We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel with a parking” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City
Ranked #54 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with a parking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Room are a little bit small, but well organised. Room was very clean but sadly to notice heavy stains on the desk chair. Nice choice of products in the room (free tea/coffee/still water, kit to have a good sleep - never seen than before, and good equipment in the bathroom, even for woman hygeen!). Really friendly people at the reception, although breakfast is a little bit disapointing (e.g. no fresh fruit juice). Overall OK with a parking and straight access from the door to the subway. A little bit noisy if rooms are on the street. Nice design in room

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    517
    121
    26
    8
See reviews for
147
366
78
330
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights on a city break from Scotland. It's a little bit out of the city centre, but the Sondrio Metro station is literally outside the front door and it only takes 10 minutes to reach the Piazza del Duomo. We flew into Malpensa and took the Malpensa Shuttle to the Stazione Centrale which is a short walk from the hotel. There are some good restaurants in the surrounding streets, but you have to look for them!

We were on the 8th floor, but still had to sleep with the windows shut due to the traffic noise. The air conditioning seemed to be off for the winter, so the room did get a little warm. Room was fine though and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. We went to the bar for pre-dinner drinks every night and barman was very hospitable and courteous, providing us with lots of nibbles!

On the last morning of our stay the hot water packed in on our floor, but the staff were very responsive offering us the use of a room on one of the lower floors to have a shower. They also waived the charge for breakfast which was appreciated.

Would definitely recommend this hotel as a base for a short visit to Milan.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan1tp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I decided to stay at the Crowne Plaza Milan City because of it's vicinity the Milano Central Train Station. I was on an overnight business trip in the city so was looking for somewhere accessible from Milan Linate Airport and close to the train station.

There is a shuttle express bus (costing 5 Euros per person) from Milan Linate to the central station. From there is about a 5 minute walk to the hotel. The area around the train station isn't the best, I don't think I would have been comfortable arriving at night and walking to the hotel.

The hotel itself is very well presented, very modern and stylish. Rooms are average size but were perfect for an overnight stay and the value of money we got them for.

I needed to use the Metro system to get to see a client on the other side of the city. There is literally a Metro station directly underneath the hotel so as soon as you come out of the hotel entrance it is to your left.

One let down was the walls in the rooms were "paper thin". You could hear every single word and movement from the neighbouring rooms which meant I couldn't get much sleep. Furthermore there was a gentleman above my room who must have had a nightout, who decided to start having an arguement at 4am in the morning with his partner which I could also hear every word of.

However for the purpose of the hotel for an overnight stay, it was in a perfect location, affordable and the rooms were clean and modern. Recommended stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9gc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelColombo, Direttore at Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for choosing our hotel. We can confirm that our position is strategic because the subway is near the hotel and even on rainy days the path is completely covered with a bus stop to get to the train station with only four stops while you are just in the Dome Square.
As for the rooms we are sorry for the noise he heard as we are very keen to complete soundproofing of our rooms which have been certified by the relevant authorities and the hotel company. Thank you anyway for this report and we will investigate.
Looking forward to it again and be able to give our guests the maximum comfort greet you cordially.

L. Pellegrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions with the most recent during Nov 2012. The rooms are small but functional with clean and modern fixtures and fittings. The hotel is directly outside a Metro stop which allows access to the main commercial and tourist locations with the Central Station a short 10 - 15 minute walk away.

The staff were polite and helpful during the Check in & out process and I did not have any other issues where I needed their assistance at any point.

I didn't use any of the fitness facilities and cannot comment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crimlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irenepelle, Direttore at Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for choosing our hotel. On behalf of all the staff wanted to thank you thank you for your positive comments. We will be glad to have you as our guest again so you can also take advantage of our services and, in particular, of our health and fitness that is on the top floor of our hotel with a wonderful view of the city and its surrounding mountain ranges our metropolis.

regards

L.Pellegrini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in August/September to celebrate her birthday. The hotel is clean and modern and matches the photos on the website. The hotel is about 7-10 mins walk from the central main station. Some reviews have mentioned the neighbourhood, we thought it was fine, there are no grocery shops nearby. However, it is right next to the 'Sondrio' metro station, so it's an ideal base for tourists.
We stayed in a standard room and it was fine, comfy beds and good facilities, safe, fridge etc. However the hotel was a bit 'stingy' with the shower gel, only leaving one small tube for my wife and I to share per day!

Breakfast was fine,an average selection, not the best we've had, I'd say 7/10. There are 2 PC's in the lobby for free internet access. However I cannot understand, why hotels of this stature, do not give free wireless connections to all guests. There is a tiny gym, 1 bike, 1 treadmill, 1 cross trainer all 'Technogym' branded.

Overall, we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zetec16v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irenepelle, Direttore at Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear guest
thanks for your comment. We regret that in the room did not find the courtesy satisfactory. We would like particularly to our articles of excellent quality trying to give every comfort: in addition to shampoo and bubble bath, bathrobe in each room, slippers, shoehorn, tea and coffee making facilities, iron .. and a surprise for the kids. Looking forward to having yet our guests a cordial greeting to you and your kind wife also hoping to set off the next candles!
regards

L.Pellegrini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great choice of stay given that you the metro acess is right out side the hotel entrance, the central station is a 10 min walk away and things are pretty much in walking distance..corso Buenos Aires ( Lima Station) can be reached by foot in 30 minutes. In terms of food choices there a decent number of pizzerias in the neighbourhood plus a couple of shawerma places and a super market next to the central station ( easily reachable with a 5 minute walk). there are 2 local cafes and a bakery adjacent to the hotel which is perfect for a morning bite and Mcdonalds is also 10 min walk away from the hotel. Effectively we didnt eat at the hotel at all given that we managed to explore these options.

Hotel rooms are clean. Our junior suite was spacious and comfortable. The gym was quite small but just right for those who only want a quick morning run and some light wieghts. Sadly no pool or spa. but we werent really bummed by its absence. The absence of hotel wifi is a blessing a curse by itself. For those on holiday its probably a blessing since you are easily disconnected by default ( much needed on a holiday) but for business travellers the only option is to go to the lobby PC or pay for wifi ( 3 euros for an hour and 5 euros for 2 hours - cannot be used by concurrent users sadly)

Specialy mention on some of the great hotel staff Mathew, Veronica, Adrian,Gianni !

All in all a good and pleasant stay! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabeela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelColombo, Direttore at Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear guest

thanks for what you wrote and its positive notes. Maybe he has not had a chance to see it, but the top floor as well as a comfortable gym we also have a small spa with sauna, Turkish bath and emotional shower. From the window in a sunny day you can see the mountains and a wonderful view of Milan. With regard to the WI-FI we wanted to make for our guests enhanced performance in order to use the Internet safely, but especially at a speed far superior to traditional systems. The times that are acquired may be valet at any time by connecting even for 5 minutes and then reconnecting when you want.
We will be grateful it still our guest and to be able to suggest our other services such as our restaurant with specialties from the Milan Metropolitan or select dishes for vegetarians or celiac disease.

Best regards

L. Pellegrini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

After a long flight they allowed us to check in early which was great. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable although a bit small. Shower was good. Staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good. The only drawback is no wifi in entire hotel (unless you pay), and not much food choices in the neighborhood (but we wanted a hotel close to train station so not their fault). Right above metro so very convenient to get to the heart if Milan. Great choice for short stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cc1030239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
LaGare Hotel Milano Centrale - MGallery by Sofitel
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#79 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#39 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Four Points by Sheraton Milan Center
Grand Visconti Palace
#33 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Stazione Centrale
NH Milano Palazzo Moscova
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City
Address: Via Melchiorre Gioia 73, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Milan
#24 Family Hotel in Milan
#33 Business Hotel in Milan
#46 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#74 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Milan City is a newly built superior 4 star hotel located in the City business district of Milan and close to the Central Railway Station.Sondrio subway station (yellow line) is aside the hotel to reach the main city attractions like the Cathedral, La Scala Opera House, Sforza Castle.Easy access to the shopping areas of both the 'Fashion District' and Corso Buenos Aires and to the nightlife of Corso Como, full of fashion lounge bars and restaurants. The new Exhibition Centre in Rho/Pero, so as Fieramilano Convention Center are easily reachable by public transportation (red line subway).The Crowne Plaza Milan City boasts totally soundproofed rooms with a stylish design(81 standard rooms, 18 superior rooms, 7 junior suites and 3 family rooms) equipped with WI-FI internet connection, LCD flat screens with DTT Network and Pay-per-View movies system. The hotel also features a fitness center on the roof with view on Milan's skyline with wellness area and saunaCongress facilities up to 120 delegates (including an Executive Boardroom for up to 10 people) equipped with WI-FI and latest technological equipment.Restaurant with international and typical cuisine, and a cosy bar overlooking Hotel s Winter Garden . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing