We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The View is Everything”
Review of Il Viaggiatore B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Viaggiatore B&B
Ranked #14 of 27 Stresa B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I had a great time staying in the second-floor apartment (that's the third floor in the US) with our kids. The location is great, right by the lakeside--you can't get any closer unless you're able to sleep in the lake itself--and the view is fantastic, with the lake stretching out before you and the Alps in the distance in several directions. The apartment was spacious and quiet, with bunk beds for the kids and a nice master bedroom for us. The living room gives a comfortable place to lounge around if it rains, and the dining table sits right by a big window. The building is old, of course, and the apartment isn't totally updated, but it's cozy and an excellent value. Our experience with the owner, Rossana, was mostly quite positive, though not entirely. She forgot that she had waived a fee for us, and I had to forward her the email chain to get that fee back. It was also unseasonably cold while we were there, and when we asked about turning on the heat she said she'd have to charge us a 10-euro fee for each night of heat. She also gave me a rude, stern lecture about not letting our kids take four hours in the bathtub, when they hadn't taken a bath at all. She also told us she needed us out of the apartment three hours before the published and agreed upon checkout time, so she could prepare the apartment for "special guests" who came back annually. All of this rudeness would have netted a negative review, despite the nice apartment, but Rossana came through like a superhero at the end of our trip. When we got to the train station, we could not find our train ticket. Rossana drove to the station, zipped me back to the apartment, and returned me to the station without missing a beat. It turned out that our ticket had been misplaced in our bag all along, but she was quite friendly and gracious about our mistake. I think the key is to keep track of all agreements in writing, expect that any roughness around the edges might be an issue related to English not being her first language, and assume that you'll have a great time. All in all, we would go back in a heartbeat. Stresa is a great town and a fine base from which to explore other parts of the lake. And the view! The view!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong. All three apartments have the same basic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 25 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I have just spent a week at the wonderful Il Viaggiatore (The Traveller) self catering apartments in Stresa on Lake Maggiore. We chose the top floor apartment, and were so glad that we did. On arrival, we met the lovely Rossana who instantly made us feel at home and was very friendly toward us. Rossana is extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble to her. We had been to Stresa before, but she was still able to tell us about places to eat and so on, that we were not aware of. The apartment is fabulously situated right on the lake shore opposite the Ferry terminal. I don't think that it is possible to get closer to the lake. The views from our balcony and terrace were priceless. Thank you Rossana for a wonderful week !

Room Tip: I would suggest that the less energetic should choose the lower floors (1st or 2nd) as there is no l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Owner Rossana speaks very good English and is very kind and helpful. We stayed in the 2nd floor apartment sleeping 6 - sofa bed in the lounge is top quality and very comfortable. We were concerned about parking in Stresa in the high season but in fact it was fine, to unload there is 1 hour waiting outside and you can park for an unlimited time from about 50 yards away along the lakefront, we managed to find a space and didn't need to use a car park once.
The apartment is very comfortable, and has everything you need including wifi, washing machine and dishwasher. We stayed there with three teenagers and enjoyed sitting on the balcony on a warm evening watching the world go by (and in their case using their laptops!). Highly recommended, although lots of stairs so maybe not for those with poor mobility.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clowance666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed in the apartment just before the main season started. The rooms are clean and have a beautiful view to the lake. Rosanna helped us to prepare the program for the excursions and recommended restaurants in Stresa. Everything is in walking distance. The only disadvantage might be during the main season, to find a parking close to the building.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdriAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I was worried when we were unable to find this place with our GPS... The BFF, who always comes through with great places at unbelievable prices, was even sweating it. The four of us called Rosanna, the owner, and she met us and flagged us down. It's a little bitty door, albeit clearly marked, between two storefronts on the main drag. You can walk to everything, including the grocery store and laundromat, and it's 2 minutes from the ferry. The view of the lake is quiet and serene. There's even an efficiency kitchen. Small downer: dragging your luggage up the stairs and then discovering there's no toilet paper in the bathroom. But that is NOTHING compared to the money you will have saved and now have to spend on all the shops and restaurants in town! You can trust Rosanna's recommendations on food places.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank AuntieJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We rented the 2-bedroom unit, which came with one bathroom and a nice kitchen. The apartment was very clean, and it was in a PERFECT location. The main shopping area is just steps away, and it also has some great restaurants very close by. The balcony that overlooks the lake is fantastic. Rosanna, the owner is very friendly, funny and has a wealth of information about the best restaurants, activities, and strategies to get the most out of everything. The apartment itself was initially a little challenging to find as the Italian address system is not the easiest to follow, and do not rely too much on the GPS either. The door that leads to the apartment is in between two business shops, so it's easy to miss at first. We suggest you get some clear and detailed directions from Rosanna, the owner, when you book the room. A good landmark to follow is that there is a Shell gas station close by, and a golf shop next door. But once you locate apartment, you'll know what we mean when we say that it's in a perfect location. The ferry station is just across the street, and the strain station is fairly close by, which is very convenient. There is a Travel Agency close by, where you can purchase the ferry and train tickets, along with other activities you may be interested in. They also speak English very well, so they are helpful in answering your questions. Just next to the apartment, there is a pizza restaurant, which actually is a very nice restaurant, and their food is great. The seafood pasta is fantastic, and their pizzas are really good. Mama Mia is another restaurant nearby where the food was fantastic. The price of food in Stresa is very reasonable, and not as touristy. The people are very friendly and helpful, too. There is a grocery market close by, so you can stock up for your stay here. Now, this is an apartment, not a hotel, so you have to bring your own soap, shampoo, etc, including toilet paper. Towels are provided. Other hotels nearby were much more expensive, so this place is a definite bargain. We'd definitely stay here again, and strongly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan90638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed only one night but I wish it could have been longer. Usually Rossana the owner rents the apartments on a weekly basis but she made an exception and very kindly helped us out for our first night as almost all hotels we called for that period were fully booked.

Even though we arrived very late after 11pm, she went out of her way to help us. She waited for us at the exit of the highway and drove us in no time to her place even though she doesn’t live at the B&B. In no time and without any complications she left us to our rest. We felt like staying at a friend’s house.

The apartment had everything we needed and more. Very clean, spacious, comfortable and with an amazing view of the lake from the balcony. It would largely suit a family. The location is exceptional, just steps away from restaurants and the ferry for the islands. You can’t ask for a better place to stay in Stresa.

Upon Rossana’s recommendation we had breakfast at the bar next to her building and even after we (unfortunately) moved to another B&B we came back every morning because especially their bakery was exquisite.

Thank you Rossana, your friendliness was a highlight - we will come back for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lori05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA
0.3 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
1,429 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#4 of 35 in Stresa
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Eden
Eden
#1 of 1 in Mottarone
101 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#11 of 35 in Stresa
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Viaggiatore B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Viaggiatore B&B

Address: Corso Italia 38, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Stresa
Price Range: $137 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Viaggiatore B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Viaggiatore B&B Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing