We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
42
104
58
14
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
42
104
58
14
7
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 225 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2017

With the exception of one male reception staff member we found the staff unfriendly and completely lacking in any customer service skills. Having been in the travel industry for over 40 years I can only blame the management of this hotel.
On checking in we were "greeted" and I use the term loosely, by what I presume to be the Owner/Manager/Reception Manager, who was offhand, dismissive and never smiled once. The staff did make an effort but were obviously intimidated by the woman they were working with. At no time was there any attempt to speak English even though my partner, who is Italian, was translating for me. She allocated us what must have been the worst room in the hotel, Room 364. It was on the ground floor, next to the lift, with windows and shutters that hadn’t been cleaned in a very long time and opened directly onto a busy main street which was under major repair. Fortunately, the bed was clean and the bathroom usable, except for the toilet brush which was disgusting, so we thought for a couple of days we could manage to deal with it and started to unpack. We wanted to leave some small electrical goods in the room safe but found it locked so went to reception and through raised eyebrows were given a key to unlock it.
We left the hotel to see the city and hired some bikes. On returning to the hotel, out of courtesy, asked where we could leave them. My boyfriend was greeted with the same offhand manner by the female staff but was shown where to leave them. On returning to the room, we found it was extremely hot with no air and tried to operate the air conditioning, it didn’t work! There was no way we could open the windows due to traffic, road works and pedestrian noise. By this point I’d lost the plot. So, we went back to reception once more and were greeted by the same negative, unhelpful and quite frankly, sarcastic behaviour. We were told in Italian that either they switched off the heating in the hotel, just for us, so that we could use the air conditioning or basically we would just have to put up with it. I lost it. I told the lady that with the exception of the young man who showed us to our room and where to put the bikes, at no point had we received any kindness or civility from the hotel staff, that it was the worst reception desk I had ever encountered and quite frankly would have checked out if we hadn’t already paid in advance. I suggested under the circumstances she should change the room.
She started to reply in Italian and my boyfriend quite rightly said in English that this was a hotel in a major tourist city and she should speak in English as she could quite plainly understand exactly what was being said. She continued in English. She finally apologised and gave us another room two floors up overlooking the courtyard and not the road so that we could open the windows if we liked. It was far superior to the room we were originally given and we could move after we had had dinner and return the keys to reception whenever we liked. The hotel obviously wasn’t full and the room was spotless.
We only had one further encounter with reception when we checked out, different staff, and once again the same attitude. I don’t blame the staff I blame the management and have no understanding how they can continue to get business if every guest is treated the same.

Room tip: Don't accept room 364 nor the attitude of the reception staff.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiser1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

Booked here for proximity to train station. Can't be beaten for that unless you sleep in a carriage at the station. But if you are staying as a tourist not the liveliest part of town. The room was roomy enough. My back and I had a debate about the bed but a good sleep proved me right. The shower was good and spacious. Staff helpful. Good value for money.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank 758deanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnholiday, Web Manager at A Casa Dei Gonzaga, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2016

Dear 758deanp,
thank you for your review.

We are happy that you enjoyed your staying with us and we welcome your points of view regarding your experience, which will help us to improve our service.

Looking forward to have you as a host again,
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2016 via mobile

.....but a shame about the room.

Tricky to get into the car park, very narrow opening off a busy road.
The price.... €25 extra for parking and a small dog. Extortionate.
The towels....hope they decided to throw out the ones we had. They had holes in.

The only saving grace was the nice receptionist and the lovely porter.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnholiday, Web Manager at A Casa Dei Gonzaga, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2016

Dear Jane G,
thank you for your review.

We are sorry about your unhappiness, the Reception exits to meet your expectations and demands.
Regarding the prices, please note that everything is clearly stated in our web page and on the internet portals, while at the arrival the Staff explains how to park the car.
Your suggestions will be considered to improve our business.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2016

The hotel is located in a courtyard, you'll have to check in at the ABC hotel reception (in front of the train station), rooms, bathroom and common spaces are spacious, well furnished and cleaned. Location is good for parking and taking a train, and it's a short walk from city centre.
All in all it worths any cent you pay.
We didn't tried the breakfast service.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flavio1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnholiday, Web Manager at A Casa Dei Gonzaga, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2016

Dear Flavio1976,
thank you for your review and your compliments.

We are very happy about your wonderful staying, one of our main interest is the client's satisfaction. The Staff is available for information and questions at the Reception, while Mantova is a friendly city for walking around and making boat trips on the lakes, as we recommend the beautiful scenery you can see there.
Waiting for your coming back,
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2016

Rather run down room but clean,holes in towels .Friendly owner, nice courtyard .it would have been okay if 20 Euro a night cheaper .It's close to the railway station and it has a very good Pizzaria across the road .Would not want to walk further around this district.

Room tip: haggle on price as its not worth paying what they ask
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobt717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnholiday, Web Manager at A Casa Dei Gonzaga, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2016

Dear Bobt717,
thank you for your contribute.

We are sorry you could not properly enjoy your time with us,
the surronings are quiet and full of bars, restaurants, shops and a cozy little garden near a big congress center.
The structure is few minutes away from the historical center and other famous city monuments.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews