We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”
Review of Althea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Althea
Ranked #29 of 282 Milan B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 30, 2012

While wife and I stayed only for a night in Althea, we have to say, it was probably one of the fastest hotel that we got comfortable in.

Located just off Via Archimedes (Via Ozieri is a private street, so plan your route first before heading down), Althea B&B is a 5-7min walk to nearby Metro Dateo so heading to the major tourist sites via Metro is easy.

Entrance to the B&B is relatively tight and has stairs, so it is advisable to stay with back packs. some lifting of wheeled luggages might be needed. Once inside, room is very clean and cosy, and attached toilet and shower is very clean as well with quality fittings. Bed is the cleanest and most comfortable I have slept in Italy, surpassing that of some business hotels. Found out later that this used to be owner Beatrice's son's room, which she converted to welcome travellers.

Most importantly, owner of the B&B, Beatrice is the key reason why we wished we stayed longer (we were only there for a day before our flight back home). Ever a kind lady who made sure your needs are attended to, Beatrice is very considerate and is a great conversationist, someone we would have loved to chat over a cup of tea with in her beautiful balcony/ garden. Not to mention her cute cat Sophia. :)

Beatrice, thank you for opening a part of your home for travellers like us. We hope to welcome you with the same kind hospitality if you should ever visit us!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Porccini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 90 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stay in Althea for 2 nights at the end of our Italy trip. It's absolutely a wonderful experience especially with warmly welcomed host, Beatrice. She made us feel as comfortable as home and I love all her kitchen wears!! The room is cozy and neat and the location is quite convenient. It's about 6mins walk from Milano Dateo train station and 10mins to the bus/tram station which can take you to the center city easily. We will be definitely back here if we come back to Milan next time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SzeYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed at Althea in February for a long weekend and it was home away from home. Our host, Beatrice, made us really welcome and helped us to plan any trips we wanted to do as it was our first visit to Milan. She provided maps and directions and also has guide books available in different languages. The B&B is located around a 5-10min walk from bus/tram stops taking you to the centre of the city in a further 10mins. Our room was perfect and located in a little self-contained apartment (with bathroom and sitting room) with our own separate front door. We were looking for something affordable and a bit more typically Italian than the larger chain hotels and this is what we got, so we would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for something similar.

Room Tip: There's only one double room and one twin room so book early if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaselEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

When we were looking for a B&B to stay in Trip Advisor suggested there was no avaliablility at the wonderful Althea. However contacting the host directly we found out that there was indeed a room available. The B&B is small and independently run, only having one room so this is why it sometimes shows up as unavailable. Don't let this put you off, contact Beatrice and she will go out of her way to accomodate you. The room and bathroom are private, super clean and spacious. The breakfast is lovely and we left Italy feeling very peacful and relaxed. Beatrice the host is an amazing lady who is very knowlegable about Milan and will help you get the most out of your stay. We would recommend this B&B to anyone wishing to stay in Milan.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nedesophia, Proprietario at Althea, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for the very kind review you took the time to write. We also take the opportunity to thank all our guests who wrote so kindly about our B&B. We especially thank you for mentioning the need of calling or emailing to check availability. We are a small and traditional B&B run by the owner and therefore your feed-back is so important for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed here our first night in Italy. Warm host who helped us get our bearings. Beautiful comfortable room. Wonderful deck where we enjoyed our breakfast. Easy bus ride from Linate. 10-15 bus ride to the Duomo (center city). If every place we stay in Italy is as nice as this, we'll be delighted.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank klenox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Althea B&B in June. The apartment was about a 15min bus trip from the Milan Central Station. Beatrice, our host gave us very clear instructions on how to reach the apartment from the station. Beatrice was not at home to greet us but arranged for us to collect our key from the local newsagent just around the corner. We were very delighted with the apartment. It was very roomy and well decorated and the bathroom was off a separate entrance next to the room. Beatrice greeted us when she arrived home and gave us a local map and lots of information about public transport and places to eat locally. The apartment was very handy to public transport and only took about a 10 min ride into the centre of Milan. We had breakfast upstairs in Beatrice's dining room which was lovely. It gave us time to have a chat and talk to Beatrice. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone wishing to stay in Milan. It is in a lovely quite part of the city but very accessible to all other parts of Milan.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JennyL56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

I stayed at Althea during my visit to Italy and had a wonderful stay. I had my own room and bathroom for a very good price and the breakfast was delicious. The city center is around 20 min walking.

But the best part of all was my wonderful host Beatrice. She is an amazing lady. She is very kind, friendly and warm. She made a delicious dinner for me the last night. I don't have enough words to express my gratitude to Beatrice.

Stay here, it will be a wise choice!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shehla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Hotel Vittoria
#210 of 428 in Milan
250 reviews
Mata Guesthouse Milano
#16 of 282 in Milan
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Enjoy Milano
Enjoy Milano
#71 of 282 in Milan
16 reviews
Oca Grassa
#37 of 282 in Milan
26 reviews
B&B Too Cute 2b Str8
#30 of 282 in Milan
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Althea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althea

Address: Via Ozieri, 20129 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 282 B&Bs / Inns in Milan
Price Range: $74 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Althea is a friendly and family run Bed and Breakfast located on the third floor of an early 1900's building in a quiet residential street just outside the city centre. A lift and a private entrance will lead you to a comfortable, light and air-conditioned room with a double bed (or two single beds) and a private bathroom with shower. TV and wireless Internet access are included, and the room is cleaned every day. We offer a full continental breakfast which is served on the terrace or in the lounge. We speak English, French and Swedish. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing