We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent apartment for a couple”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Piedmont

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
rsm350
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
“Excellent apartment for a couple”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The apartment is well situated, well equipped and very safe, the owner, Renato values safety this is evident in the apartment which makes one feel very safe. Within close proximity is the best mercato ever, the owners have everything you need for your holiday needs. A short walk down to the harbour you can take a boat anywhere around the lake, visit the local bar and restaurant, the barman is a rugby man so we were able to watch the opening game England - Fiji of the World Cup and other games. We also had our 2 cairn terriers with us, the tourism industry in Stresa is a well oiled machine, so having 2 dogs did not pose a problem. We can recommend the Chestnut Trail from Stresa to Belgirate, excellent walk with surprisingly very few people, Belgirate, nice village but restaurants are situated on the main road which is very noisy with many many many motor bikes out enjoying the nice weather. Renato's apartment is just out of Stresa and away from the hustle and bustle of Stresa.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirky52
Altrincham, Cheshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great apartment in good location and a brilliant host!”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stayed in this lovely apartment, late May for 1 week. Brilliant communications from the host, Renato, before & after booking (over 6 months ago). He picked us up from the station and dropped us to catch the 'Alibus' shuttle back to the airport. This apartment is well equipped. Wi Fi, fridge/ freezer, iron. etc. Renato explained how to use appliances etc. upon arrival.
Excellent shower.
Spiral staircase up to bedroom (may not suit everyone- but if only two staying, another bed in lounge, if desired.
The area is lovely and quiet, (although some train noise) Handy for nearby supermarket.
A good 20 min walk into town (and various ways of getting there/ back).
Stresa is an excellent base to see the lake and shoreline villages / towns.
Recommended trip is package via train to top of lake (Switzerland) and ferry(ies) home (or visa versa) Option to buy discounted (10 euro each) ferry ticket either day before or day after to enjoy other places on lake (good deal) Tickets from Travel agent (opposite Stresa ferry station)

Another trip is Zermatt Switzerland via Simplon pass. Mondays(?)

Enjoy this apartment, Stresa, and the lake!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EggQueen
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I have just spent at week in this lovely apartment. We wanted a peaceful location near Stresa and this is just what we got. The apartment itself is extremely well-equipped and the owner, Renato, explained everything thoroughly. He gave us restaurant recommendations in Stresa which were all excellent. It is an easy 15 minute walk to Stresa but you can also drive and we never had any difficulty finding parking. We were able to buy everything we needed for breakfast and lunch at the little supermarket nearby. I highly recommend the property to other travellers. We are staying tonight in a four-star hotel in Stresa but wish we were back in the apartment!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gazzaBrig...
brighton
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“very good value”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is a good apartment and Renato is very good, I texted him when we were nearly there and he was on time, the apartment has eveything you need for your stay including a garage,there is a little supermarket just round the corner, its a good 20 minute walk into Stresa but it is a pleasant walk, there is a winding staircase that goes up to the bedroom so i would not recommend it to any one who has any disabilities.Good wi-fi.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrie358
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Modern, well-appointed apartment in an amazing location”
Reviewed November 23, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The veranda of this apartment looks over beautiful lake Maggiore & its islands. It is truly a home away from home with every amenity provided. Well-apointed kitchen, new washing machine, two tvs, sateliite tv & DVD player. The upstairs bedroom is accessed by a spiral staircase & a great feature is the ceiling window with remote control - shutter can be retracted to watch the stars from bed! There is a great little supermarket about 3 minutes walk from here. Stresa central & the railway station are about 15 mins walk with stunning views.
Although attractions such as the cable car to Mt Mottarone & boat tours are closed during our stay in November, we have had a wonderful time using the buses & trains to tour the area. Can recommend the panoramic train from Domodossola to Lucarno in Switzerland. Renato, the owner collected us from the train on our arrival & is ever ready to help. Would love to come back again in Spring or Summer when all attractions are operating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern, clean & well appointed + location
Liked least: Bed a little hard for us but that's personal preference
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggiespr...
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic host and beautiful apartment in great location”
Reviewed October 21, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Renato collected us from the station and we arrived in the best equipped holiday rental either of us had ever experienced! The sofa bed had been made up for us and Renato's wife had made us some meringues as a welcome. The location was delightful and very quiet with a lovely terrace which sadly we couldn't use as it barely stopped raining - much to Renato's distress. When we left to go on to the poetry festival at Belgirate, Renato's wife kindly drove us there. What more could one ask?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Renato's concern for our welfare.
Liked least: The bad weather! Spiral staircase up to the bedroom - not suitable for some people.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotty
Milano, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent location, fantastic apartment, the best vacation EVER!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As a senior contributor I feel a huge responsibility when I leave my feedbacks but this time I can tell you in absolute confidence that this is the best rent apartment I have ever found. The location is fantastic - far enough to enjoy some peace/ close enough (walking distance) to all facilities - very well equipped, thoroughly furnished with exquisite taste and care from a renter who really means it. Someone so trustworthy you won't believe it. The view is spectacular and we enjoyed the roofed terraced incredibly even with friends. The upstair room is very cosy and comfy. The kitchen is very well equipped with even a huge double fridge and all the tools you can imagine (mw included!). Flatscreen tv and brand new washing machine get everything just perfect. The only problem we had (need of a wifi connection) was promptly solved by Renato (the owner) who in no time showed up with a portable connection so fast you won't believe and for free!
Stresa and its surroundings are a fantastic location, they have so much to offer, you'll never get tired or bored. And when you are, nothing can beat the fabulous garden and view you can enjoy from the apartment. If you are looking for the perfect location with the ideal renter, look no further: this is it.
One last thing: the access to the upper floor is through a winding stairs so it's not ideal if your children are very small or you travel with elderly people (who can always sleep downstairs anyway)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: General location, tidiness, taste in furbishing and the care the owner shows
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing