We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location at reasonable price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Boston
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location at reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from both the railway station and the lake shore, so very convenient for boat trips and train transfers. We had a room on the top floor with a lake view balcony. The room was simply furnished but clean and comfortable. The breakfast each morning was fine, with a fairly standard spread on the cold buffet and hot croissants from the waitress. The staff were all friendly and tried to be as helpful as possible. The sound proofing between rooms is not the best I've come across, but this didn't really impact upon our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    72
    32
    17
    17
See reviews for
38
85
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

I returned from a 5 night stay at the Hotel Boston yesterday and found it a bit disappointing, the breakfast consisted of a buffet containing a yogurt pot, bread,two cereal options, cheese, ham, and croissants prefilled with marmalade, it would have been nice to have a toaster or some fruit.

We also opened a strawberry jam to find it full of mould and our bedsheets were not changed once during the visit, this didn't bother me as much but, in general the cleaning of the rooms was very poor and you could hear everything that went on in the hotel at night.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel, there are nicer ones in the area for a similar price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stresa hotels

Boynton Beach
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Booked my son and wife here for 5 nights we had apt. Due to our length in Stresa. They had two terraces facing lake very clean spotless rooms. Reception always knew us and my son very friendly. Breakfast was very nice. Great hotel for the price very informative and sweet.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are wonderful facing lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The North of England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were a party of four staying in two rooms for three days at the beginning of June. The Boston is ideally situated and a clean, well run establishment with highly efficient and friendly staff. Rooms are on the small side but we had a balcony and great views of the lake and Borromeo islands (remembering that this hotel isn't directly on the lake so the view is looking over other buildings but no problem on the third floor). Breakfast and all services were good. I was particularly impressed by all the reception staff who were always on the ball and helped booking restaurants and airport transfers very efficiently. Stresa is an lovely small town with a certain faded elegance with big 19 century hotels on the promenade, a host of good eating places and great access to the ferries and cruises on the lake. We did the Maggiorie Express round trip, the three Borromeo Islands and the cable car up to Mottorone. I'd recommend them all.

Room Tip: Rooms 301 and 303 have the best lake views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bright_red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Boston Hotel, situated in the centre of Stresa, is a budget hotel which has a few issues that prevent it from being a place you might want to return to.

Check-in and Reception.

The reception staff at the Boston are generally welcoming, friendly and helpful. This especially goes for their young receptionist Jessica, who was certainly the jewel in the reception crown. The exception to this was the manageress (who may have been the owner). She was rather frosty and much less approachable.

Guest Bedroom.

During our stay we were in a 1st floor room (without a balcony). The room was basic, but perfectly adequate in terms of space and functionality. There were 2 notable issues with the room. The first was the housekeeping standards. The bathroom was not cleaned to an adequate standard with mould between the tiles and on the fittings of the shower and behind the toilet. On top of the wardrobe (where we stored our suitcase), there was a thick layer of dust. The second issue is one that has cropped up a number of times in previous trip advisor reviews. This relates to the noise levels. The walls are paper thin and you can literally hear any noise made from the rooms around and above you. The noise of bathroom use and flushing toilets throughout the night is enough to keep even a heavy sleeper awake. Unfortunately for the hotel proprietors, there is very little they can do to remedy this.

Public Areas.

The hotel does not have it’s own café, restaurant or leisure facilities. The two public areas in the hotel consist of the lobby and breakfast room. The lobby is a nice space, but has a mismatch of furniture that looks like the owners have put their old lounge suites their when they’ve finished with them. The furniture is comfortable, but dated. The breakfast room is perfectly adequate for what it is.

Breakfast.

Previous reviews are very mixed on this front; however, like many aspects of the hotel breakfast is perfectly adequate. There are a couple of juices available, which although rather synthetic, are acceptable. Breakfast cereals are provided along with bread, roles and a limited selection of sliced meat and cheese. There are boiled eggs and cake. Yes, it might be nice to have fruit, but to be honest for this standard of hotel it is hard to find fault with what is otherwise a perfectly acceptable breakfast.

Location.

You really can’t do much better than this. It’s only a block from the lake front and for those in rooms with balconies; some even get a lake view. Stesa is certainly a very pretty Italian town which is well worth a visit.

Summary.
Pros = Good service, great location, reasonable rooms and an acceptable breakfast.
Cons = noise and housekeeping standards.

Room Tip: I suspect the higher you are in the hotel, the quieter the rooms will be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulDGibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stresa is a great place to visit and still reflects some of the grandeur of its 19th century past. Hotel Boston is excellently situated, a few minutes walk from the station and the Lake shore. The staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast well up to standard. Our room had a balcony and a view over the lake to the Borromean islands. This was off season and so quite quiet. There were plenty of restaurants to chose from in the centre of the old town, again only a few minutes away. There is a mass of things to do in the area and trips to the islands and beyond. Given that Stresa is not a cheap place this hotel was good value for money and well worth a return visit.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor with a view towards the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Italie et Suisse
Hotel Italie et Suisse
#28 of 36 in Stresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luina
Hotel Luina
#24 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Milan Speranza Au Lac
#5 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#10 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#11 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elena
Hotel Elena
#15 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boston

Property: Hotel Boston
Address: Viale Duchessa di Genova, 13, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boston 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boston is located just a stone's throw from the historical centre of Stresa, the railway station, the Congress Hall and boarding docks for ferries to the Borromean Islands. The Boston is a small, family managed 3 star hotel in Stresa, completely renovated in the winter of 2011/2012 and complete with all facilities: Wi-Fi available throughout the entire hotel is free, lift, bag deposit, breakfast hall, leisure reading and TV room. All rooms are with balconies,(Superior room with lake view too) air conditioning, private bathroom,safe. There is public parking nearby the hotel or private parking (charges apply), and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Hotel Stresa
Hotel Boston Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing