We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Unique and wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Arrivabene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palazzo Arrivabene
Ranked #8 of 71 Mantua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
264 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A Unique and wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This old mansion house is quite a sight to see, let alone stay at. It is a nicely-maintained small family-run house with frescos on the ceiling and everything you'd find in the earlier part of the 20th century. Although it is located off a small alley/street, it is located close to the center of Mantova, and the breakfast was home-cooked and truly wonderful! We will definitely stay here again next year when we return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
75
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Palazzo Arrivabene is a family run B&B in a city palazzo a short walk from the centre of Mantova. The rooms are spacious, filled with antiques and there are frescoes on the walls and ceiling. One can easily imagine how the well-to-do of Mantova lived in former times. We chose the place due to the excellent reports in Tripadvisor and our expectations were fully met - in fact, they were exceeded when it came to our interactions with the mother and son who owned and ran the place. The mother was elegant, charming and overall a delightful person as was her son Claudio. We stayed for 2 nights and, as a special treat, the mother made us (and the other 4 guests) tiramisu as part of the breakfast – this seemed a somewhat unusual choice but in the context totally appropriate. Claudio gave us a tour of the palazzo and pointed out various features of the frescoes including the damage suffered during the war. In summary, our stay at the Palazzo Arrivabene was one of the highlights of our four weeks in Italy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCandMrW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Wow this place is quite something. Behind the typically Italian looking facade is a small mansion house with frescos and domed ceilings. This large family home has beautiful large open spaces and you really do feel like aristocracy when arriving back each day from seeing the sites each day.

We were greeted by Claudio upon arrival and he was very friendly and helpful from the start to finish. The breakfasts each morning were tasty, homely and prepared each day by Claudios charming Mother.

We had one of the up stairs rooms which had a loft bed. Our travel partners had a massive room ( probably the master bedroom at one time)
It was a great experience staying at this place for four nights and we would recommend it to others. Note that it is a house centuries old so has quite a few stairs and is not heated throughout, although the rooms are very comfortable and warm. You don't stay here for the modern conveniences, you stay for an awesome experience.
The location is very central in Mantua, relatively easy to get in and out of when driving to other cities. Note that the house is in a congestion zone so a 5euro per 24 hr zone pass is required. Claudio can organise these for you.
It is an easy walk to a Laundromat (open until 10pm) and a CareForre convenience store.
Lacking:
Wifi was free but very slow, might have been a fault or just dial-up. We gave up and used 3G.
Hot water can be a bit intermittent and slow at certain times probably due to the size of the house.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmiesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vittorio Veneto, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The palazzo has been in the family for over fifty years and is every inch the grand palazzo; marble staircase, chandeliers, lofty elegant rooms with stunning frescoes and ornate fireplaces. The B&B rooms are special too. Expect spacious rooms, antique dressers, comfortable beds and stylish vintage bathrooms. Add to this its great location, tranquility, delicious breakfasts and natural kindness of your hosts and you begin to get the measure of this charming place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Definitely had the most character of all that we stayed during our 2 week trip (Mantova, Lake Iseo, Varenna). As previous reviews have stated, huge ceilings with frescoes (really cool), massive sitting room, formal dining room (more for show), our actual room had a balcony and a big bathroom. Small knick knacks, books, etc...felt like a home. Nice breakfast each morning, our host even saw that we enjoyed the local cheeses (picked some up before a bike ride/picnic) so she bought some for us the next day. The dealbreaker, though, was that I forgot my Kindle, sunglasses, and some other random cords in one of the bedside tables (easy to lose stuff in the huge room). Didn't realize until the end of our trip in Milan, upon our return to Australia, Claudio was more than happy to mail it back to us. So grateful for that!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMT11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

The rooms in this B&B are incredible. Twenty foot ceilings with frescoes painted on them, carved stone fireplaces, and beautiful furniture. The location is very close to the heart of Mantova, on a very quiet street. The hostess is exceptional, and we enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tlalpeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
como
Level Contributor
408 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Not because I am Italian , but I think that places like this are the epitome of our past splendour and traditional art of welcoming . In a palace that in most of other countries will be considered a
national monument , you will be somehow escorted into a travelling experience remarkably special . Starting from entry this spectacular building with the staircase letting you discovery step by step the alfresco paintings reigning on you . Each single part here is a sort of witness of past
fortunes still kept and maintened with a class on its own . There are three rooms all so special that I will find hard to recommend you one , this is a private home and everywhere you can see sign of the family life . There is a major living room , so unbelievably nice and charming that you must see to believe it with two big fireplaces adorning them . Ask Claudio , such a gentleman or his lovely mom , to get you a bottle of wine and sit there , sip the wine and breath
a feeling of timeless elegance that will make you fly .
Forget wifi , forget room service, you are 5 mins away from Piazza delle Erbe , just get out and enjoy a town of splendid beauty ,another Italian miracle
Breakfast made and served in their kitchen , with the pungent flavours of coffee and all delicacy served with love , and you will regret to leave a place that is magical, sophisticated and personal as you will never meet many others. A gem , a wonderful gem

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enricoallievi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mantua hotels
2.3 mi away
Residenza La Villa
Residenza La Villa
#1 of 27 in Mantua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Poli
Hotel Casa Poli
#2 of 27 in Mantua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Favorita
Hotel La Favorita
#3 of 27 in Mantua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Mantova
B&B Hotel Mantova
#1 of 3 in San Giorgio di Mantova
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Museo Palazzo Valenti Gonzaga
0.4 mi away
B&B La Cervetta
B&B La Cervetta
#6 of 71 in Mantua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Arrivabene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Arrivabene

Property: Palazzo Arrivabene
Address: Via Fratelli Bandiera 20, 46100, Mantua, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Mantua > Mantua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Mantua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beauty and peaceful quality of this house will make your holiday unforgettable. The house is located in the historical center of Mantova so that you can take a nice walk or a cultural and/or gastronomic visit in town. Coming back home it will always be a pleasure to find the same fascinating feeling of the ancient town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Arrivabene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Arrivabene Italy/Mantua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing