We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Elena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Elena
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

This small family run hotel is right on the piazza and within walking distance of almost everything. The rooms are clean but very basic. The breakfast is good, the Illy coffee great and you can have a aperitivo on the front porch and people watch. There are many good restaurants nearby. If you are looking for a good value I recommend Hotel Elena.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RedinOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    107
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
42
123
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
262 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located on the town piazza and about a 2 minutes walk from the ferry port. The rooms were basic but clean with flat screen TV and small shower only bathroom. Our room was at the rear of the hotel and had a balcony with nice views over the town. The rooms at the front have balconies overlooking the piazza.

Staff spoke English and were friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was cereal, bread, cold meats, cheese, yogurt and fruit. It was simple and very good.

There are lots of eating places close to the hotel.

We parked by the lake for free. The hotel does have parking but we did not use it.

Would recommend this good value place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank EKSAYERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Elena is a real gem for anyone looking to stay in Stresa. It's a 15 min walk from the station and a couple of minutes to the lake and ferry terminal. We had a large room with balcony overlooking the square which was quiet and good for relaxing after a day spent sightseeing. There are great lakeside walks, good restaurants (ask Laura for recommendations) and interesting small shops within easy reach of the hotel. Breakfast was good and the service excellent. The hotel is very clean and well run and the staff are very helpful. If you are looking for a comfortable and well priced hotel this one is definitely worth considering.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussiej0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay. Rooms very clean, the owner meticulous in ensuring everything goes well. She was wonderful. The position is excellent and ideally situated for restaurants and the Friday market. Very good value and we will stay there again should we return to Stresa.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in mid June. As all of the reviews point out, the location is great. Walking distance to the piers, evening stroll along the lake, shopping etc. A visit to the three Borromean islands is a must, especially Isola Bella. There are open air restaurants right outside of the hotel in the town square. as well as shopping and gelato stands. We were a little disappointed when we arrived, as I had requested a balcony room over the square and they had confirmed it. There was not a balcony room available, but they did apologize and offer to move us the second night (they had messed up the reservation), but we decided to stay in the room at the rear of the hotel as it was bigger and quieter. If you arrive by train, I would suggest taking a cab to the hotel, it's not the easiest place to find when you first arrive. It's a nice hotel on a beautiful lake, we only had one full day, and would have liked to have one more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stresa was our first stop during a 2 week European holiday and we loved this hotel! Great location with easy walking distance to the waterfront. We rented a room with 1 double bed and 2 twin beds for our family of 4 (2 adults, 2 teenagers). It wasn't a huge room but comfortably fit us. Our balcony looked right onto the square. We really enjoyed the breakfast they include and staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Fl
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Hotel Elena is right on the main square and walking distance to the marina, waterfront and quaint shops. The family-run hotel is well managed and has a wonderful breakfast. Having a/c, a lift and an outside terrace (facing the quiet back) made this a most enjoyable stay. Yes the room was small, the wifi intermittent but overall a great value for the money.

Room Tip: Front rooms over the Piazza are noisier than those in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank motowngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.4 mi away
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Milan Speranza Au Lac
#4 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#13 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#9 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#6 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elena

Property: Hotel Elena
Address: Piazza Luigi Cadorna Generale 15, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Elena 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elena Hotel Stresa
Hotel Elena Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing