We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reasonable hotel but no more”
Review of Rechigi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rechigi Hotel
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Mantua
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We came across this hotel travelling in the region and it was the first with 4 italian stars we tumbled upon. We got a rate of 120 euro including breakfast. Went to see the room and it was good enough. Because of the location merely 50 mtrs from the centre-pedestrian zone it was good. As you can see it is a kind of modern-boutique style decoration but in some parts of the hotel (corridors, elevators) you can see it still is an older building. Bathroom is nice, good TV but bad reception. The beds are concrete! Silent room on the street side with double glazing, airconditioning was modern but not very powerful. Or I did not understand how it worked....
Parking in the garage is eu 20/day but on the streets it;s 1 eu per hour, between 0800 and 2000. You can buy the ticket for the next morning already in the evening so if you're only passing; leave it on the streets.
Breakfast was not worth mentioning: very basic continental breakfast. Free wifi though!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank domnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Rechigi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 155 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2008

Arranged for a 1-night stay in the Rechigi as a walk-up. Hotel lobby is misleading. Rooms are worn and have paper thin walls that let in street sounds and noise from other rooms and common areas -- and not just a little; noises are VERY audible. Breakfast is a preposterous 20E per couple for fare that is no better than what one would expect in a 2-star. Reception staff is pompous and cold. This 1-night indiscretion cost me 200E -- IN MID MARCH. Mantova is an interesting place (not on par with Ferrara, but OK nevertheless), and I may return, but I will NEVER get reeled in by the Rechigi again. I hope those reading this heed my advice. It really is a rip-off.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BagnoCaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2008

This is basically a very comfortable, good, clean three-star hotel. The breakfast buffet is nothing special, but the staff are all pleasant and helpful, although you aren't staying at the Mandarin Oriental, so don't expect anything extraordinary. I mean, c'mon, this is the heart of Lombardy, I was already surprised the staff smiled!

When I stayed there my room wasn't ready upon my arrival so I was shown to a room facing the internal courtyard, dreary and depressing, although that might have been the winter... The room I was finally located in was much nicer, on facing the semi-pedestrian street and recently renovated with a decent sized bathroom.

The main asset of the hotel is its location, right in the centre of Mantova, just a stone's throw away from the city centre, you can walk to everything.

I e-mailed them about their rates and they offered me a twin room at a much lower rate than is advertised via expedia or other travel sites which makes this hotel very worthwhile. Not a bad choice at all.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flownlots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We messed up with our dates on the Euro 2007 tour so we found ourselves leaving Tuscany on Saturday morning but with nowhere to stay on Saturday night. We should have been off to Venice but the hotel wasn't booked there 'til the Sunday
This left us with a free night, so instead of heading straight for Venice we opted to drive to the lovely little town of Mantova - or Mantua as the Italians call it.

To find a hotel I simply got the Sat Nav to take us to one that looked near enough to the town centre, and we soon found ourselves on the doorstep of the Rechigi Hotel. First impressions were that it looked expensive - but it is a 4 star hotel - and we were going to go find somewhere else, but tiredness won the day and we went in and got a room there. Surprisingly it wasn't that expensive for bed and breakfast - about £70 for the two of us.

The receptionist was lovely - very helpful as were the rest of the staff, one of the lady cleaners offered to carry our bags up to the room for us but being a chivalrous chap I declined her kind offer! The room was ok but needed a bit of a spruce up, it was clean and tidy though so we were pleased about that.

The position of the hotel is excellent for exploring the lovely old town, a few minutes one way and you'll be in the centre, and no more than five minutes the other way will bring you to the banks of the huge lake.

There's no car park here, so cars have to be left outside on meters which didn't bother us too much as it was a weekend, and Sunday is free, but in the week a long stay here would cost a bit in parking fees. It is a good area though, and if touring by motorcycle then they could be left outside ok I think. Each parking bay would take 2/3 bikes so cost could be kept down that way. The hotel is biker friendly - in fact they had an MV Augusta on show in the foyer as part of an art exhibition.

A nice hotel and we'd stay here again if ever we come back to the
area

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

Stayed here for a couple of nights in June. It's centrally located in Mantua, near the central plaza and Palazzo. Rooms were ok. Not very modern but always clean. The lobby is more updated. Breakfast was great every morning. Staff was helpful, but I was also with a large group. It's also 15 minute walk to the train station. No nightlife in Mantua. Of course places to eat till 11pm, but none of the bars in the plaza were willing to stay open.

If I came back to Mantua, I would be fine staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Samwise001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2005

The positives are that the rooms are reasonably big & reasonably clean & the location is reasonably central.

The entrance area is modern & sort of stylish but you are overwhelmed by the grimness of the reception staff who didn't say hello or even bother to make eye contact. They were very unwelcoming.

The hallway on our floor had dire carpet & dirty scuffed walls.

The room was depressing. It overlooked backyards & what appeared to be the entrance of an underground car park & it was clearly where staff came to have a cigarette.

The decor was non existent - grey tired & ugly. The fabric on the bed & curtains were cheap & 100% nylon. The airconditioning didn't work properly - hell in warm humid mantova. And it smelt of cigarettes, cheap disinfectant & it was airless.

Breakfast was horrible & expensive.

Infact the room was expensive - if we'd paid 100 or so euros we would have thought what do you expect but when you pay 180 you expect more.

And there was never anyone serving in the bar & they put chairs across the opening to the restaurant to stop you going in !!

You know the worse thing about it was that Mantova is a lovely town with great things to see & fabulous restaurants & very nice people & when we think of our time there our first thought is what a depressing hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank talkative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London, UK
11
Reviewed May 26, 2004

Not cheap but modern up to date rooms with friendly and helpful staff

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mantua hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Favorita
Hotel La Favorita
#3 of 27 in Mantua
855 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Poli
Hotel Casa Poli
#2 of 27 in Mantua
612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dei Gonzaga
Hotel Dei Gonzaga
#10 of 27 in Mantua
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Broletto
Hotel Broletto
#6 of 27 in Mantua
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa San Domenico
Casa San Domenico
#9 of 27 in Mantua
99 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albergo Bianchi Stazione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rechigi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rechigi Hotel

Address: Via Pietro Fortunato Calvi 30, 46100, Mantua, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Mantua > Mantua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Mantua
Price Range: $106 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rechigi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic center, the 3 stars Hotel Rechigi is very close to the Renaissance architectural wonders that make up the historic center of Mantua. With a modern design, where art is the master, the hotel has 45 comfortable and refined rooms, conference room, garden and garage, to make special your stay in Mantua, and meet the needs of every guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rechigi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rechigi Hotel Mantova
Rechigi Hotel Italy/Mantua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing