We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous dinner”
Review of Il Solferino

Il Solferino
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 12/2
8:00 PM
Ranked #536 of 8,880 Restaurants in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $57 - $91
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Porta Nuova
Description: Solferino", well known reastaurant in Milan since 1909, placed in the famous and typical district "Brera", show its special clientele its new face; even keeping its historical features, "Solferino" shows today its perfectioned image, supported by the new furnishing and colors.
Reviewed September 8, 2016 via mobile

We found it harder to find truly excellent restaurants in Milan than elsewhere in Italy but Il Solferino was an exception. A very cosy space with lots of character, the staff are very friendly and the food is truly excellent (as is the wine list). Very, very good!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank alexdej
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianni d, Proprietario at Il Solferino, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016
Google Translation

Gentile alexdej
La ringrazio che la sua decisione sia caduta sul nostro ristorante e la sua scelta sia stat premiata da un servizio attento e da una cucina che l'abbia entusiasmata.
Tutto ciò' ci onora e ci gratifica molto.
Spero molto in un suo ritorno.
Gianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 186 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2016

This restaurant seemed to have a loyal local following and with good reason. The food was excellent and the service well paced. My husband ordered a wine that was no longer available and the waiter offered several other options. The one selected was very good. I ordered a seasonal salad which had a variety of fresh ingredients and pasta with pesto which was delicious. Portions were large and I did not even finish the pasta. For dessert, I ate my husband's fresh berries and whipped cream - very good! Our waiter spoke very little English but nearby waiters seemed to speak some more. I would highly recommend this restaurant. Be sure you have a reservation as it was very busy.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank TravelerSHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianni d, Proprietario at Il Solferino, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016
Google Translation

Gentile TravelerSHL

La ringrazio per il suo apprezzamento verso piatti scelti che sono una tradizione della cucina italiana. Amiamo consigliare e poter mettere a disposizione la nostra conoscenza in fatto di vini e di ingredienti per rendere ai nostri clienti una serata memorabile.
Come ha precisato lei abbiamo una clientela locale di passaggio ed una cliente affezionata, che nel tempo è rimasta fedele alla qualità' delle nostre materie prime e dei nostri piatti.
Spero possiate tornare a ritrovarci.
Gianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

Excellent main dishes! We tried sea bass in the salt and Angus fillet with spinach! Both of these were extremely tasty.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank agelitak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianni d, Proprietario at Il Solferino, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016
Google Translation

Gentile agelitak
La ringrazio molto e soprattutto per aver optato su piatti che sono l'eccellenza del nostro ristorante, e soprattutto su materie prime di primissima qualità' che spaziano dalla carne al pesce.
Apero vivamente i un vostro ritorno
Gianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2016 via mobile

Lovely traditional atmosphere with friendly and helpful service. Extensive wine list with very reasonably priced wines. The seafood ravioli was one of my favourite dishes I've ever eaten. Highly recommend this place!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Travellerannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianni d, Proprietario at Il Solferino, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2016
Google Translation

Gentile Travellerannel

la ringrazio per il suo apprezzamento verso la nostra l'insta di vini che curo personalmente, e per aver gustato i nostri ravioli che sono un "must" del nostro menu.
Spero di rivederla presto
Gianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

We asked our concierge a place to eat good pasta in August in Milan. The answer was Il Ssolferino. The food was good but quiet expensive for what it is, I mean cured meat, pasta dish and wine. However they have a huge selection of wine, some are amazing. Service is good and friendly

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Juresto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianni d, Proprietario at Il Solferino, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2016
Google Translation

Gentile Juresto,
La ringrazio molto per averci dedicato parte del suo tempo, e nel sottolineare un servizio all'altezza del nome che il ristorante porta, per quanto riguarda il suo disappunto sui prezzi, sono giustificati sicuramente dall'eccellenza delle materie prime sempre stagionali, e comunque i prezzi vengono sempre esposti all'esterno del ristorante, per rispetto della nostra clientela e per evitare spiacevoli disappunti come nel suo caso.
Spero comunque di rivederla presto
Gianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Solferino also viewed

 

Been to Il Solferino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.