We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation near Mantova”
Review of Residenza La Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residenza La Villa
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Mantua
Certificate of Excellence
Cannes, France
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation near Mantova”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our stay with Anna was wonderful, from start to finish. The previous reviews say it all - large room, comfortable bed, modern shower room, easy access to Mantova and free parking, great breakfasts, secure parking at the Villa. I particularly enjoyed Anna's sense of style, the villa has been renovated while retaining the original character, and Anna's great flair with interior design shows contemporary Italian style at its best.
Mantova is a Renaissance gem, easy to walk around, and we had some delicious restaurant meals, enjoying the local specialities.
We will definitely be staying with Anna again.

Room Tip: The villa is set well back from the road and the windows are double glazed, but if you are an extrem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    79
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
64
362
6
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

With all the fantastic reviews that La Villa has received, any more superlatives might seem superfluous. But it's true. An intimate B&B (only 7 rooms) a mere 5 minute's drive from Mantua. Our large, well equipped standard room exuded an inviting and sophisticated modern elegance. While rolls, cheese and several savoury dishes were on offer, the ample breakfast focused (as Italian accommodations tend to do) on bakery products, all the handiwork of the attentive and helpful hostess, Anna. If anything, my only complaint would be the potentially devasting effect on the more than adequate girth of this reviewer had we stayed longer than the two charming days we had at our disposal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoPugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Location – 3 km from Montova, but no problem with that since the arrival there is very quick and there is free parking around the city walls.
The room – We stayed in the Junior suite. Very big, high ceiling, nicely designed, quiet and with a nice green view. There are electricity spots right next to the bed which is nice.
Sleep quality – medium-low. For us the mattress and the pillows were too hard.
Building – renovated old building with character. No elevator.
Level of cleanliness – very good.
Shower and toilet – very good.
Hosting – the owner was very nice, also giving us a map of Mantua plus some tips.
Breakfast – good normal continental without a hot dish.
Arriving with a car – plenty of parking spots next to the building.
To summarize – we recommend the place. We gave it 4 points and not 5 due to the sleep quality that wasn’t good enough in our opinion.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaronb2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is one of the most exceptional places I stayed ever. 18 century villa, with incredible good design combining old architecture and modern comfort. Every detail is well done, objects of arts are bringing new dimension to this great place. We got huge beautifully designed room, huge bathroom, top level large bed. Breakfast was just great and we get explanation from landlady about various local specialities. There is good safe parking space inside, in villa garden. There is no restaurant for dinner, which is an advantage, because it forced us (after 750 km drive from Bari) to drive another 3 km to Mantova, which is must for visit. We were tired, but amazed by this small but great historical town. And it had plenty of good restaurants over there. Villa is not far from higway, and it is great place for investigative trips to Lombardy. We are planing to use it soon again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marin881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My partner and I stayed at La Villa for 2 nights. Like other recent visitors we were struck by the very modern interior which sat happily in the traditional building. We were very happy with our room which faced open fields. My only very small complaint is the bathroom lighting which could have been better. Anna is an excellent hostess and provided useful information on restaurants in Mantua and parking. We were amazed when she told us that most of the ample and delicious breakfast buffet had been made by her. I would certainly stay here again.
The local barn-like pizzeria, a short walk up the road, is fine for a local supper and good value too but don't expect rustic charm.

Room Tip: ask for a room which does not face the road which is quite busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revitalise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Set a few Km out of town, this establishment has a hugely contrasting exterior and interior. Externally, it is a large, 18th century (approx.) house in the Italian style. Internally, however, one could not wish for a more modern, spacious and spotless décor - complete with unobtrusive air conditioning.

Breakfast is home-made and delicious and the hosts charming and helpful.

Mantua town is about 5 minutes easy drive and parking readily available (free after 20:00)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent three nights here and were delighted by the place. At first it was surprising finding such modern design in such a traditional building. It has clearly been refurbished to an extremely high standard and the entrance hall, corridors and rooms are spotless and very different. Anna is a helpful hostess, coping admirably with our faltering Italian, and giving helpful advice on getting the best out of the city of Mantua. It seems Anna also prepares most of the food offered at breakfast herself. It is all excellent but much is far sweeter (cakes etc.) than we are used to eating first thing in the morning but she was able to produce some more savoury items for us. The coffee was excellent!

Our room was enormous - we didn't see any others so don't know if they all are - as was the bed. It was spotlessly clean and there was air-con, a massive TV and, somewhat strangely, an exercise bike! The room overlooked farmland and was delightfully quiet..

The hotel itself is somewhat out of town - close enough to cycle, we're told, but not walk - and there is not a reliable bus service. As car drivers we found parking it tricky to find cheap/free parking in Mantua, especially in the morning,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mantua hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Poli
Hotel Casa Poli
#2 of 27 in Mantua
592 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Favorita
Hotel La Favorita
#3 of 27 in Mantua
829 reviews
1.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Mantova
B&B Hotel Mantova
#1 of 3 in San Giorgio di Mantova
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Casa San Domenico
Casa San Domenico
#9 of 27 in Mantua
98 reviews
2.6 mi away
Albergo Bianchi Stazione
2.1 mi away
Hotel Dei Gonzaga
Hotel Dei Gonzaga
#10 of 27 in Mantua
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza La Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza La Villa

Property: Residenza La Villa
Address: Strada Ghisiolo 6, 46100, Mantua, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Mantua > Mantua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mantua
#4 Business Hotel in Mantua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza Villa, is an ancient dwelling at the end of 700, the recent restructuring has allowed the recovery of architectural elements. The elegant and functional rooms are further enhanced by the choice of modern furnishings and design, offering a full range of services designed to meet the most demanding guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residenza La Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza La Villa Italy/Mantua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing