We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Elena
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
western australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The hotel is perfectly situated at the square. The family owners are very helpful. We had a very comfortable stay in this great hotel. It may only be two stars but leaves many 4 stars hotels behind. It is two stars as no fridge or air conditioning. The overhead fan and open windows were better than any air conditioner. We will return here again as the hotel was great and the town of stresa beautiful. We are fussy with hotels and generally stay 4 or 5 star, but this is worth every euro. Downstairs bar and meal was good.

Room Tip: Worth staying high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffd0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    101
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
40
116
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
351 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We twice stopped at the bar of this hotel for coffee. In fact it was only on the second visit that we noticed that it was also the reception for a hotel. Coffee and cakes excellent, as breakfast must be.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AnotherEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

A family run hotel that is close to everything in Stresa including being within walking distance of the station. We were given a generous size room with a small balcony and wonderful view and a spotlessly clean bathroom. Most importantly there was a lift to get our heavy cases to our room. The breakfast included fresh fruit and as much coffee as we wanted. We had a very comfortable stay and highly recommend the Hotel Elena.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueLiz46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

A charming hotel on Stresa's main piazza with a bar at the front and breakfast room at the back. Our room was on the fourth floor with views over town and towards the hills. Bathroom was lovely and everything was clean. Continental breakfast was fine. The owner is a business-like lady who's friendly but not the type who'd want to know your life story; the bar is run by her son and daughter. We've previously stayed at one of the grand lakeside hotels and Elena is more our type of place. No restaurant but plenty of reasonably priced restaurants nearby. We didn't find the location noisy at night but in high season some might, particularly if your room overlooks the square.

Room Tip: Some might find rooms overlooking the square a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The hotel is gloomy and old-fashioned. Room small. No designer interiors here! But - scrupulously clean! Lovely comfy bed with spotless white starched sheets. Extra big fluffy pillows. A thick mohair rug/throw provided for a bit of extra warmth as the sun went down. A tiny balcony with a little table and chair and, being at the back of the hotel and on the top floor, an amazing view. Water in the little fridge at a reasonable price, no rip-off here. A delicious breakfast included in the price. Fabulously convenient for everything. I cannot recommend it enough. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front overlook the square. A bit noisy until the bars and restaurants close. I wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vivienne_shannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Tiny family run hotel is in the heart of Stresa.Easy access by foot to all places in town. Clean rooms but no A/C. The beds were not the greatest.The family that owns it provided excellent service, and the continental breakfast was great! I

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josh928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This small family run hotel is right on the piazza and within walking distance of almost everything. The rooms are clean but very basic. The breakfast is good, the Illy coffee great and you can have a aperitivo on the front porch and people watch. There are many good restaurants nearby. If you are looking for a good value I recommend Hotel Elena.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RedinOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.4 mi away
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Milan Speranza Au Lac
#6 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.2 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#1 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#11 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel San Giacomo
Hotel San Giacomo
#20 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#8 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elena

Property: Hotel Elena
Address: Piazza Luigi Cadorna Generale 15, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Elena 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elena Hotel Stresa
Hotel Elena Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing