We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Boston
Ranked #26 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Hampton, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great location - one block back from main road, walking distance to station, town, ferry, cable car etc
Initially had a room on 2nd floor, but requested an change due to noisy guest in room above. At a nominal fee, upgraded to room 405, with lovely lake views. Rooms were spotless, staff at reception were exceptionally friendly and spoke good English and we enjoyed our breakfasts each morning, especially as our standing coffee order was remembered, and we were treated to a double dose on our last morning. The only con I can possibly think of is that a small bar fridge in the room would be a great addition to the amenities, which are otherwise perfectly adequate. We will be recommending this hotel to friends and family thinking of travelling to magnificent Lake Maggiore / Stresa, from our home, South Africa.

Room Tip: Room 405 - top floor with beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    72
    32
    17
    17
See reviews for
38
85
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eustis, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had two couples and two rooms on the third floor with balconies and views to the Lake. The setting was quiet and safe. The rooms were quite comfortable and breakfasts were good. The hotel is situated a block from the main boulevard along the lake, making it a good place to walk from, to the town center, ferryboat, etc. Our friends already have reservations to return next summer with their children and grandchildren. They plan to visit the islands one day, then take the train to the north end of Lago Maggiore and the boat ride back down to Stresa.

We met the hotel owner who gave us her card and said we could call her directly in the future.

We will go back to Stresa and to the Hotel Boston.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view...third floor and up may offer the best balcony views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomhep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Spent just one night here in August on our way from Switzerland to the Italian coast. The hotel was lovely. Easy to find, and we managed to get a free parking space on the same road as the hotel. The room was more than adequate, we had a triple room, which had loads of space. The bathroom was lovely and spacious aswell. There were just two downsides, one was that breakfast was self service buffet apart from the croissants which were brought out to you by the waitress. Except that we didn't get any and when we asked she just said that there were none left. A bit poor I thought, surely they must know how many guests there are each night. And the other down side was that we were bitten to death by mozzies. This is not the hotels fault, but it has put us off returning to what is really a lovely hotel in a gorgeous setting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spudqueen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a 7 night stay and paid to upgrade to lake view balcony rooms (405 and 302) Room 302 actually has 2 balconies. The views were amazing ! Both rooms and bathrooms were a good size. We were only disturbed by noise from other guests on one occasion and the hotel was busy. Shame there was no fridge in the room.

The breakfast was standard for Italian hotels, with good coffee and the meats, cheeses, cakes etc. were replenished quickly when they ran low. The lovely lady serving remembers what you drink after a few days. Chairs and tables were a bit close together.

Reception staff speak good English and were always helpful and also remembered which rooms you were in.

The hotel is a 2 mins walk from the lakeside path, 5 mins from the main square and train station.

Room Tip: would recommend paying the extra for lake view balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JerseyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The staff were very friendly & helpful with suggestions for eating & visiting. A small hotel with lovely front room views over the lake. Doors opened into tiny balconies with a chair or two, always nice to have fresh air!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Australialynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBoston, Responsabile reception at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your report.
We are glad to know that your stay has been well with us!

Thank you again.
The Management and all Staff! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

From 2nd to 6th of June we stayed at the Hotel Boston. We arrived about 11 o'clock and were greeted by Christina the proprietor. She, as all the staff, is most friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room (405) was ready. We had a good view, though not an uninterrupted view of the lake and the Borromean gardens on the lake.
The room was always cleaned to a high standard. The lady who helped at breakfast always greeted you with a smile. Whoever was on reception was attentive and willing to help. When discussing the options for our return to Malpensa airport, Christina's daughter booked our travel with the SAF bus, which must be booked in advance.
Although there is no bar or restaurant, there is an elegant lounge where you can sit and read if you wish. We did not miss these facilities as there are so many good bars, restaurants, gelaterie and places of interest in Streas that you want to discover. You are not paying for facilities that you do not use.
The main function of a hotel for us is the quality of the bed. Ours was most comfortable, such that the first morning we overslept.
The hotel is on a quiet street, about 150 yards from the lake and most places can easily be reached on foot. The railway station is about 200 yards away and so it is handy if you are taking the train to Switzerland or Milan.
We enjoyed both our stay in Streas and in the Hotel Boston.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roughyed666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBoston, Responsabile reception at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

is very important and we gratify reviews like yours.
We are really happy to know that your experience has been really positive with us!
Thank you again!

Greetings from Hotel Boston!!
Enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed as a group booking for up to 10 nights. We found the hotel to be in a quiet part of Stresa, clean and bright with a great location only a short walk from the town centre and on street parking close by. The room size was adequate for a weeks stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would re-book.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room with balcony and would suggest this as a minimum. Could not be described...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanS600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBoston, Responsabile reception at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for the support and for your time spent to help us improving our business.
Fou us has is really gratifying to know that our guests have a positive experience with us.

We hope to see you again soon!Thank you.

The Direction and all Staff
Hotel Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Italie et Suisse
Hotel Italie et Suisse
#28 of 36 in Stresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luina
Hotel Luina
#24 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Milan Speranza Au Lac
#6 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#11 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#10 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elena
Hotel Elena
#15 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boston

Property: Hotel Boston
Address: Viale Duchessa di Genova, 13, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boston 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boston is located just a stone's throw from the historical centre of Stresa, the railway station, the Congress Hall and boarding docks for ferries to the Borromean Islands. The Boston is a small, family managed 3 star hotel in Stresa, completely renovated in the winter of 2011/2012 and complete with all facilities: Wi-Fi available throughout the entire hotel is free, lift, bag deposit, breakfast hall, leisure reading and TV room. All rooms are with balconies,(Superior room with lake view too) air conditioning, private bathroom,safe. There is public parking nearby the hotel or private parking (charges apply), and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Hotel Stresa
Hotel Boston Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing