We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Stay in Italy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Terre Haute, IN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Perfect Stay in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were here in this area 25 years ago on our honeymoon so we were so excited to go back to this area of Italy. We decided to stay on Isola Pescatori and booked 2 nights at the Hotel Belvedere. It is such a charming place, with wonderful views and a fantastic staff! We ate at the restaurant the first night and the food was amazing! If you are planning a trip to Northern Italy, you won't be disappointed with this island and the Hotel Belvedere! Magnifico!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank busybeepeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco G, Proprietario at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your review!
It is always a pleasure for us when people come back after some years!
We are pleased that your experience at Belvedere was positive and really hope to seeing you again.

Our best regards

Paco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    106
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
46
252
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We spent a night on the island of Pescatori at the end of our stay in Italy. We have previously visited the island but you really discover another island when the shops are shut and there are just a few people in this charming spot.

The staff were helful and very welcoming. Breakfast was good. We had a room overlooking the lake and it was fantastic looking out towards Isola Madre and Verbania. The stay was a highlight of our holiday. For a longer stay boats are frequent and work into the evening and there are a number of open restaurants on the island apart from the Belvedere's.

The rooms are relatively simple but very clean with a great bathroom. The decoration along a boating theme is charming and in keeping with the "fisherman's island". We stayed as a couple with a 10 year old boy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco G, Proprietario at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear David,
thank you for your review!
I am really happy to know that you liked your stay at Belvedere, and hope to welcome you in a future occasion!
Best regards

Paco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We spent the last 2 nights of our Italy vacation at Hotel Belvedere. Prior to our arrival I was regretting booking a hotel on an island and honestly, when I originally booked it I didn't realize it was on an island. When we arrived all my concerns diminished. This has got to be one of the most beautiful settings in all of Lake Maggiore. The view was spectacular, the staff was extremely helpful, the rooms were very clean and large (we even had a big deck area), and since we booked directly with the hotel we had free access to an evening boat that shuttled us from Stressa to the island. The island is only a 5 min boat ride from the main land. We had dinner in their restaurant the first night and the food was outstanding and the view incredible. What a setting. The morning free breakfast was also one of the best we had in our 21 days in Italy. It does get extremely quite at night and really has zero night life, but you can find that in Stressa just a short boat ride away. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kjdrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco G, Proprietario at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your comments about your stay at Belvedere!
We are happy that you enjoyed every aspects of it, especially the quiet of the island, that, in our opinion, is the real treasure of this location!

Hoping to welcome you again in the future, kindest regards

Paco G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Belvedere for three short nights. We had a wonderful stay in this hotel. Our room had a view of Isola Madre and the lake. There was also a small balcony. The entire hotel and restaurant staff were incredibly attentive and friendly. The room itself was clean, the bed comfortable and thank goodness for the air conditioner! Breakfast was always great and even included eggs cooked to order. The restaurant served great food and also offers great views of the lake.

Isola Dei Pescatori is a great haven from the tourist hustle-bustle. While it was somewhat busy around lunchtime (because there are great restaurants), the nights are quiet and romantic. We were in Italy for only 8 days but our stay here was my favorites.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VQL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco G, Proprietario at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your review!
I really hope to meet you again on the island!

Kindest regards

Paco G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poperinge, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

we enjoyed our stay on the isola pescatory because of the beatiful sight and the quiet place after the tourists were gone at 6 pm.. the hotel and the restaurant were very good especially with the good temperatures we had and the dining outside looking over the lake and the isola Madre. the only inconveniece for a longer stay is the fact you are on a small island and have to take the boat for every excursion.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco G, Proprietario at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Jean,

thank you very much for your review about your stay at Belvedere.
I am pleased that you loved both the service and the kitchen and hope to host you again on the island.

Kindest regards

Paco G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We really loved Hotel Belvedere. We had a room with a balcony and wonderful view of the Lake and Isola Madre. It was so fun to be on an island and catch the boat out each day. Paco and his staff were wonderful and attentive to our every need. They arranged boat travel when we were arriving late at night. The restaurant in the hotel was also excellent and breakfast each day was enjoyable. The only downside was that the rooms are a little small with not too much storage space and the internet connection was not always reliable. But I would highly recommend Hotel Belvedere. The service can't be topped!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarttheDart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco G, Proprietario at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your nice review!
i appreciate your comments about the service and the kitchen; we are having some problems over the last weeks with the internet connection, and we have already contacted the assistance to solve the situation.

Thank you and kindest regards, hoping to welcomiing you again.

Paco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We booked a twin room for three nights. The room was simple but clean and included all of the necessities for a comfortable stay. Most amazing was the huge terrace with sofa and lake view. We booked the room with a side view of the lake, but it was a great view. The hotel staff were wonderful. We ate breakfast daily and dinner there twice. As a vegetarian, I especially appreciated the trouble they went to to make sure my meals were pleasing. I loved the whole wheat pasta with porcini mushrooms. Try the 2010 nebbiolo wine--very good. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and appreciate the hospitality. If you go to Isola Pescatori, be sure to stop and see the shop Concreto. The owner and artisan, Wanda, makes gorgeous raku pottery. It's not inexpensive, but I couldn't resist buying several pieces for myself and as gifts. We loved the lake and area around it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlottesvilleVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco G, Proprietario at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Charlotte,

thank you indeed for your review about Belvedere Hotel.

I am happy that you appreciated the rooms and also the kitchen!
We always try to satisfy our guest needs, especially if they ask us for something "special".

Hoping to seeing you again on the island, kindest regards

Paco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
1.3 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
1.5 mi away
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Milan Speranza Au Lac
#4 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#9 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#13 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.4 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Property: Hotel Belvedere
Address: Via di Mezzo | Isola Pescatori, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
#2 Family Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Belvedere, located on the quite Isola dei Pescatori, is the right place to forget about stress and relax on the sound of the lake's waves. It is located in and historical building, recently renewed. Six of the 8 double rooms have the see on the lake; all of them have the private bathroom with shower or bath tub, heating, air conditioning, telephone, satellite TV, WIFI connection free of charge. Our restaurant has a wide dining room on the lake and is open every day, for lunch and dinner. The island is connected to the mainland by the public boats, leaving from Stresa and Baveno every 30 minutes, from 8 a.M. To 7 p.M. We can organize a transfer by motorboat after 7 p.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Stresa
Hotel Belvedere Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing