We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“exceeded our expectations! you will love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“exceeded our expectations! you will love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

every year i travel with 2 sisters to some beautiful place in europe where we can take long walks, eat great food and catch up--- this year a fourth met us and we ended up at the belvedere on isola pescatori for two nights. we can be very hard to please as we have traveled a lot and have high expectations. all the emails that passed between us and the hotel were professionally handled in a timely fashion. changes we made were handled without issue. when we arrived we were a little disturbed by the not too impressive entrance and were told by the desk that there was a wedding party that night. oh lord, we thought, a nightmare-- paco assured us we would not find it disturbing, and you know, he was right. in our experience it is not simply the look of the property that makes the trip, but something more visceral. we were made to feel at home, truly welcomed, from the first moment. this is not a corporate or absent owner hotel. the people that really care about the business are there all the time. when one member of our party left to go back to paris, we changed rooms, and a simple bottle of hand lotion we left behind in the first room appeared in the new room-- the waiters were extremely friendly, fun, and the food very good-- and our room with an enormous terrace afforded a lovely place to people watch during the busy day and enjoy the quiet lake ambiance at night--- great breakfast, too. when we left we needed a hotel in milan for our last 2 days and the desk staff spent half an hour on the computer and phone finding us one. for such a touristy location, we were expecting far less of a warm welcome-- honestly, i cant say enough good about this place-- in our years of traveling together, we all agreed that this was a top experience- at any price---- they will go out of their way to make you happy.

Room Tip: the room with the HUGE terrace is the same price as the one with balcony and is hard to believe-- o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riotejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco G, Proprietario at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Client (and friends!)

thank you very much for you nice review and comments about my hotel and my staff!

I am really pleased in reading that you appreciated the atmosphere of the Belvedere: we want our clients to feel at home, we try our best to make them happy and relaxed.

The opinion of an expert traveller, as you and your friend are, is very important for us!

Hoping to see you again in our peaceful island, kindest regards

Paco Garofoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    100
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
42
245
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We arrived at Hotel Belvedere on Isola Pescatori on our first day of a 17 day Italy tour. We had a warm welcome for the staff. The rooms both had a balcony overlooking Lake Maggiore. And after the last tourist boats left we had a peaceful beautiful Island to explore. We had a delicious dinner at the restaurant at the hotel. The waiter was fun and accommodating. The owner made us scrambled eggs for breakfast along with the usual rolls and juice and coffee. I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough. I only wish that we had more than one night here. A perfect start to a great trip.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the 2nd floor, if you can't do stairs perhaps this wouldn't be for you. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco G, Proprietario at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear client,
thank you very much for your review about out hotel. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Belvedere and appreciated the effort that I and my staff always do to make our guest feel welcome and "at home".
We really hope to welcoming you again on the island!
Paco G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Fabulous location, views and relaxed atmosphere.

Enjoy the peace with the waves gently lapping at the waters edge and relive the days before the pace of our lives was dictated by mobile phones and email.

Paco and all his staff work very hard to make sure your stay at the Belvedere is delightful.
If you are out exploring, a boat is available to collect you if you miss the last ferry at 6.30pm.
The fact you need to travel to and from the island by the lake boats makes the hotel feel all the more special and it is, without doubt, the best hotel we have stayed at during our various trips to Italy over the last few years.

We look forward to returning for more Prosecco and Limoncello evenings on the terrace.

P.S - the wifi and the phone signal is great if you can't be persuaded to wind down..

The room was exceptionally clean and well presented. We had the luxury of a terrace which overlooked the lake and we enjoyed sitting out and looking across at the lights on the mainland in the evening with the occasional quack from the ducks as the only sound. Perfect...

Room Tip: Go for a lake view room - you won't regret it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pandoraOct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco G, Proprietario at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear client,
thank you for your nice comments about the Belvedere. We are happy that you liked your stay, the relaxed and peaceful atmosphere of the island and of our small and quiet hotel.
We really hope to see you again on the island, to enjoy a glass of limoncello on the terrace together! Thanks and kindest regards

Paco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Usually, a hotel's pictures will look a whole lot better than the actual rooms. This is one of the rare experiences where the rooms (or, at least, the one where we stayed) are actually much better. It looked like they did a substantial renevation since the pictures were taken -- we had a "double room with lake view and balcony" (room 303, I think), and it was gorgeous. New, modern bed (not the paired twin beds with iron headboard in the pictures); new, modern fixtures; huge amounts of space.

The biggest disappointment may well have been the shower ... and that's only because it was so new that the best functions weren't working yet. As is, it was a rain-shower head, and lovely. But it was also apparently equipped with side jets and "aromatherapy scents" that weren't working when we were there. Still, I expected a "7," and got a "10" ... and I only call the shower a "disappointment" because had it all been working, it would have been an "11."

We stayed here the night before an early flight out of Malpensa, and could not have been happier with the decision.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco G, Proprietario at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Justin,
thank you very much for your review!

The room you stayed in, 303, is our junior suite, this is why it is different in size and furniture to the other rooms. On our web site you can find some pictures of this room too!

We are sorry for the discomfort of the shower: we have had a strong storm on the island, almost one month ago, and in that occasion the electronic components of the shower got broken. We are still waiting for the technician to change this part, this is the reason why at the time being this shower is functioning as a normal shower. We really hope to fix the problem as soon as possible, since this shower is one of the elements who make room 303 special.

Hoping to welcome you again on the island, thank you and best regards

Paco G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Belvere Hotel & Restaurant is well located in the centre of Isola dei Pescatori. Suggest anyone going to the island to use the main ferry service from Baveno. Parking is free if you park in white lined parking areas. The room we had overlooked the lake in the direction of Verbania and a small balcony overlooking the restaurant courtyard and Baveno in the distance. Nice views. As our visit was in slightly cooler weather we did not use the balcony and would caution that it might be noisy in the mid summer nights when the doors might be left open. The room was to a good standard, but no stand-up shower. This was inconvenient, and there was no bath curtain or surround to keep the bathroom from getting a good spraying. The tub did have hydro jets so if one prefers bathing to shower, it's perfect. The restaurant is in two sections, inside and in the courtyard when weather is good. The inside area is nice and the full glass panels really permit the beauty of Lake Maggiore to be appreciated. We had breakfast only in the hotel which was buffet style. The dinner menu was dominated by fish dishes, which was fine, but not much variety if something else was desired. The staff at the Belvedere were very good and attentive, no faults here! Pity there was no lounge area for guests to enjoy with such views...so it's either in the room or restaurant, if you want to enjoy a prosecco or crodino before a meal, or simply to relax.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor, and not facing courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daddymeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco G, Proprietario at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Client,
thank you very much for your review on our hotel.
I am happy that you appreciated the service and the athmosphere and I thank you for your comments about the aspects that we can improve to make our hotel better equipped; in particular, we will try to modify the bathrooms with bathtub so that the guest that don't like to have a bath can have a proper shower.

Hoping to welcome you again in our hotel, thank you again and best regards

Paco G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop's Waltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 wonderful nights at this hotel in September. From start to finish we were made to feel special and welcome. Great food, truly stunning location and lovely people made this one of our favourite places to stay. The rooms are a bit basic, but more than comfortable and the area has to be seen to be believed, particularly Isola Bella. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NUM8ER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco G, Proprietario at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Client,
we thank you for your nice review and look forward to welcoming you again!

Best Regards

Paco C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venice, italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The quality of the hotel is just stunning. The rooms are comfortable, with a wide bathroom and extremely clean. I had 104 with view on the street (i.e., no view!) The staff is very kind and helpful, go to the point and provide information and practical solutions on any issue. You can travel to Isola dei Pescatori using the public transport (in the summer, one boat every 30 minutes from Stresa or Intra). If you travel before 8 AM or after 19 PM you must arrange with staff for a private boat (free of charge if you eat at the restaurant). I had to be at a formal dinner at Stresa till 11PM and the manager arranged a free boat to bring me back to the hotel. I hugely appreciated. There is free wifi (a bit slow), breakfast is very good and served in a small garden on the lake.

The restaurant deserves a comment: I had a truly amazing dinner. As an aperitif, complimentary glass of prosecco and crostino with bresaola and robiola (soft cheese). Then I got "Carpione al rafano" (gorgeous) and "dorso di sandra agli agrumi" (gorgeous again). The latter is the thick back (not the more usual fillet) of a predator fish. It's more tasty and structured than other smooth and typical lake fishes. The service was extremely caring and professional, view on the lake, two nice glasses of wines. really difficult to get more... i suggest to try the hotel or the restaurant with no hesitation: it's worth a sojourn on the island!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trippao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco G, Proprietario at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your positive review, we hope to welcome you soon at our beautiful venue.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stresa
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
1.3 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,092 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#8 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 861 reviews
1.4 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#7 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
1.5 mi away
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Milan Speranza Au Lac
#6 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Property: Hotel Belvedere
Address: Via di Mezzo | Isola Pescatori, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stresa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Belvedere, located on the quite Isola dei Pescatori, is the right place to forget about stress and relax on the sound of the lake's waves. It is located in and historical building, recently renewed. Six of the 8 double rooms have the see on the lake; all of them have the private bathroom with shower or bath tub, heating, air conditioning, telephone, satellite TV, WIFI connection free of charge. Our restaurant has a wide dining room on the lake and is open every day, for lunch and dinner. The island is connected to the mainland by the public boats, leaving from Stresa and Baveno every 30 minutes, from 8 a.M. To 7 p.M. We can organize a transfer by motorboat after 7 p.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Stresa
Hotel Belvedere Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing