are unique, calm.
great setting in the Galleria, near shops, Duomo
resto is A-1.

Room Tip: try to get a 2 room suite do not worry about noise, even if windows are in the Galleria: slept grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Madame/Sir, we would really like to thank you very much for the review that you have left. We are very happy about the quality that we were able to offer you. We hope to see you again in the near future in this Unique Home in the centre of Milan. Head of PR TownHouse Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We enjoyed a lot our stay at this hotel. The location is excelent, the service is very good, the room has everything you need. The breakfast was quite expensive, otherwise everything was perfect!

Room Tip: You should choose a room with view of the gallery. It's extraordinary!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trip294458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Madame/Sir,
we would really like to thank you very much for the review that you have left. We are very happy about the quality that we were able to offer you. We are pleased to read any suggestion in order how to satisfy our Guests. We hope to see you again in the near future and to welcome you in our Unique Home in the centre of Milan. Head of PR TownHouse Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

SevenOaks is an amazing romantic getaway! I went there with my partner for our three year anniversary and loved it. All the amenities were up to date, and the owners thought of every last detail. Greatly located in the idyllic town of Lake Geneva---so many little shops to enjoy. Cannot wait to go back again! I'm already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kata T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear guest, Thank you for your comments, that are much appreciated and always helpful. We hope to see you again in the near future in this Unique Home in Milan. Head of PR TownHouse Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
TownHouse Duomo
TownHouse Duomo
#242 of 428 in Milan
48 reviews
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#5 of 428 in Milan
1,769 reviews
Brera
Armani Hotel Milano
Armani Hotel Milano
#12 of 428 in Milan
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Baglioni Hotel Carlton
Baglioni Hotel Carlton
#35 of 428 in Milan
567 reviews
Centro Storico
Sina The Gray
Sina The Gray
#186 of 428 in Milan
260 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownHouse Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownHouse Galleria

Address: Via Silvio Pellico 8, 20121 Milan, Italy (Formerly Town House 8)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Milan
#122 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $420 - $676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — TownHouse Galleria 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located inside the famous Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II that's bustling by day and peaceful at night, TownHouse Galleria holds on to its history while providing world-class accommodations with either Galleria or Courtyard views. A place where you are just steps away from the major attractions of Milan such as the Duomo Cathedral and its square, La Scala Theatre and the Fashion District. TownHouse Galleria hosts the exhibition of 'World of Leonardo Da Vinci', with an exclusive and complimentary access directly from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your TownHouse Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town House 8 Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing