We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing and Comfortable base for a stay in Milan”
Review of TownHouse 31/33

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownHouse 31/33
Ranked #229 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights in May. There were three of us so we took a larger room which had a sofa bed which ate up most of the "living space" but it ws really not a problem in terms of size. There was still enough room for three women with an enormous mount of clothes and makeup to get ready on a Saturday night. Some of the photos suggest a rather strange orange plasticy design to the rooms but ours was more of the typical mocca/beige variety. Overall I found the hotel to be suitably stylish in a relaxed sort of way. The jacuzzi bath was a bit of an added luxury, but probably best not to add the rather nice bubble bath provided as we ended up drowning in bubbles!

The hotel itself was a little hard to find at first as the entrance is in a courtyard off the street. However its within easy walking distance of the duomo and is a great base for a weekend in Milan. I have to say this hotel really saved our trip to Milan because overall I found people a bit stuffy and rude in many of the shops and restaurants we visited. The food was pretty terrible everywhere. It poured with rain (not that that can be blamed on anyone) and I didn't find Milan to be nearly as beautiful as the other parts of Italy I have visited. In spite of this the hotel was really relaxing, the beds were luxoriously comfortable and the breakfast spread was a real treat. However, the best thing about this hotel was the staff. Everyone who greated us was incredibly friendly, more than happy to make suggestions, book taxis, look after luggage etc. and really made us feel welcome.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Milan for business or pleasure - but perhaps without a recommendation of Milan itself.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mylifeinnarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 31/33, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Madame/Sir,
we would like to thank you very much for the great review that you have left. We are pleased to read any suggestion and to learn how to satisfy our Guests. We hope to see you again in the future and to welcome you in our Unique Home in Milan.
Head of PR TownHouse Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 81 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2012

I slept one night in Town House 33 in January 2012 with my boyfriend.
First of all it was hard to find, because the entrance was on number 31 (despite the name).
At reception, the girl who "welcomed" us was wearing lousy trousers and sweater (and not a uniform); she was not really interested in our arrival either.
The room, a Junior Suite, was aseptic though boiling hot. The housekeeping put a mirror in a wrong position covering the thermostat, so we had hard time understanding how to adjust room temperature.
There was no room directory to get information about breakfast, minibar, etc.
The bathroom was falling to pieces, like it was 30-year-old.
Breakfast was poor and I didn't enjoy having breakfast at the same big table with other people.

I was definetly expecting something more from a Small Luxury Hotel of the World.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank La_Fla2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 31/33, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear guest,
We sincerely apologize for the negative experience at our property during your recent stay. Guest feedback such as yours help us to continuously review our policies and training procedures. All guest reviews are shared with and communicated to our staff in order to ensure our property standards.
Head of PR TownHouse Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights on Business. Everyone is so helpful and I love the way that it is set up to maximise opportunities to meet fellow travellers. As soon as I arrived, was offered to order dinner in from outside, anything I wanted. Room was comfortable but my location meant i heard the rubbish collection and bottle collections in the morning!. was able to switch off heating thankfully as was really warm. Fabulous shower. rooms are simple enough but have everything you need. Internet worked with a cable and not wifi. Breakfast was communal. Would definitely consider staying here again in Milan given the welcome and and personal nature fo the staff that you will not find in brand hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Friendlytips1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 31/33, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear guest, Thank you for your comments, that are much appreciated and always helpful. We hope to see you again in the near future in this Unique Home in Milan. Head of PR TownHouse Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

If you want a moderately priced hotel that feels like a residential building, this is it.

Small rooms, no restaurant ( but continental breakfast served)

Friendly staff.

In a residential neighborhood 10 min taxi ride from the Duomo ( 30 min walk)

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slipless71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 31/33, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear guest,
We sincerely apologize for the negative experience at our property during your recent stay. Guest feedback such as yours help us to continuously review our policies and training procedures. All guest reviews are shared with and communicated to our staff in order to ensure our property standards.
Head of PR TownHouse Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We only stayed one night, but it was enough to make me want to come back again. There were many great things about this hotel, but the main attraction was the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. From the moment we arrived everyone was very welcoming and happy to address all queries and requests with smiles and efficiency.
The room was clean, comfortable and simply laid out and the location of the hotel was far enough out of the centre of Milan to be quiet and spaceous but close enough to walk to the Duomo in only 20mins.
I would definitely recommend Town House 33 to anyone who wants somewhere comfortable, convenient and friendly to stay in Milan.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graham_k_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 31/33, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Madame/Sir,
we would like to thank you very much for the great review that you have left. We are pleased to read any suggestion and to learn how to satisfy our Guests. We hope to see you again in the future and to welcome you in our Unique Home in Milan.
Head of PR TownHouse Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night only. The room was really comfortable, nice size, bed was nice and firm. Everything was very clean, great solid oak floors. The room was nice and dark and the air-con worked well. the room was also nice and quiet so we slept really well.
I thought the TV in this hotel was th ebest in our entire Italy trip - there were alot of English programmes to choose from.

Breakfast was also nice, although slightly intense as you all sit at the same large table.

The only downside is that it is about 10 minutes walk to the nearest bus/ tram/ metro. My husband hurt his back so we couldnt walk very far, so we had to take cabs whenever we wanted to go out.

Service was really helpful and the ladies at reception were great.

Room Tip: Try get a room with a view over the courtyard and not over the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarryn222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 31/33, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Madame/Sir,
we would like to thank you very much for the review that you have left. We hope to see you again in the future and to welcome you in our Unique Home in Milan.
Head of PR TownHouse Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

I am sitting in the lobby of this wonderful little hotel as I write this. We are here on business for the week and am astounded at the hospitality and accommodations of Townhouse 33. The staff makes you feel like family, they are always ready with a glass of wine, cappuccino, plate of prosciutto, etc. The rooms are clean, quiet and well appointed. The wifi did not work with an iPad in the rooms but connected well in the lobby, where quite frankly, is the place to be anyway! Location is a brisk 20 minute walk to the Duomo and shopping. Parking is a few blocks away which is typical for the area.

Stay here with the confidence that you will get your money's worth and have a true Italian experience. This is my hotel in Milano going forward!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blue_elk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 31/33, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2010

Dear Madame/Sir,
we would really like to thank you very much for the review that you have left. We are very happy about the quality that we were able to offer you. We are pleased to read any suggestion in order how to satisfy our Guests. We hope to see you again in the near future and to welcome you in our Unique Home in Milan.
Head of PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
TownHouse 12
#220 of 428 in Milan
257 reviews
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#19 of 428 in Milan
791 reviews
TownHouse 31
#218 of 428 in Milan
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brera
Senato Hotel Milano
Senato Hotel Milano
#44 of 428 in Milan
210 reviews
Chateau Monfort
#9 of 428 in Milan
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownHouse 31/33? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownHouse 31/33

Address: Via Carlo Goldoni 33, 20129 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: $158 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TownHouse 31/33 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownHouse 33 is located in a 19th century palace along with an enchanting palm garden. The completely refurbished and upgraded Deluxe rooms and Junior Suites take the guests on a memorable journey where the sense of hospitality is held in high esteem. Located in a residential area of one of the most affluent neighborhoods in Milan, TownHouse 33 is within walking distance from the world renowned showrooms, bars and restaurants in Piazza San Babila, Via Monte Napoleone, Corso Buenos Aires and Porta Venezia. Dateo train Station, close to the Hotel, allows guests to easily reach Fieramilano Rho exhibition center within 20 minutes. TownHouse 33 is outside Milan's "Area C" (limited traffic zone with entrance fee), and offers chargeable self-parking facilities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your TownHouse 31/33 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing