We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveler rating
180
65
23
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
180
65
23
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool construction site breakfast euros tram stop design hotel spg member porto garibaldi beautiful hotel large tv five star hotel concierge team great facilities spa area bottle of prosecco junior suite special thanks rooms are nice
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 289 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2017

Despite being the youngest couple there, we were made to feel very welcome. The staff were both incredibly friendly and helpful. The attention to detail in all aspects the hotels appearance is remarkable. The rooms are extremely modern and sleek with USB charging ports, a flat screen TV, a touch screen control panel for changing the lighting in the room and a rain fall shower.

The breakfast on the top floor is one of the highlights of the hotel. The view of Milan coupled with the incredible food and service made breakfast at the hotel quite special. The choice of hot food for a continental breakfast was far beyond our expectations. The pool is relatively small but surrounding it on each side are amazing views of Milan.

Given our stay just 10 days after opening, one would expect there to be flaws with the hotel, however this was not the case.It is worth noting given the small nature of the spa as more people begin staying at the Hotel I am unsure as to how they will cope with the extra people. The same goes for the breakfast as the roof top bar is spacious but may struggle to seat everyone if the hotel is at full capacity.

Next to the hotel is a large and beautiful cemetery which is well worth a visit. In addition to this, there is a metro station just next to it.

Overall our stay was fantastic and should we return to Milan, we would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room tip: Try and get a room on as high a floor as possible to get the best views and get above the construction site next to the hotel.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmarr994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego N, Direttore generale at Hotel VIU Milan, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2017

Dear mmarr994,
thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
We are delighted to learn that the effort we make in taking care of every detail and in focusing on our guests contributed to make your stay unforgettable.
We are so pleased you appreciate the breakfast served at The VIU Terrace and that everything was beyond your expectations.
It is always a pleasure to receive such positive remarks from our fellow guests.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Diego Novarino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017

Beautiful place to visit, in particular the top floor with the swimming pool. I have been invested for a nice party and it has an amazing view of the city. Employers were very friendly and helpful to get more informations about the city.

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank Nuuco12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego N, Direttore generale at Hotel VIU Milan, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Dear Nuuco12,
Thank you for your beautiful comment and happy to know you appreciate the staff kindness during our last event.
Hope we will have the opportunity to host you soon,

Diego Novarino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile

I loved my stay at the Hotel Viu in Milan.

In advance of arrival I'd had numerous emails to the Hotel from the USA to ask various questions, coordinate car service, tours, transit etc. The responses were incredibly professional and prompt.

A welcoming staff, with exceptional front desk service greeted us on arrival.

Although the hotel lobby is not grand by most 5 Star hotel standards, the elegant design and modern decor makes up for the small scale.

It seems this is an up and coming area, and is very conveniently located near all sorts of transit options, as well as a quick walk to the Design District and various attractions.

We arrived much earlier than our check in stated and we were graciously accommodated and shown to our room.
We were certainly amongst the first to stay at the hotel and likely the first to stay in our room.

The room was spacious by European standards, and very well furnished.
The towels, linens, robes and slippers all luxurious and comfortable.

It was also incredibly quiet even with a large construction site next door. It is true that there were missing switch plate covers, however that's just a finishing detail I'm sure that they will get to.

An electronic lighting and shading control system had very nice scenes pre-set.

Our stay was 7 nights and we dined or had coffee/dessert at the restaurant almost nightly. Chef Morelli and his team are incredibly talented, very friendly and made us feel extremely welcome. A highlight was when Chef Morelli invited us to see the kitchen - a stunning and pristine white and stainless gleaming wonder - designed by him to his exacting taste. Lots of high tech cooking appliances and novel kitchen design. After seeing it, I had quite the case of "Kitchen Envy"...

Also loved the Rooftop breakfast area and pool. Stunning!

I will say the portions are somewhat miniature in size - however intense in flavor and delicious, each dish a work of art! As an architect and designer I truly appreciate the artistry and precision of the food presentation! Loved the creativity!

The one disappointment was that we tried to access the Spa on the second floor without success on 2 occasions. There was no signage. We assumed it was after hours or not completed. I'd suggest they leave the door open or have an attendant on hand.
On check out the last day I inquired and was told it was indeed available and I should have alerted the front desk that my key didn't work. I probably should have! Oh well!

The rest of my stay was amazing, comfortable and welcoming.

I will definitely return when I'm in Milan again!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank carolkurth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego N, Direttore generale at Hotel VIU Milan, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Dear Carol K,
thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel VIU Milan.
We are really glad to know that you appreciate your stay with us and everything was at your expectation.
We are so pleased that you loved your room, all in the bathroom and the services at our restaurants. We are really sorry for the inconveniences occurred with the SPA access, but happy to know that this doesn’t influence your experience with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,

Diego Novarino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2017

It was the opening week of Hotel Viu Milano when we visited there. When we arrived, a loud disco music was welcoming in the lobby. It took longer than normally to check in, but service was polite.

Very soon we realized that the building and services were not finished yet. There were several flaws. We were told that spa is on the seventh floor. When we took lift to the seventh floor, we realized that we were in a construction site. Unfortunately, the lift door was closed behind us - and the button didn't work. We had no other way to get out than find a staircase. Doors to the floors were locked, but fortunately the third floor door was open. We went to reception and told about our problem. The receptionist didn't react our experience. He escorted us to the Spa - on the second floor. Probably we were heard wrongly the floor.

Disappointments went on. We realized that the spa was not finished yet: there were not a dressing room, finnish sauna was about 40 degrees (should be at least 70 degrees) and glass wall made visit unpleasent. Our room was nice, but the window was toward a construction site. Switch brakers were without proper covers.

Our feedback could be one point, but the intervention of the hotel manager changed the game. We didn't complain anything, even though the roof of our room began to leak water. In this situation, hotel manager offered a suite and apperative on the top floor restaurant for us. This was a small concession because we were leaving from the hotel in four hours. Anyway, the manager did what was needed.

Breakfast was good with quite limited choices for a 5 star hotel. The top floor (breakfast there) is the best part of the hotel: nice views over Milano.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 32Morten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego N, Direttore generale at Hotel VIU Milan, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2017

Dear 32Morten,
Thank you for your review about your stay at the Hotel VIU Milan.
We opened the hotel in a soft way, and something wasn’t still ready in the very first week of opening, for example the 7th floor.
We are very glad you appreciate the services, your room and the beautiful view from our breakfast room.
After a month, we are 100% ready to host all our guests in the entire structure and we hope we will have the occasion to welcome you again and show you all our improvement.
Kindest regards,

Diego Novarino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2017

Nelwy opened five star hotel in a very easy to access location by the Monumentale and Chinatown. Near to all the famous tourist attractions like The Duomo, shopping areas by foot (about 20 minutes),tram or tube. Very clean big rooms with all the necesary amenities.Well trained and highly motivated staff. We had to see the " Last Supper" painting at Santa Maria de Gracie for our 0830 Sunday reservation,because it was the only tour ticket we could obtain from Tokyo at very short notice.It was also the only ticket available on that particular Suday as Monday is closed. My wife was very excited and was looking forward to see the Da Vinci masterpiece. The kind reception staff gave us vey clear directions by foot to leave the hotel by 0750 and to cross the Serpertine Park and we arrived in good time by 0815. All the staff speak perfect English and nothing was too much for them to fulfil our needs.The room facilities came with electric kettle had tea, but no coffee available. The concierge lady manager instead kindly offered us complimentary room service with proper coffee - great service recovery and a very nice gesture. The only two things I would have prefered was a small clock and folding luggage rack to unpack and pack.
Apart from that, it certainly was the most memorable/"fantastico" and best hotel stay in Italy.

Room tip: Our rooms had great view,but there was a piece of empty land. Hope nothing high will be built there as it will block the nice view.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TYOBEANS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego N, Direttore generale at Hotel VIU Milan, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2017

Dear TYOBEANS01,
Thank you very much for your “fantastica” review about us, we are delighted to read that you loved your Hotel VIU Milan experience!

We are very happy to know that our Staff fulfill all your needs and that we can help you to have a pleasant stay in Milan. Our goal is to make true all our guests wishes and make their stay in the city unforgettable!
We hope you will return to us one day and spend some more time with us!
Kindest regards,

Diego Novarino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews