We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here”
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This was the start of a wonderful stay in Italy and France. Service was absolutely delightful. Lara was very helpful- even rang us back in Australia to confirm arrival details.
View from room 202 was just breathtaking. Although a little on the small side, it had 3 balconies, all overlooking the lake. A beautiful place.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bunniestwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 399 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2011

We spent 3 fantastic nights at this hotel in July 2011. The hotel may not have the luxuries of a larger hotel but that adds to its charm. Its location is absolutely stunning on Isola Pescatori on Lago Maggiore.

We were travelling around Europe for a few weeks by car and parked our car in a quiet back street in Baveno for a few days with no problems.

There are frequent ferries from Stresa and Baveno to the island until 7 pm. This brings lots of tourists to the island during the day, but after the ferries have stopped the island is quiet. We had a few lovely walks around the island after dinner and did not meet a single person!

Our room was a double with a lake view. It was big and bright with fantastic views over the lakes. Watching the sunrise over the mountains was truely amazing. Breakfast is a buffet with eggs and bacon on request. Dinner was very nice but a little pricey. We dined in for 2 evenings and the hotel staff kindly arranged a boat to Stresa for the other evening where we had a lovely meal.

I would highly recommend this hotel for couples and families looking for a relaxing break in a beautiful location.

The only slight issue was opening the windows in the evening allowed all kinds of bugs in from the lake! My own fault entirely but worth mentioning. Keep the windows closed after dark!!!!

Room Tip: Definately worth paying extra for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We spent some time here in May this year on a trip round Italy. The rooms are bright and clean and ours came with a lovely view over the lake, with a nice balcony on which to sit and enjoy a drink. My mother wasn't so lucky with the view and had a a brick wall, but the room did have a spa bath which in a small way made up for the lack of view.

The restaurant at the hotel serves excellent food, although in the evenings it's a little quiet and there were only about 6 people there in total. Don't forget to book your evening meal in advance as you may otherwise find yourself going hungry, because pretty much everything shuts once the tourist boats leave.

During the day, Isola Pescatori is a very busy little island, with thousands of tourists and lots of stalls selling tacky souvenirs, but in the evening it transforms into a little Island paradise and we were very pleased to have the run of the Island and only saw 3 or 4 other people all evening. With the warm, sunny weather that we were lucky to get, it was almost like being on a tropical island with the waves lapping at the shore.

I know I've talked more about the island than the hotel, but the location is what makes this hotel be something more than average. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank lovegroove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Perfect small hotel in an idyllic location. It may not have all the luxuries of the larger and more formal establishments in nearby Stresa but this gem of a hotel fulfulls every wish if you want to actually stay ON the maginificent Lago Maggiore. There is something delicious about returning home to the island after a day's sightseeing just as the many day-trippers are departing. Paco, Lara and staff are only too happy to help with any request or query (such as coordinating after-hours transers from evening outings to nearby villages). The modest yet ample rooms are spotless, the views spectacular, swimming in the lake refreshing and the food wonderful. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank never2tired2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We needed a stop-over on a Friday, since the vacation house we booked was only available from Saturday on. We parked our car in Stresa (Hotel Regina Palace) for an affordable EUR 12,00. When we arrived on the island at 16.30 the island was still crowded, but from 19.00 on it felt like our own island. What a rest and peaceful place. The sights on the lake and the surrounding Islands are amazing as well as the small villages you look upon from the restaurant across the lake. The room was perfect, even AC and plain simple whirlpool, but still. We just loved it and found it very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank groothov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We booked the hotel on the strength of the reviews here and were not dissapointed.

Isola Pescatori is a tiny charming little island. Full of day trippers during the day but quiet as a mouse after 7pm. A sunset stroll round the island (takes about 15 mins!) is a must.

The Belvedere may not be the cheapest hotel but it is worth every penny in terms of location and the view. Waking up and looking at the sun rise over the lake is sublime. The staff were efficient, helpful and friendly. The room modern, clean and well appointed.

Breakfast was buffet style with freshly cooked eggs on request. Coffee was excellent altho the bread and pastries were a bit shop bought. The view from the breakfast room was great tho.

We did not eat in the restaurant in the evening but there is not a lot of choice on the island after the day trippers have gone home.

All in all it was a very atmospheric stay. I would recommend one or two nights. Its also a great spot to ferry hop and visit Isola Bella and Isola Madre, both worth half a day to wander through the magnificent gardens.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mad4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We spent two nights here, in room 101 with the large balcony terrace overlooking the lake, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was decent sized, smart & clean, and offered everything we needed, We loved the island location, the arrival by passenger ferry, no cars, the contrast between the quiet evenings and the daytime bustle, the atmospheric little passageways threading through the buildings. Staff were welcoming, friendly and efficient. We dined both nights in their restaurant (having enjoyed the first night so much), and found the food generally very good. I particularly recommend the gnocchi with asparagus & saffron. The open-air dining terraces by the water (one for dinner, another for breakfast) are delightful. Breakfast offered good choice, including a hot option if wanted. The room was fairly pricy, we thought, but it was high season; the dinners not cheap, but nevertheless we felt good value for the quality & experience provided. We wouldn't spend a week here, but for a couple of nights it is absolutely delightful. The frequent ferry service means accessing both the mainland (Stresa, Baveno etc) and the gardens on Isola Bella & Isola Madre from here is very easy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
1.3 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#4 of 35 in Stresa
1,379 reviews
1.4 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#6 of 35 in Stresa
1,429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#11 of 35 in Stresa
1,080 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: Via di Mezzo | Isola Pescatori, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stresa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range: $114 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Belvedere, located on the quite Isola dei Pescatori, is the right place to forget about stress and relax on the sound of the lake's waves. It is located in and historical building, recently renewed. 19 double rooms; all of them have the private bathroom with shower or bath tub, heating, air conditioning, telephone, satellite TV, WIFI connection free of charge. Our restaurant has a wide dining room on the lake and is open every day, for lunch and dinner. The island is connected to the mainland by the public boats, leaving from Stresa and Baveno every 30 minutes, from 8 a.M. To 7 p.M. We can organize a transfer by motorboat after 7 p.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Stresa
Hotel Belvedere Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing