We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 girls on a Milano week-end”
Review of Canada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canada Hotel
Ranked #31 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 4, 2014

A girlfriend wanted to go to Milan for her birthday with her daughter, so I booked this hotel to find a place well located with a room with 3 beds. This is a nice hotel, well located between the shopping area of the Dome (10 minutes walk) and the Navigli area (15 minutes walk) nice for restaurants and shopping (Porta Ticinese). Nice atmosphere and warm welcome. The staff is very friendly and helps you if you need to know some adresses or things to do or see. They even have a list to give you if you need it. They are really happy to help. You feel confortable from the first moment you come in. The breakfast is good and gives you a lot of choices. The free wi-fi is a plus.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street which is quite noisy if you let the window open. Maybe there are more roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Hellocathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraNicoletti, Direttore at Canada Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review. We are so happy to read you staied well with us!
As you wrote, in our hotel wifi is free everywhere, in the lobby and in the rooms.
When you book a room you can choose between different services offered but for all ther rooms wifi is free and without code.
Thank you again!
Best regards
Barbara Nicoletti
G.Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank ola73
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed in Hotel Canada for one night on 15th May 2014. We arrived after an 18 hour day, we were up early in London, caught the Eurostar to Paris, then changed stations to Gare Du Lyon and travelled through to Milan.

When we arrived at the hotel at 22.30 hours we were cheerily greeted by a friendly young man and within 4 minutes we were in our room, it was very fast and organised. The room was spacious, clean and very quiet with a large well appointed bathroom.

The next morning we went down for breakfast and again were greeted by very obliging and friendly girls who smiled all the time and could not do enough to make everyone feel welcome.

We departed that morning for Pisa, checkout was even more efficient than checkin. After we arrived in Pisa my wife realised she had left an important bag in the bathroom. We contacted the staff who immediately went into action to on forward the bag to our Rome apartment, I must add, it was also with the help of Fabio Fichi who owns the Rome apartment, Antica Montica.

The staff at Hotel Canada are a credit to the establishment and we highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor, the lift can be slow during busy times so lower floors are better if you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johngodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraNicoletti, Direttore at Canada Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review.
We are happy to read everything was good for you and for your wife.
For us the most important thing is offer a good service: smart check in and smart check out.
We have different kind of rooms: big room with big bathoroom and another smaller room but very good room and all the rooms have wifi free, minibar free and a lot of service free.
Thank you very much and we hope to see you again.
Best regards
Barbara Nicoletti
G.Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Two girls, the aim to travel to as many European cities before we turn 50 ;) and we usually choose hotels in a city, based on location (pretty central a must), a decent breakfast included, clean rooms and of course friendly, helpful staff (wi-fi a bonus) and Hotel Canada provided it all.
Thank you for making yet another short break a success

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnitaF717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We chose this hotel largely based on price (they had a special for May Day) and location, but would also recommend it for service. We requested a higher floor to get away from street noise and ended up on the 8th floor, with a great view out over the surrounding area. As noted by another reviewer, there was a stand of ~15 umbrellas near the front door which was useful on the rainy day we stayed - not enough for everyone in the hotel obviously, but it worked for us!

The shower was quite tall for an Italian hotel, so I didn't need to duck to stand under it, and the room was quite well lit. The windows in our room spanned the entire southern wall but had excellent blockout curtains so it was dark when we closed them at night.

One issue - the breakfast area is far too small for a hotel this size. When we arrived for breakfast at 8:30am the first morning, there was a queue to get a table and the staff were literally running to ensure food/bowls/plates were stocked as fast as possible. In the small room, it did create a rather frantic environment - not very relaxing if you're on holiday because it was clear from the hungry stares of other guests wanting your breakfast table that you couldn't linger over a morning coffee. The following morning, we had breakfast at 9:30am and that presented no real issues - still only one spare table but things were less rushed.

That said, the rest of the hotel amenities were so good, the reception staff so friendly and helpful with directions and advice about the city, plus the good price and location, so I am not deducting any points for that first breakfast experience.

There's a very small supermarket right next door to the hotel, otherwise cafes within a block, and shopping about 5 mins walk away.

Getting there was simple - we took the metro from Milano Centrale to Missori and walked a few minutes with luggage. The footpaths were relatively easy walking, even with wheeled suitcases in tow, and there's a gentle ramp into the hotel so no need to lift heavy bags.

We'd stay there again if travelling to Milan.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors will get you further from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MQ007b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I came into MXP and took the Airport express train to Milano Cadorna railway station and jumped a 94 Bus to within a block of the hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. My son attends Bocconi and we could catch a 15 Tram to the ARCO. Nice room for the cost and a super breakfast to get you going. When I go back to Milan I would have no problem staying in this hotel again

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Canada Hotel is a very nice hotel, with very kindly people. We had a very good stay! The hotel is near the centre of Milano. The rooms are ok, they have enough space and the beds are good. We had a good time in the Canada hotel in Milano!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Uptown Palace
#61 of 427 in Milan
1,601 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 427 in Milan
838 reviews
Navigli
Zurigo Hotel
Zurigo Hotel
#175 of 427 in Milan
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#24 of 427 in Milan
488 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canada Hotel

Address: Via Santa Sofia 16, 20122 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: $132 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing