We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and Convinient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City
Ranked #53 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is situated quite nicely with it's own stop below (Sondrio) and a walk away from Centrale. But the Sondrio station is being fixed so go to where me and my colleague needed to go (Milan Convention Center) - we had to walk to Centrale but coming back we can go down straight to Sondrio.

We had a junior suite and I must say that for a suite it was quite small - the sitting area was next to nothing. But the room was tastefully designed. Weird as well that for a Junior Suite breakfast in not included.....

Room Tip: I didn't see the regular rooms but the junior suite is not as big as you would think so I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJTEBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 482 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel has advantages and disadvantages and is therefore difficult to rate. Having now stayed at five Crowne Plaza hotels it should be said how they can all vary; this one is not one of the best.

Situated in a rather shabby suburb of Milan, this hotel’s main advantage is the very convenient transport location. Steps down to Sondrio (yellow line) Metro station are just outside the main entrance. On the way down there is a newspaper stall where you can purchase a day pass for all public transport for 4.5 euro/person, and within fifteen minutes you can be standing outside the Duomo (Cathedral), and Galleria Vittorio Emanuele. The Metro system felt safe and is easy to use with frequent trains every few minutes.

We were on motoring holiday and fortunately there is secure private car parking at the rear of the hotel. However with heavy suitcases to be unloaded from the car there was no ramp to the rear entrance which some travellers may find awkward as there are three or four steps to negotiate.

Reception staffs were helpful, polite and efficient. We stayed for two nights.

Our room was on the second floor which since my wife likes the occasional “puff”, is the smoking floor. Apparently this hotel has some rooms with balconies but there were none available on this occasion. Although we are Gold Priority Club Members with the Intercontinental Group we actually booked with Travel Republique as they offered the best deal, however I guess as our penance we were allocated a very small room. (For example the sleeping area was approximately 3.5m X 3,5m which take into account out the size of the double bed /dressing table and you are left with one very tiny room) The room was however very clean and modern with the quality of fixtures and fittings that you would expect from a Crown Plaza Hotel. Strangely the bathroom was larger than average, spotless and well equipped. The room also had the essential in room tea/coffee making facilities. However later on we were to discover that sound insulation from the room above was poor; I think the guests in the room above were practising dancing or something but the noise and vibration was very intrusive. The room was also at the front of the hotel and suffers from traffic noise especially if the window is open,

In Milan where after an apparent heat wave the weather had broken. We had driven through storms, torrential rain, flooded roads. etc on a Friday Afternoon rush hour through Milan and arrived early evening tired and hungry .We decided that due to the heavy rain not to venture outside and try hotel restaurant instead. This I am sorry to say was a big mistake, since the service was pathetically slow and the quality / value of the food was poor. Although there were only a few other diners seated we waited almost ten minutes to be offered drinks and almost an hour for a simple chicken salad with some chips. We retired to our room for coffee as we could not face waiting any longer. The evening restaurant is actually a section of the bar area with a few tables set for dinner while the main Restaurant on the first floor is only used for breakfast. Breakfast has a reasonable selection of food but avoid the scrambled eggs which we found to be cold and unsavoury.

To sum up, would we use this hotel again, possibly but we would insist on a top floor room and preferably one at the rear as less traffic noise than at the front. The location is most convenient for central Milan and ideal if on a short break or shopping trip. We would avoid the evening restaurant which Crowne Plaza you need to improve.

Room Tip: The quieter room are at the rear, a top floor room would have no noise from rooms above as sound ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ccr260243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Rooms are good sized and clean.

Comfortable beds and nice bathroom.

Good location albeit a slight walk into the centre. Failing which the public transport is very good in Milan.

Plenty of restaurants in the area if you wanted to at out.

Good breakfast on offer.

Room Tip: Become a loyalty card member
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertScott14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

-Service: Milan was our first stop during our Italy trip and Andrea at the Front Desk gave us a super warm welcome! He spoke both English and Spanish so that helped a lot. He went out of the way to assist us and had really great memory, always addressing my family and I by our last names.The bellman, the bartender and the rest of the staff were also very polite and friendly.

-Facility: Room was very nice and modern as were the lobby, restaurant and the hotel in general. They had 2 computers with free internet which were very helpful. The breakfast was GREAT! For 10 Euros per person, it offered prosciutto, fresh mozzarella cheese, pastries, cereal, etc, totally worth it! The breakfast room was very nice as well too.

-Location: We took the bus from the Malpensa Airport which left us at the Stazione Centrale. We then decided to walk from the bus stop and we felt safe even though it was late at night. The area was kinda quiet (especially for August since everyone's on vacation) but the hotel was very accessible to the Subway station which was right in front of the hotel and buses. It's a short ride away from the Duomo and other attractions.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sivi811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed on top floor in a great room with balcony. This is what a 4 star hotel is about & more.
great bed, lots of room, great view. The hotel is on top the subway & so easy to get to Duomo.
The staff is helpful and the breakfast more than adequate. One of the nicest business hotel I stayed at.

Room Tip: Good value & friendly, helpful staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We chose this hotel purely based on the location near Milan central station and the reputation of the crown plaza brand - and was not dissapointed by either. The rooms actually looked like the photos on the web site, sleek modern with that Milanese flair. Located a few hundred meters from the station with direct connections to mxp airport - this was a great option for a night. After a long 24 hour flight from Australia - this was just what we needed - a great room in a central location. The interconnecting rooms were perfect and the kids loved it. Being on top of a metro station made sightseeing a breeze. We managed to fit in some sightseeing before heading off to Venice. Great breakfast buffet - smiles all around - highly recommended. Staff were very friendly and knowledgable - the young lady that checked us in gave us a map and sightseeing and dining tips without even asking !!! Great. Well done Crown Plaza!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tattmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was just an overnight stay when we arrived in Milan, before moving on to our next destination. For that purpose it was perfectly fine, although I wouldn't have wanted to stay for longer. The hotel is conveniently situated, about 10 minutes walk from Milan Central Station. The neighbourhood wasn't the best, but the hotel was clean, modern and convenient. The bathroom was large, modern and clean, but there was an inexplicable damp smell, I have no idea where it was coming from as the bathroom was extremely clean. Breakfast was good, service was helpful and pleasant. All in all a good short stay hotel and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curlycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#74 of 430 in Milan
2,746 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#40 of 430 in Milan
1,371 reviews
Stazione Centrale
LaGare Hotel Milano Centrale - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City

Address: Via Melchiorre Gioia 73, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Milan
#33 Business Hotel in Milan
#47 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#74 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $130 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Milan City is a newly built superior 4 star hotel located in the City business district of Milan and close to the Central Railway Station.Sondrio subway station (yellow line) is aside the hotel to reach the main city attractions like the Cathedral, La Scala Opera House, Sforza Castle.Easy access to the shopping areas of both the 'Fashion District' and Corso Buenos Aires and to the nightlife of Corso Como, full of fashion lounge bars and restaurants. The new Exhibition Centre in Rho/Pero, so as Fieramilano Convention Center are easily reachable by public transportation (red line subway).The Crowne Plaza Milan City boasts totally soundproofed rooms with a stylish design(81 standard rooms, 18 superior rooms, 7 junior suites and 3 family rooms) equipped with WI-FI internet connection, LCD flat screens with DTT Network and Pay-per-View movies system. The hotel also features a fitness center on the roof with view on Milan's skyline with wellness area and saunaCongress facilities up to 120 delegates (including an Executive Boardroom for up to 10 people) equipped with WI-FI and latest technological equipment.Restaurant with international and typical cuisine, and a cosy bar overlooking Hotel s Winter Garden . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing