We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never ever book this hotel again!”
Review of San Giovanni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Giovanni
Ranked #236 of 276 Milan B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This hotel is terrible. The room we got reeked of sigarettes. The shower had mould on it. The worst part was the fact that the bathroom was so small that you could hardly move without touching the wall in the shower, which I find disgusting given the state of bad hygiena in this hotel.Getting out of the shower without touching the bidet (in which I saw someone elses pubic hair on arrival) or the sink was almost impossible . The bed matress was so uncomortable I got a pain in my back. The room maid didn't bother to clean the shower but tossed all my (including vulnerable suede) shoes all together in a bag. The only positieve thing I can say about this hotel is that the receptionist was friendly and helpful.
I would not recommend ANYONE to go to this hotel EVER unless you enjoy a complete lack of comfort and hygiena. And for 75 euros a night, I'm sure you can find a better place for the money, even in Milan.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mademoisellemoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for San Giovanni
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 57 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

Given that our stay coincided with Milan Design week the rate charged by the hotel was reasonable - on the basis that it was the lowest cost option in the city at £150 for one night
Budgetplaces.com online booking service only gave the option of single room or twin beds and since I was travelling with my wife I selected the latter. On arrival the owner was kind enough to arrange for a double bed. He also threw in breakfast for us both which was very considerate.
This is an old fashioned place and the lack of carpets make sound from other residents echo around the place. We had a room on the second floor but could easily here conversations going on in reception on the ground floor
So don't come expecting the Ritz but be prepared for a warm and genuine welcome from the owner. The breakfast is typically continental but again generous. If you don't see what you want on offer then ask as the owner is keen to please.
I should add that the place is a pleasant walk from the bustling centre of Milan - Try the cake & coffee shop on the corner by the San Giovanni. A lovely slice of authentic Italy.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solar_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Paid for bed and breakfast and was told breakfast was between 7am and 10am. Went down to reception at 7.30am, where the three tables with chairs for breakfast was situated, to be told that there was no breakfast today and that the coffee machine was broken. Was directed to a nearby cafe. No refund of breakfast money. Not very good.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brianjwpalacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank carmelo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eugenio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: State lontani da questo hotel
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank anthony i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.3 mi away
VIVA Hotel Milano
VIVA Hotel Milano
#167 of 426 in Milan
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel RossoVino - Milan
Hotel RossoVino - Milan
#148 of 426 in Milan
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Susa
Hotel Susa
#144 of 426 in Milan
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#129 of 426 in Milan
335 reviews
3.3 mi away
Gogol'Ostello
Gogol'Ostello
#157 of 276 in Milan
67 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bed & Bed Milano
Bed & Bed Milano
#60 of 276 in Milan
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Giovanni

Address: Via Francesco Reina 18, 20133 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 276 B&Bs / Inns in Milan
Price Range: $87 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — San Giovanni 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your San Giovanni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing