We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for a family...Huge apartments...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence de la Gare
Ranked #37 of 290 Specialty Lodging in Milan
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed there with 2 kids (9 and 12) 7 days into a 10 day tour of Europe. We loved it because it is so spacious and it gave us a chance to chill, relax and regroup before finishing the trip. The building and apartment are beautiful. The location is good in the sense that it is 1 block from the subway that takes you wherever you want quickly. It's not a thriving neighborhood for restaurants, etc.--more of a financial district. But the apartment was so nice, and it was so relaxing to have so much space, that we were thankful for the experience. If you are driving, you have to ask for parking in advance. We forgot to do that, but they worked to find a spot for our car.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bearcatMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 76 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2012

The apartment was larger than expected, on a busy city street near the train station (we walked to it), and very well run. I left a dear piece of clothing in the closet, and they did not hesitate to return it to me (it was mailed back to me, in the states). I would recommend this place heartily!

Room Tip: We stayed on street level, but with shutters closed, the room stayed very quiet. And it was fun to o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stayed here for three nights in November 2011. We stayed with a two year old so had requested a cot to be provided, which it was. Good sized apartment with good facilities. Would recommend both the location and the Residence as both are convienent to everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Via Mauro Macchi rather than Via Brianza, as the former is much quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DublinStjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We rented an apartment for the last leg of our trip in Italy based on the strength of the reviews here on Tripadvisor.
The location was handy - near to the Central Station.
The rooms were spacious, even if not ideally furnished.
We were however disappointed at some of the areas we experienced during our stay, namely,
1. On the day of check-in, we discovered exposed half-eaten food in the fridge. The decomposing food was NEVER cleared, and remained when we checked out.
2. In the bathroom, a large dirty draining hole with sharp jagged edges was left exposed throughout our stay; it was not only unsafe but unbelievably unhygienic.
3. Even though De La Gare is advertised as a serviced apartment, the kettle/utensils were dusty and dirty like they were not cleaned/used in a long while.
4. The aircon/ventilation unit broke down on Day 2 resulting in zero air circulation in the room.
5. Basic necessities like toilet paper was not replenished during housekeeping.
6. The walls were thin and there was no customer service to remind occupants to keep noise level low after dark; we were not light sleepers but were still kept awake through the night by occupants on the upper levels making a ruckus.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank achanjii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I booked this accommodation for a base for the Italian Grand Prix simply because it was next to the central station. However if you are going to the next grand prix be advised most trains leave from Garibaldi station not Central Station. However this is still a great base as the apartment was nicely furnished and we had all the amenities we needed. The staff were helpful and we paid for secured parking and were given a fob if we wanted to move the car during our stay.The metro station to Garibaldi is 30 seconds walk away so it is really easy to get around.

Would recommend to anyone who wants a nice, clean, affordable base for Milan and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmabon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Stayed here with my family for 2 nights. There were three of us and we got the superior room. The accommodation was very close to the main train station (about 5-10 minutes walking distance) which makes it a convenient base for exploring milan. The residence itself is very modern--the room we stayed in was an apartment type room with a mini kitchen and everything you need to cook and eat (plates, glasses, forks, spoons etc). It was very modern and clean. We ended up saving a lot of money because we cooked our own food.

It is a little on the expensive side, but I guess that's just Milan for you. Will definitely recommend this to any group going to Milan but if you're a solo budget traveller, this might not be the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank singmearainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Good location if you need to be near the Centrale Station--quiet, seemed safe. I guess it's not nice in terms of it's not a beautiful area, but it's convenient. Apartments were clean, nicely furnished and good-sized.

They do provide laundry service, but I'd rather have self-service laundry facilities on-site.

Another reviewer mentioned the kitchen lacked cleaning supplies--dish soap and sponge. I asked the woman who checked us in for them and she gave them to us without any issues.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank tekna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#165 of 431 in Milan
6,535 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#8 of 431 in Milan
6,836 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#75 of 431 in Milan
2,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bicocca
B&B Central Hostel Milano
B&B Central Hostel Milano
#130 of 284 in Milan
214 reviews
nhow Milano
#29 of 431 in Milan
2,048 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#22 of 431 in Milan
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence de la Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence de la Gare

Address: Via Mauro Macchi 49, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 290 Specialty Lodging in Milan
Price Range: $134 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence de la Gare 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence de la Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing