We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - Terrible area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Milan
Ranked #103 of 428 Hotels in Milan
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The hotel itself is fine. If it weren't for the streetwalkers offering themselves to passersby I would stay here again. As it is I cannot recommend this hotel due to the fact that it is in what appears to be a right light district.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoriopecoraro, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Milan, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear John O,

I'm happy you appreciate our Hotel and the High level of service we offer.
The Hotel is located in a business district close to Headquarters of Multinational Company and close to the MI.Co., the biggest Congress center in Europe, the Rho Fair, S. Siro Stadium and at a reasonable distance (a short ride by tram 20-25 minutes) to the Duomo.
Our area is a business area so it very calm and safe also at night, also if occasionally it's possible to meet some streetwalkers (it happen all around Milan also in the center). We are working with local police to render it less visible and I'm confident you will not find this problem anymore on your next stay.
Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

I've just spent a week at this Hotel on business. The rooms were clean and tidy, and the staff were very helpful. Great breakfast selection, and for the evening, Luca in the Bar can mix a great cocktail! A wider selection of food using Room Service, and an iron in the room would be the only negatives.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoriopecoraro, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Milan, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Wayne2000,

I'm happy you had a nice stay with us and I appreciate the fact you could appreciate also the mood of our personnel and the warm hospitality of our brand. I'll take care of your advice on our room service menu. Because of safety procedures it is not possible to put an iron in the room but we can carry it in the room with a board just on request at the desk.
Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I believe the principal point is that the hotel is pretty far away from the centre. Prices for a stay are good, but it will take 45min in the morning to get to the centre by public transport… trams are however plentiful (unless there is Milan's monthly transport strike is which case it will be more patchy).
Staff was very nice, check-in and -out efficient.
Rooms are decent, the bed is very good. My TV had a number of international channels that where not displayed correctly - pixeled and sound interruptions.
Breakfast wasn't brilliant. OJ and grapefruit juice very sweet. Limited fresh fruit. I was early, so the toast machine didn't work yet…
Limited number of bars/restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srm_56347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoriopecoraro, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Milan, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Srm,

Thank you for taking your time writing a review of our hotel. The Hotel location is strategic for business man who need to stay in the area because of the long list of Company having them headquarters in the area or because of the Mico (congress center) or the fair that are easyly reachable from the Hotel. Usually by tram it takes 20-25 minutes to get to the center and this is the reason why our hotel is choosen also from leisure travellers who want to pay the right price for a full services branded hotel. I'm happy you appreciate our staff and our beds and I hope to see you soon in our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Servis, lodging wondeful, breakfast is average but OK Location is about 15 min by car to Duomo, For the Families; Looks like red light distric but it is safe and quiet, you can find free parking front of the hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Akin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoriopecoraro, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Milan, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. It's crucial for us to meet client expectantions and we are happy we reach you satisfaction.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Constant noise due to the central air conditionning which has not been solved. I had to call many times and 2 maintenance persons came and showed me two other rooms which were also noisy. They could not provide earplugs and I slept very badly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Francoise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoriopecoraro, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Milan, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Francoise,

I'm sorry for the problem you had in the room. I can assure this is an exception and usually the air condition works well and silently. I'm sorry you were so disappointed to not profit of a room change that for sure could solve the problem. I hope to welcome again in our Hotel as to be able to offer our hospitality at the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Being here on business I mainly want a comfortable bed and a decent service. The bed was great with plenty of extra down pillows. The temperature was easily adjusted and the room was very clean.

There is some construction around and the windows are not 100% sound proof but it is quiet and I slept very well. Room service was quick and decent although the choices are a little limited. The breakfast was very good although they need more than one coffee machine!

As far as the location - it was perfect for me, I was going to be using taxis to visit customers at any rate so - no problem. It was under 20Euros for a taxi into the Duomo or you can take a tram from a nearby station for less. I recommend this hotel to business travelers.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the courtyard or just ask for a room far away from the construction in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoriopecoraro, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Milan, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. It's crucial for us to meet client expectations and we are happy we reach you satisfaction.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My husband and l stayed at this hotel during a business trip and found the rooms clean and very comfortable. Unfortunately, the hotel is located in an industrial area with alot of construction sites and requires a taxi to shopping and restaurants. Overall, the staff we pleasant but at times abrupt and not very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room overlooking tge courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 560djm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoriopecoraro, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Milan, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

I'm Happy you find the Hotel nice and you appreciate our services.
I'm sorry you did not appreciate our location. The Hotel is located in Certosa business disctrict close to a lot of Multinational Company Headquarters, very close to the MiCo (Milan Congress Center, the biggest in Europe),Close to FieraMilanoCity, close to the main Fair (Rho fair) of Milan, the Stadium Citylife New Business district and the area of the new Expo 2015. In front of the Hotel there is also the Tram stop that can easily (20-25 minutes ride) get to the center, that's why our hotel is choosen also from leisure travellers who do not want to pay the Hig prices of the city center Hotel but have a full service branded hotel at a convenient rate.
Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan
0.2 mi away
Milan Suite Hotel
Milan Suite Hotel
#22 of 428 in Milan
669 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milan North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Klima Hotel Milano Fiere
4.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Milano
Ramada Plaza Milano
#69 of 428 in Milan
1,303 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Milan
Barcelo Milan
#117 of 428 in Milan
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Milan

Address: Via Ludovico di Breme 77, 20156 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Milan
#41 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#45 Business Hotel in Milan
#85 Family Hotel in Milan
#85 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#96 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $69 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Milan 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Doubletree by Hilton Milan in the heart of Viale Certosa, northern Milan's essential business district, offers upscale hotel accommodations and modern amenities close to Fiera Milano Exhibition Center and Trade Fair Complex, only five minutes from the new Rho Fair Grounds and 10 minutes from the City Center. Our elegant hotel, convenient to major rail lines and autostrada, is only 30 minutes from Malpensa International Airport (MXP) and 30 minutes (25mi/15km) from Linate National Airport (LIN). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Milan Hotel Milan
Hilton International Milan
Milan Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing