We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small local restaurant serving superb food”
Review of ALventicinque

ALventicinque
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 7/16
8:00 PM
Ranked #81 of 9,819 Restaurants in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $34
Neighborhood: Centro Storico
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Centro Storico
Reviewed May 29, 2019 via mobile

We had dinner at this tiny local restaurant, starting with beef tartare, made with chopped celery to give it texture as well as great flavour, with a delicious Gorgonzola sauce. Simple, but delicious. We then had the the sardines palermitana. This was pasta baked with generous quantities of sardines, with pine nuts and raisins in the sauce. The flavours were great, and to us seemed a pasta variant of sarde al beccafico, the famous Sicilian stuffed sardine dish, and a favourite of ours. Both courses had full flavours, simply but perfectly prepared. We finished with a selection of goats cheeses. Also well chosen. The wines by the glass were reasonably priced (between 5 and 8 euros a glass, with bottles from around 20 euros. The wines are (like the food) all from small independent growers. We tried a teroldego from Alto Adige, a valpolicella from the Veneto and a nebbiolo from Piedmont. Each was excellent, and very good quality for the price.

The restaurant is small (ten or eleven tables), in a line opposite the kitchen where the chef cooks behind glass. The two owners run it, and from our perspective they have completely achieved their goal of creating a small local restaurant totally focussed on flavour and excellent, friendly service. All the staff were enthusiastic about the food and giving us an enjoyable dinner. This is not a formal restaurant and it is brightly lit and lively. We had a superb evening and I would recommend it to anyone.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank jamesandnicky2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 194 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2019

enjoy INSALATA di PUNTARELLE, CANNELLONI VERDI, MILLEFOGLIE di MANZO, TIRAMISU', torta cioccolato with a superb CREMA al PISTACCHIO! expecially smiles of people are the best ingredients. it is NOT a ROMANTIC restaurant, very small and no athmosphere. if you are looking for a romantic dinner, it's not the best choice.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Giugni65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2019 via mobile

We found the restaurant from an article about restaurants popular with locals in Milan and it completely delivered! Intimate setting allowed the staff to be attentive in a relaxed environment. Ingredients and attention to detail is paramount here and we found little to find fault with. A must if you are visiting Milan. Be sure to book, we did and arrived just after 8pm but within half an hour the restaurant was full. Thank you ALventicinque for a meal to remember!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank mat210589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2019 via mobile

This is not a commercial/tourist restaurant, this is a place you can get some authentic innovative Italian food, the food is very fresh and absolutely delicious! It’s a personal experience as well. The owner(s) are on the ground between the kitchen and checking on customers. We tried a few of the recommendations of the chef and were not disappointed!! What a great start to our short Milan trip!!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Adeeba89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2019 via mobile

We are a young couple that have been in Milan once before. Ever since the first time we wanted to come back and find places with great food. This is absolutely one of them. With everything they do you can see it is done in the name of love and passion for food. We invested 95 Euro including tip for the 2 of us and I am happy to come back again.

Tip: don't forget to make a reservation because it's a small place and fully booked if you come after 8pm

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank jwog2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ALventicinque also viewed

 

Been to ALventicinque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing