We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare"

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare"
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Auckland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The location of this hotel is great - only metres from the waterfront and ferries, right in the middle of the village. Parking nearby is a slight problem. But they helpfully assisted us with getting our luggage from the car. The room was spacious and clean, overlooking the lane below.

Room Tip: The new rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolbAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    22
    12
    12
See reviews for
16
39
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A good location in a nice village.Good service and a helpful ower.
The lady of the house need to cool down a bit. Its tourists she speaks with, not an employee.
She have to tink about her heart. Problem with the temp.balance in the shower.The breakfast was a disappointmant.Specificallyl the bread. The juice tasted a bit like a mix with water.Rooms OK, but not all. Better cleaning in the shower area wood help.I wood like to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny-from-Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed for one night on our way from Florence to Switzerland, and really enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly, the price very reasonable, the location great and the breakfast very nice. Stresa is a most beautiful little town. If we have the opportunity to visit Stresa again, we will certainly stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0han1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Booked an economy room for the weekend .
We arrived in the evening , no reception ( it's all done in the resturant)j.
The room was dark and dingy,very basic and sparse poor furniture in bedroom.
The cleaning was average and cleaner, cleaning floors at 8.30 on a Saturday morning did not help.The room had the smallest shower I have ever used (or tried to).
Breakfast is taken in the resturant and is very very basic.
I would describe this as a resturant with a few rooms.
I have stayed in Stresa many times, this is the worst hotel I've stayed in .
There are many other hotels which provide much better value for a few euros more.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndyRhinos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stresa hotels

israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

Nice staff. Cheap rates. We got a double toom for 60 euros including an okay breakfast. Hotel was centrally located. Remote control for TV did not work.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naomiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

Good location. There is no hotel reception and no indication that the restaurant counter is where to check in. The receptionist did not smile or make you feel welcome. The waiter showed us to our rooms but ran right ahead so we could barely keep up with our heavy bags. The room was small but clean. The shower cubicle was tiny, every time you turn around you accidentally knock off the shower tap. The breakfast was terrible. A shrivelled up apple and some cracker breads with butter and jam. The maid is up from the crack of dawn hoovering and clashing about so no chance of sleeping past 7am. The keys are kept in the restaurant and if you are back after the restaurant is closed the keys are left on the table in the lobby which is not locked or manned so security is doubtful. In summary, book somewhere else.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank broose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2007

Recently stayed for 4 nights in Stresa. Stresa is a great place, but I would not go back to this hotel. We didn't think the people at the front desk were particularly friendly, and they occasionally ignored us whilst speaking to their friends on the phone. Breakfast was the worst we had in Italy - stale bread (with jam/nutella) and seemingly, the previous night's dessert! (I know because i had the dessert the previous night). Rooms were basic and small. Toilet seat broken.

Good location, but that's about it. There seem to be plenty of other hotels in Stresa....try elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank monozygote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Albergo Sempione
Albergo Sempione
#32 of 36 in Stresa
3.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Luina
Hotel Luina
#24 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mon Toc
Mon Toc
#34 of 36 in Stresa
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Primavera Hotel
Primavera Hotel
#25 of 36 in Stresa
3.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#13 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Elena
Hotel Elena
#14 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare"

Property: Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare"
Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 14, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare" 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ristorante "Da Cesare" Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing