We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The California Tour Group” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maggiore Discovery Day Tours

Maggiore Discovery Day Tours
Ranked #7 of 9 Tours in Stresa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We believe in enjoying and exploring the area that you have holidayed to. So many excursions these days take you away from where you are staying meaning that you miss out on the history, culture and nature which can be found right on your holiday doorstep. Having fallen in love with the lake many summers ago we realised the wealth of exciting places, of beautiful sites and of fascinating history that are only a boat ride away. All you need to do is sit back relax.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The California Tour Group”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were a group of 12 people from the San Diego area who spent 5 days in Stresa. Dana Kaplan from Stresa, provided us with Fabri's information and we booked him to pick our group up in Milan upon arrival. Then he took up to see the Last Supper, which we purchased our ticket's months in advance. Then he drove us up to Stresa where we spent 5 magical days at the Hotel La Palma. On our third day there he drove us up to Val Fomazza, where we toured the Italian village that had been built in the 14th century and was destroyed by an earthquake. Then some engineering students from Oregon rebuilt the city using it's original stones and the style that was used hundreds of years ago. While we were there we had the pleasure of wine and cheese tasting.

On our 4th day he took us to Lago Como and we took a wonderful boat trip from Como to Bellagio and we even got to see George Clooney's home that is now for sale.

On our last day he picked us up at the hotel and drove us to Geneva where we met up with the Avalon Waterways group for our river boat cruise.

We are looking forward to working with him again in 2014. He was so kind, knowledgeable and helpful....we wanted to take him back to America with us!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie92008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    0
    0
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabri Oira Tour Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We travelled with Fabri to the village of Oira which is at the beginning of Val Formazza. This small town is very old, very typical of the valley, but has had a portion restored by students from the University of Oregon over the past 20 years or so. By restore it means that they built over the landslide area that had buried part of the town hundreds of years ago. Each house is built stone by stone. Truly amazing. Never knew students could work this hard without a student center and a cafeteria, among other things. Fabri arranged a tasting of wine, cheese and sausage at the town vintner and a tour of the town cheesemaking place. All a fabulous trip from Fabri.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Pasta Cooking Class, Wine & Cheese Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I really cannot say enough wonderful things about the two tours that Fabri from Maggiore Discovery arranged for us. I traveled to Stresa in July 2013 with a friend of mine. A couple weeks in advance, we started emailing with Fabri via his website about the two tours we were interested in - the Pasta Cooking Class and Wine & Cheese. He was able to arrange both for us fairly easily. We felt they were an outstanding value for our experiences. I don't want to spoil too much by telling you exactly how they both went - but suffice to say, if you book with Fabri - you will NOT be disappointed! In addition to being very good at his job, he is also just an incredibly delightful person to be around. He knows a lot about the surrounding area and was a wealth of information - he even gave us a few restaurant and bar recommendations in town that turned out to be great. My friend and I very much enjoyed chatting with him over the two days we spent. Couldn't recommend Maggiore Discovery more!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent bespoke day tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was the third tour we have taken with Fabri over a three year period.We went to the Angera Fortress,Arona and had excellent journeys down one and up the other side of this lovely lake.
From Stresa the ' bottom ' of the lake is difficult to reach,unless train ferry etc is your wish.
Fabri Anton's tours made it easy especially the car up to the outstanding Medieval Fortress.
I cannot praise enough the friendly professionalism of this individual,his throughness,knowledge and humour sets him in a class of his own.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peel, null, Isle Of Man
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our day out with Fabri was the highlight of our holiday in Stresa. We read the reviews and thought nothing could be that good, but it was! We had a great day in the village, with Fabri explaining the history very well
The cheese and wine tasting was wonderful as well, Mario was a great host!
We had my 91 year old mother with us and Fabri was really considerate, and tailored the day to her pace, all in all a wonderful day!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director O, Owner at Maggiore Discovery Day Tours, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Hi David,
Thank you very much for your kind words. I really enjoyed the day our with you and your family, and it was a pleasure meeting you all.
Hope the flight back to the Isle of Man was good.
Thanks again and give my regards to your family

Fabri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maggiore Discovery Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Maggiore Discovery Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing