We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you can't go wrong”
Review of Dongio'

Dongio'
Reserve with
Dongio' is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #333 of 8,239 Restaurants in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $41
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Milan
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“you can't go wrong”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We go to this restaurant since more than 10 years, and we were never disappointed.
The cooking style is from Calabria region, so tastes are quite strong, but so good.
Home made pasta dishes are amazing, but everything is really good.
The pricelist is really good quality and at incredibly low prices.
So, enjoy this little corner of south Italy in Milan!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    369
    107
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“South Italy - Calabria - cuisine in Milan”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

A small family run restaurant in the Porta Romana area of Milan, run by a calabrese family. The calabrian food is renown for being quite hot as the use of pepper is abundant. At the Don Giò however the spicyness is adapted to the milder tastes of the north, the chef will be pleased if asked to prepare the food as in Calabria, ie. much hotter. The food is very tasty and fresh and the specialities are the pasta dishes with a variety of typical mediterranean ingredients, cheeses (try the burrata, a creamed filled mozzarella!). Meats are tasty but there is a single fish dish. Even at lunchtime the place is packed so you really need to reserve your seat. I have eaten at the Don Giò when visiting Milan since the early 90' and the quality is still the same. I only had a probem once with a pasta dish that wasn't perfectly cooked, but it was changed immediately. A worthwhile experience, especially if you do not have a chance to visit Calabria.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexHodson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Taste of Calabria in Milano”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed in the Porta Romana area of Milan and looking for a restaurant close to my hotel. Tripadvisor led me to Dongio'. What a find! Tucked away down a side street off Corso Lodi, it's easy to miss but worth the search. The first time I tried for dinner, they were already full by 8:30. So it's a good idea to make a reservation, which I did for the following night. The seating is cozy and close giving a real trattoria feel. The restaurant is family run and serves a selection of Milanese and Calabrian specialties. The polpettini with arugula was hearty and tasty. For a primo, try the chitarre rosse, a long pasta with a simple red sauce (a nice change after all the cream and cheese based northern Italian pastas). The chicken bocconcini with capers and eggplant was out of this world. I finished things off with the pistacchio gelato with fig honey (not made on the premises, but really good). The staff is very friendly and this place gets packed, so make sure you reserve beforehand!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Professore2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Hidden pearl”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Dongio has an extremely busy schedule for some reasons.
The food is exceptional: from vary basic and simple ingredients the chef is able to create a very well-blended and harmonic taste. Everything at a very reasonable price.
Good for anything from dates to business dinners.
highly recommended

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LucaAdvis0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really good quality”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Really good quality/value - make reservation as frequently full. I ate here with a friend who knew it and the recommendation was definitely worth following

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank OlandeseBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dongio' also viewed

 
Milan, Lombardy
 

Been to Dongio'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing