We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“PERFECT HIDDEN OASIS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Silver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Silver
Ranked #77 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“PERFECT HIDDEN OASIS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Well hidden in a Commercial/Industrial area just off the Milan Autostrada........30 mins from Swiss border and perfect for stopping en route to/from the rest of Italy. It's location belies what a hidden gem of a hotel it is.

Found by accident at 2200 after a long delayed and tiring journey. The staff could not have been more helpful or accommodating......even to the extent of making sure we still had dinner even at that late hour. The rooms were exceptional both in furnishing and size and extremely quiet. Another major bonus was the availability of free & secure on-site parking.

Value for money incredible......a real surprise and cannot recommend too highly.

Room Tip: Rooms really high standard................rooms at the rear extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady123166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    106
    24
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
152
13
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nancy, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our stay at Hotel Silver was a luxurious, unexpected treat while on a roadtrip through Europe! We were 2 adults travelling by car with 2 medium-sized dogs. We were merely en route from Italy to France, and therefore DID NOT use Hotel Silver as a stopping point to tour Milan.
- PRICE: We paid 100 euro for 1 night in the junior suite, breakfast included, in late March 2012.
- LOCATION: For our situation, the location near the autostrada was great.
- PARKING: The hotel has an unusual & wonderful parking accommodation: you can literally park in a carport immediately in front of your hotel room, with the ability to lower a "shade" that encloses your vehicle like that of a garage. This made unloading/loading much more pleasant.
- ROOM: The junior suite was immaculate & spacious, much more so than a typical European hotel room. 2 separate entry doors were available in the room: 1 door leading outside to the parking space; another door leading to the interior of the hotel.
- BATHROOM: The toilet/bidet is separated from the bathing area by a door (but the bathing area is not in a separate room from the rest of the bedroom). We choose the junior suite with a soaking tub...absolutely amazing! *Regardless if you're travelling with family or friends and staying in a room with either shower or soaking tub, there is the option to pull a divider across the room to separate the bathing facility from the rest of the room. (Another reviewer mentioned this as a negative, which would certainly be awkward if there wasn't the option to separate them.)
- WIFI: The wifi signal was present, but quite weak in our room.
- BREAKFAST: Average

Fabulous stay at Hotel Milan...wish other hotels of this price/caliber offered the same amenities!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacchitaoConBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed for one night at Silver Hotel. We were persuaded fron the very good reviews that it would be an excellent hotel. But it wasn't.

Positives: big room, seemed clean, free parking

Negatives: -terrible location: it is in the middle of nowhere. It's only convenient if you want to be near the autostrada. Otherwise it is 30
minutes from milan by car
-No wifi signal in the room
-Average breakfast( poor for a 4 star hotel)
-Remote control was not working
-Air con couldn't not be set at more than 22 degrees so the room was cold. When you left after having it turned off, it turned on again.
-No blankets
-The hand soap was in a small bottle which was not easy to use
-Very high price for it's location
-The decoration was too much and not stylish at all. Orange curtains in the breakfast room? In Italy?
- could not meet the hotel manager.

Overall it is an average hotel, impressive on the first sight but ridicously expensive if you take into consideration the distance from the city center and the all the above details that seem so amateurish.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thomass89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We visited this hotel on our second night of our Europe road trip, we found the hotel easily just off the motorway. I mostly chose this hotel for it’s out of town location, free wifi and free secure parking. On arriving the staff were extremely helpful and polite, unfortunately as we arrived we had torrential rain which didn’t stop until the next morning so our plans to explore Milan that day were scuppered and as we were only staying one night we couldn’t take advantage of the shuttle service.

The room was massive and very nicely decorated and the bathroom and shower were also very impressive, the only complaint I had was there was only one plug in the whole room that I could find and the TV was plugged into that not good for using your laptop charging your phone etc.

We ate dinner at the hotel as there is nothing around the hotel but an industrial estate the food was tasty and basic this was also echoed at breakfast. This hotel was lovely as a one night stop over and is definitely suited more for business clients due to its location and type of hotel it is was surprised a large number of chalet type rooms with individual car spaces attached to the side and back of the hotel but again it is a motel as well as a hotel.

On the whole this is a fab hotel but be prepared to be quite out of the way of the centre of Milan

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sez35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

Upon arriving at this hotel I was in a bit of a bad mood to be honest because we had just forked out 40 euros to get from the train station out. We had considered using the underground system but with all our baggage the thought of carrying cases up and down and making line changes in 30 degree heat was not appealing. We did not expect this price for a taxi though. We knew it was far out from previous reviews on here but the taxi journey took 40 minutes and we even passed a sign saying we were leaving Milan! So I think it is more Milan vicinity rather than Milan city centre.

However, usually in this mood I am more likely to pick fault in everything but I found very little to pick fault in at this hotel. So, location aside, I would have probably given 5 stars (and I knew location was a bit 'far out' - just too far out when we actually got there. Plus there was little to do around the hotel itself so our post-dinner walk consisted of a walk round the hotel). And we often stay in hotels 'out the way' to get more for our money so I don't highlight this point through no prior experience of city hotels or with high expectations.

Based on our experience I can say that the rooms were HUGE! We had two single beds pushed together to make a double (I know this is standard practice in holiday resorts but have never experienced it in a hotel but this was not a problem), seating, a mini bar, a huge bathroom area (open plan overlooking the bed but with a separate room for the toilet and bidet) and there was still tons of floor space for cases, walking, etc. Not something you'd find if you were in the city centre proper. Plus the fittings and features were all of a really high standard. It felt very 'moroccan' with tiny mosaic tiles, etc. A thoroughly enjoyable room to stay in. Bed was a little firmer than I am used to but not uncomfortable (felt more like I was lying on top of it than sinking into it like I like but thats a matter of personal preference). The shower does have a glass surround overlooking the bedroom so is not private if you use it like that and have a co-traveller!! However, there is an external curtain that can be pulled around it just like any other shower. It is the biggest shower I have ever had the priviledge of using and I loved every minute (so much that I was nearly late for check out because I didn't want to get out!).

We were only staying one night and because of the location we didn't feel like travelling all the way into the city to hunt for a restaurant so we also dined in the hotel. Service was fab (just one girl on duty but very friendly, helpful and professional). The menu is limited (as expected) to a few dishes for each course and not really designed to give you a flavour or 'real' Italy I don't think. However, all food was very tasty and good value for money.

On our way back we had to get to the train station again and this time made use of the free 'shuttle bus' service the hotel puts on. The service is on demand so you aren't restricted by timetables or anything. When we used it, it was a people carrier mercedes that took us to the underground (so not really a bus) and driver was very obliging. From there it is simple enough (with just one line change) to the train station. I had also forgotten many underground stations in milan have elevators (unlike other cities) so having cases is less problematic than I had imagined. In retrospect, and if I hadn't been so tired from previous travelling (we had come from verona) we would have taken the underground to the hotel rather than pay 40 euro in a taxi. It might have been a hassle but perhaps not as bad as I imagined when I arrived in the train station exhausted and in 30 degree heat!

Overall, a beautiful hotel and excellent value for the £69 we paid for one night. great facilities and, while initially the location seems inconvenient, the shuttle bus service is very useful and would make daily journeys into the city much easier. I'd allow 45 minutes from hotel door to city centre though and it might not be good if you wish to do some sightseeing during the day and then travel back in at night for dinner as you'd end up spending 3-4 hours per day travelling back and forwards. Hotel restaurant would be good for up to three days though.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alisonannk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

The hotel is kinda like South Beach Miami style. Rooms are great apart from the bathroom, the showers area nightmare in term of design. Also internet cable are a disaster, they are just 30 cm long so it is impossible to use it on the room desk.
The location is not good, in the outskirts of milan, so it is not ok if you are a tourist. Breakfast are ok but all in all the hotel is too expensive for this location

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canned_heatit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

Very clean hotel with nice desk clerks. The hotel is 3k from the train station, then 1 euro to take the train a few stops into Central Milan. So if you don't mind traveling approx 15/20 minutes to get to the Milan Duomo, then this is the hotel for you. Our only complaint was we were in the room right above the reception area and they have a gate in front of the hotel, every time someone pulled up to the gate a beeping alarm went off. I believe we were in Room 34, so at all costs avoid this room if possible. We were tired after traveling all day and we could not get to sleep until after 11:00pm both nights then the beeping started again about 7:00am. I'm sure if we had a different room we would then have no complaints.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
8.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Milano
Ramada Plaza Milano
#58 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
4.5 mi away
Klima Hotel Milano Fiere
8.6 mi away
NU Hotel Milano
NU Hotel Milano
#28 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Grand Visconti Palace
Grand Visconti Palace
#35 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
4.6 mi away
Milan Suite Hotel
Milan Suite Hotel
#22 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milan North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver

Property: Hotel Silver
Address: Via Riccardo Lombardi, 9/11, 20153 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Milan
#37 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#63 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Silver 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silver is a new 4 stars Hotel set in a convenient location in Milano, 5 minutes by car from Europe's biggest trade exhibition centre, Fiera di Milano - Rho.Elegant and modern, Hotel Silver offers outstanding hospitality and high standards of comfort. Unwind in the stylish and relaxed atmosphere of a newly built establishment.All the rooms are designed in a modern and luxurious style and the refined decoration will remember you are inthe City of Fashion and the Italian Design.Thinking on our Guest comfort we offer high speed internet access in the room all day at no cost, a free internet point located in the lobby to check up your e-mails, news etc, complimentary private parking for your car, transportation to the nearest metro station and a delicious breakfast buffet included on the room rate.Come to Silver and Enjoy Your Stay with Us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Silver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing