We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey and tasty”
Review of Osteria dell'Oca

Osteria dell'Oca
Ranked #8 of 433 Restaurants in Mantua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Homey and tasty”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a fine local restaurant that will give you a taste of the fine food of this region. We had rabbit and beef. Both were wonderful.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MPLCORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    688
    625
    146
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“authentic italian”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

very small family restaurant. very relaxed and typically italian. Pumpkin tortellini a speciality.
Good food & service; not a tourist haunt so even better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Ok but not great”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a local restaurant with a simple menu and not much to chose from. Well prepared but not in a special way. The local typical dishes are a little strange. I have been in Italy for 5 weeks and not one of my favorites. I would say not terrible but not memorable either. Skip it ....And they don't accept America Express.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rdeagazio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A charming restaurant in a delightful town”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Osteria dell'Oca is, as the name implies, a rather simple restaurant, but the food is wonderful - based on regional culinary traditions, and prepared with obvious care and attention. The service is very warm and friendly, without being intrusive. In short, we had a delightful, relaxing evening when we dined here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UsaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I guess I would rate this good it is very traditional but does provide an English menu if you ask. Full of Italians which is a good sign, enjoyed the risotto particularly. Everything homemade. Worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria dell'Oca also viewed

 
Mantua, Province of Mantua
Porto Mantovano, Mantua
 
Mantua, Province of Mantua
Mantua, Province of Mantua
 

Been to Osteria dell'Oca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing