We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not so bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Boston
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    70
    32
    17
    17
See reviews for
38
84
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The North of England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were a party of four staying in two rooms for three days at the beginning of June. The Boston is ideally situated and a clean, well run establishment with highly efficient and friendly staff. Rooms are on the small side but we had a balcony and great views of the lake and Borromeo islands (remembering that this hotel isn't directly on the lake so the view is looking over other buildings but no problem on the third floor). Breakfast and all services were good. I was particularly impressed by all the reception staff who were always on the ball and helped booking restaurants and airport transfers very efficiently. Stresa is an lovely small town with a certain faded elegance with big 19 century hotels on the promenade, a host of good eating places and great access to the ferries and cruises on the lake. We did the Maggiorie Express round trip, the three Borromeo Islands and the cable car up to Mottorone. I'd recommend them all.

Room Tip: Rooms 301 and 303 have the best lake views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bright_red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Boston Hotel, situated in the centre of Stresa, is a budget hotel which has a few issues that prevent it from being a place you might want to return to.

Check-in and Reception.

The reception staff at the Boston are generally welcoming, friendly and helpful. This especially goes for their young receptionist Jessica, who was certainly the jewel in the reception crown. The exception to this was the manageress (who may have been the owner). She was rather frosty and much less approachable.

Guest Bedroom.

During our stay we were in a 1st floor room (without a balcony). The room was basic, but perfectly adequate in terms of space and functionality. There were 2 notable issues with the room. The first was the housekeeping standards. The bathroom was not cleaned to an adequate standard with mould between the tiles and on the fittings of the shower and behind the toilet. On top of the wardrobe (where we stored our suitcase), there was a thick layer of dust. The second issue is one that has cropped up a number of times in previous trip advisor reviews. This relates to the noise levels. The walls are paper thin and you can literally hear any noise made from the rooms around and above you. The noise of bathroom use and flushing toilets throughout the night is enough to keep even a heavy sleeper awake. Unfortunately for the hotel proprietors, there is very little they can do to remedy this.

Public Areas.

The hotel does not have it’s own café, restaurant or leisure facilities. The two public areas in the hotel consist of the lobby and breakfast room. The lobby is a nice space, but has a mismatch of furniture that looks like the owners have put their old lounge suites their when they’ve finished with them. The furniture is comfortable, but dated. The breakfast room is perfectly adequate for what it is.

Breakfast.

Previous reviews are very mixed on this front; however, like many aspects of the hotel breakfast is perfectly adequate. There are a couple of juices available, which although rather synthetic, are acceptable. Breakfast cereals are provided along with bread, roles and a limited selection of sliced meat and cheese. There are boiled eggs and cake. Yes, it might be nice to have fruit, but to be honest for this standard of hotel it is hard to find fault with what is otherwise a perfectly acceptable breakfast.

Location.

You really can’t do much better than this. It’s only a block from the lake front and for those in rooms with balconies; some even get a lake view. Stesa is certainly a very pretty Italian town which is well worth a visit.

Summary.
Pros = Good service, great location, reasonable rooms and an acceptable breakfast.
Cons = noise and housekeeping standards.

Room Tip: I suspect the higher you are in the hotel, the quieter the rooms will be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulDGibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stresa is a great place to visit and still reflects some of the grandeur of its 19th century past. Hotel Boston is excellently situated, a few minutes walk from the station and the Lake shore. The staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast well up to standard. Our room had a balcony and a view over the lake to the Borromean islands. This was off season and so quite quiet. There were plenty of restaurants to chose from in the centre of the old town, again only a few minutes away. There is a mass of things to do in the area and trips to the islands and beyond. Given that Stresa is not a cheap place this hotel was good value for money and well worth a return visit.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor with a view towards the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Boston in Stresa for 1 week in mid September,and overall opinion was that it was difficult to say that it was anything other than average in many aspects.
We found that although it was close to the lake it was also close to the main road,so be prepared for traffic noise.The hotel was clean,but the main issue was with the breakfasts.There was no fresh fruit available at any time throughout the week,the bread rolls were very very hard, cold hard boiled eggs,and tea or coffee was supplied upon request, with no offer of a refill.At no time in the week was there more than one waitress serving, at times, twenty guests.Overall we were disappointed with that aspect of the hotel.
The room which was located on the second floor was badly lit and basic in facilities although the shower unit was good. Sorry to say, would not like to return based on experience of our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HomeVictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great location - one block back from main road, walking distance to station, town, ferry, cable car etc
Initially had a room on 2nd floor, but requested an change due to noisy guest in room above. At a nominal fee, upgraded to room 405, with lovely lake views. Rooms were spotless, staff at reception were exceptionally friendly and spoke good English and we enjoyed our breakfasts each morning, especially as our standing coffee order was remembered, and we were treated to a double dose on our last morning. The only con I can possibly think of is that a small bar fridge in the room would be a great addition to the amenities, which are otherwise perfectly adequate. We will be recommending this hotel to friends and family thinking of travelling to magnificent Lake Maggiore / Stresa, from our home, South Africa.

Room Tip: Room 405 - top floor with beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustis, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had two couples and two rooms on the third floor with balconies and views to the Lake. The setting was quiet and safe. The rooms were quite comfortable and breakfasts were good. The hotel is situated a block from the main boulevard along the lake, making it a good place to walk from, to the town center, ferryboat, etc. Our friends already have reservations to return next summer with their children and grandchildren. They plan to visit the islands one day, then take the train to the north end of Lago Maggiore and the boat ride back down to Stresa.

We met the hotel owner who gave us her card and said we could call her directly in the future.

We will go back to Stresa and to the Hotel Boston.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view...third floor and up may offer the best balcony views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomhep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Italie et Suisse
Hotel Italie et Suisse
#28 of 36 in Stresa
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Primavera Hotel
Primavera Hotel
#26 of 36 in Stresa
3.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#11 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elena
Hotel Elena
#15 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luina
Hotel Luina
#24 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#14 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boston

Property: Hotel Boston
Address: Via Duchessa di Genova 13, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boston 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boston is located just a stone's throw from the historical centre of Stresa, the railway station, the Congress Hall and boarding docks for ferries to the Borromean Islands. The Boston is a small, family managed 3 star hotel in Stresa, completely renovated in the winter of 2011/2012 and complete with all facilities: Wi-Fi available throughout the entire hotel is free, lift, bag deposit, breakfast hall, leisure reading and TV room. All rooms are with balconies,(Superior room with lake view too) air conditioning, private bathroom,safe. There is public parking nearby the hotel or private parking (charges apply), and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Hotel Stresa
Hotel Boston Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing