We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming inside with excellent service”

Ristorante Alla Collina Pistoiese
Ranked #3,013 of 8,940 Restaurants in Milan
Price range: $45 - $79
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centro Storico
Description: Traditional restaurant and cousine since 1938. From Toscany we still propose Ribollita, Fiorentina, Baccalà, Pasta e Fagioli and many others specialities. Our passion and professionality is the same since the beginning. Private room available.
Reviewed March 9, 2016

We ate here twice during our week in Milan. The florentine steak was amazing! They also had excellent fish dishes. I particularly enjoyed the shrimp and Tuscan bean starter. Some of the best shrimp I've had anywhere.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 542kita
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 471 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2016 via mobile

Last time I came with my wife was in May 1990 and 26 years later they not only kept the quality but improve it.

Yo can taste a real Italian cousine with a fare price for what you get

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Javier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2016

We ate here based on the hotel's recommendation. Stayed in Milan on the first and last night of our trip--liked the restaurant so much we came back and ate here again on the night before we left Italy. The food was fantastic, everything was very fresh. The wait staff was friendly, welcoming and very attentive. Two of the most memorable meals I've ever had in Italy, and in large part due to the service. It is obviously a place that caters to locals, which is part of the charm. Who wants to go to a place that caters to tourists? Also, I am a celiac and must eat gluten free. They were very knowledgable about the menu and were able to advise me on what I could eat--there were many options and they were exceedingly accommodating. Authentic Italian experience. Don't miss it. Milan has some of the nicest people in Italy, a truly underrated city in a country that has so much to experience.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NYTravelGirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2016

This historic restaurant has an amazing Old World atmosphere. Opened in 1938, the main dining room oozes with charm and history.

The food was outstanding. Had the beef carpaccio appetizer and then fried calamari and shrimp - superb. The five stars comes from the baked oven fruit dessert - pear and orange. I am ready to go back to Milan for dessert. Bravo. Well done.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank FredTravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2016

Was recommended by our hotel. Seemed like a local restaurant where locals are welcome. Was half-empty. No atmosphere (unless you would like to watch local visitors chat with waiters and look important). Waiters did not pay much attention to us (as we were not locals). But when waived -- were prompt in delivering.

Wine list was very "short" and not impressive. Ravioli was reasonable. Carpaccio - with mustard. Fiorentina stake was cold when served and we had to ask two times to get it warmed up -- the first time it was returned almost untouched. When we asked the second time, they finally brought it reasonably warm. Cotoletta milanese was ok.

Tiramisu was not tasty -- but vanilla ice-cream and a house desert of cookies was nice.

Tableware - simple, glasses -- simple. Bill for three was about 250 euros with one botttle of wine.

I don't think I would like to return here unless have no other options.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MaxV_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Alla Collina Pistoiese also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Alla Collina Pistoiese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.