We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best for a tourist”
Review of Mayorca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayorca Hotel
Ranked #385 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not the best for a tourist”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This was a one night stay between a flight in and a train out of Milan. The location was OK for taxi service from Linate airport and to the train station. The hotel is in a seemingly residential neighborhood. This means that at night, you might have a problem finding a selection of restaurants, so staying near a more touristy area is to your advantage. The hotel staff is matter-of-fact...check you in and check you out. The rooms are unremarkable, and typical for Europe, quite tight. The shower had a major leak, but the other fixtures functioned OK.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank la901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    21
    39
    26
    24
See reviews for
12
26
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way through. The hotel was dingy, the bed gave my friend bed bugs, and the internet we paid for didn't work.

The best thing about Mayorca is the restaurant next door! It was one of the best local restaurants in Italy that we visited and we met a wonderful couple and laughed the night away. It made staying at Mayorca worth it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milan hotels

Lexington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My family and I recently stayed at the Mayorca Hotel in Milano. We found this property through Trip Advisor. There were definite pros and cons to this hotel, but overall a good value.

First the pros, it was in a nice, quieter area of the city. There are a few options in the vicinity for public transportation. The 54 and 61 bus routes are very close, the Milano Dateo light rail station is a moderate walk and the Piola Metro station is a longer walk but nothing too strenuous. The hotel and rooms are clean but a bit small. We had a family of 6 so we had to get 2 rooms. We knew this going in though so it was not a big deal. The rate we got was through Trip Advisor via Expedia for $67 per room per night. For this price, we felt it was a good value.

The cons were the smaller rooms and beds, the internet service wasn't working when we were there and some of the room doors squeak. This became an issue when we returned late one of the nights and some of the other guests complained. The service was okay, some of the receptionists were very helpful and others not so much.

Bottom line, if you are just looking for a place to sleep and nothing more, the Mayorca is pretty good. We would stay again if the prices were similar next time.

Room Tip: Pretty good if you can get it for $50-$70 per night like we did
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jandrews28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

The hotel is not bad, clean and not so far from the city centre (20-30min by walk to Duomo), but the walls seem made from paper?! Couldn't sleep the first night because of neighbours, I heard everything in their room - what they were talking about, the TV on, even the water running in the shower!! And was woken up again at 3a.m.
Didn't stay too long (just too nights) so can't tell smth more (even had to skip the breakfast 'coz it was too early for my holiday's schedule, hehe), but in bar on the corner they make tasty latte and fresh briosch :-)
Anyway, don't think I will be back there again, don't wanna risk my good night sleep!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OriginalisAlwaysBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San ANotnio Texas
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Very quaint, owners on site, comfortable, adequate, continental breakfast, center of city, restaurant within walking distance, not easy to find but with google can be located with ease, reasonable rates.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaveCardWillTravel98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Győr
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We arrived with my girlfriend to Milan on the 1st of May, and according to our confirmaton e-mails we had booked at Hotel Medusa, Via Carlo Goldoni, 84. As we arrived it turned out that this place is a hostel in the 2nd floor of a block of flats. The reception was tougether with the breakfast and smoke to chin-high. The place was probably great for high school people, who came to Milan, to have fun in the night, and to smoke during the breakfast late in the morning, but for those who came to walk around the city, and to take a long weekend out, it would be a nightmare. At the reception the guy talked ital-english, that I could hardly understand for the 3rd time.
But what he sad was a great news: they have 3 Hotels at that area of the city, and our booking was for Hotel Mayorca, Via Privata Andrea Pellizzone, 12. We thought that this could be only better then Medusa.
And we ware right! :) The Hotel is in a little private road, in a really quite area of the town.
As you step in you find the reception at the left and on the right a little bar, where also the breakfast is served (as ususal, severeal kinds of coffees and croissant). The room we got was not big, but to have a place to sleep and the clothes it was far enough. The room was cleand every day. The staff was also very kind, they tried to help us with our questions.
Also it is quite near to the city, the Dome Square is about 10 minutes far with the bus, every other sightseeing places can be reached within half an hour.
There is also a supermarket near the Hotel, which has every thing from bread to sushi ingredient. Also there are more pizzerias and several parks there, so it is very nice to take a little walk in the surrounding streets.

To assume it, it was very nice for 2 person for 134EUR!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

as usual, i don't understand what people have to fuss about: the three star hotel has everthing you will find in any 3star place in italy. it's true that the rooms are very tiny, and so is the bathroom, but if you need space you should look for a suite. if you need a room only to sleep there, all you need is a bed. and there are beds in hotel mayorca.

the staff was very friendly, english, french and spanish-speaking. there's an internet point and a wifi-connection, which has to be ordered seperately. the rooms have a safe and a minibar. our room had moreover a little balcony to the street. next door is a trendy bar (mokito) where from time to time people used to party. so if you sleep streetwars you should be able to take some noise at night.

the neighbourhood isn't bad at all either. there are many bars and restaurants, a lot of people going out at night, and a metro station within walking distance (dateo station).

the breakfast is moderate. there buiskit, bread, fruits, joghurt, salami, cheese, everything, only not the luxery but the cheepest version.

all i can say is: i liked it there. only the money they take is a bit to much, concerning the 3star standart. but milan isn't inexpensive. you better get used to it.

  • Liked — the older man at the front desk
  • Disliked — the party at night in the bar next door
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank donottravelalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.6 mi away
Milano Hotel America
Milano Hotel America
#289 of 428 in Milan
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
VIVA Hotel Milano
VIVA Hotel Milano
#155 of 428 in Milan
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Susa
Hotel Susa
#143 of 428 in Milan
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ca' Grande
Ca' Grande
#372 of 428 in Milan
138 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#255 of 428 in Milan
207 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Bogart 2
Hotel Bogart 2
#327 of 428 in Milan
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayorca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayorca Hotel

Property: Mayorca Hotel
Address: Via A Pellizzone 12, Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #385 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayorca Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayorca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing