We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small, good value, cosmopolitan hotel”
Review of Hotel Della Torre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Della Torre
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2007

I believe that recent reviews have been a little harsh. We had a wonderful two weeks here and I would not hesitate to recommend it. The location (between a main road and a railway line) is of course not ideal from the point of view of noise. We had a lake view room however and once the french windows and the shutters were closed at night we experienced no disturbance. Occasionally when we were having a drink on the balcony the scooters roaring past were a bit of an irritant. There are no coach parties in high season and the air conditioning in the rooms is on permanently so it is always lovely and cool. The rooms are well equipped and spotlessly clean. The new digital safe which was free of charge was a nice bonus as many of the larger hotels make a charge for this.
The staff were very efficient and generally pleasant and friendly. All spoke English and French as well as Italian. A special mention should be made of Caterina in the restaurant and Francina on reception who went out of their way to give exceptional service.
The food was excellent. Each morning at breakfast there was the evening menu on the table so you could select in advance. In the unlikely event that you did not like any of the choices you could ask for an alternative. Nearly all of the dishes were Italian and those seeking British fare abroad should certainly look elsewhere. The pasta starter (14 different varieties in a fortnight) was extremely popular and we had to be careful to go easy on the second helpings in order to save room for the main course.
There were very few English people there during our stay and initially we thought this would bother us. Everyone was very friendly however and efforts were made at conversation. We met some very nice people from both France and Belgium. I enjoyed speaking French and the Flemish could all manage a few English phrases.
Finally a few words about the pool which was set in a very pleasant garden. There were a few very simple rules which had had be adhered to. You left your shoes on a rack, entered the pool area through a foot bath and took a quick shower before you swam. This ensured that the pool was crystal clear and a nice place to bathe. There was a lifeguard/pool barman on duty to oversee procedings. There were ample sunbeds and tables around the pool and in the garden and a good mix of sunshine and shade. There was no problem getting a bed because people did not tend to stay around the pool all day but called in for an hour or two to fit in with excursions etc. Do not bother taking your own towels if you are tight on your luggage allowance as pool towels are available.
We enjoyed all of the above and at a price which was several hundred pounds cheaper than the really opulent hotels in the centre. I would recommend the Della Torre without hesitation.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank annb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 191 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2007

First the good points the room and the hotel was spotless and well maintained and decorated. the pool area and garden was also very well looked after.
Now the not so good, I booked two rooms 6 months ago expecting them to be adjoining, they weren't even on the same floor which was somewhat inconvenient although to be fair the desk staff did offer free garage parking in recompense.
The air conditioning was switched off.A request to the night porter for it to be switched on was met by a response that this was not possible.We therefore had to leave the window open to get some air and yes the traffic was very noisy.
The hotel caters for coach parties and the food seemed geared to these clients, ie mass catering, get em in and get em out .The food was adequate without being memorable

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petermh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2006

My husband myself and our 14 year old here for 2 weeks in latter part of Aug 2006 when the weather was changeable to say the least. I have read the review and agree with much that has been written although the nearness of the train track has not been stressed enough. It WILL disturb you if you have room not facing the lake and the trains (especially the extremely long cargo trains) run all night.

As for service we unfortunately did not have the same service as some others have mentioned. We have been to Italy many times and must say the staff were some of the most unfriendly I have met. The restaurant staff never spoke and always seemed in a hurry to clear tables for the next meal. The owners themselves were not chatty in the least and the bar at night seemed to be run as an inconvenience with the staff wanting to clean and pack away as near to 10 oclock as possible. In fact the hotel was locked at 11 oclock one night and we had to ring the night porter to let us in.

The hotel was extremely clean and the pool is immaculate however there were no hot drinks and food served from the pool bar area and if you forgot to wash your feet as you stepped into the pool area you were immediately told off. I saw a number of people especially elderly people bemused by the system in place and the sensors operating shower sprays what was needed was a quick tour of the facilities by the pool attendant and details of the rules!!! We found this hotel lacked atmosphere and soul and should your room cause sleepless nights it clouds your view of some of the very good aspects.

All in all so many missed opportunities to make this a very good hotel- could do better!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank tobycat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2006

My wife and I have recently returned from Stresa where we spent ten very enjoyable days at the hotel della torre. my wife and I are 55 and 57 respectively, and this hotel had everything for people of our age, EXCEPT a bar that stayed open beyond 2300. I would, however, have to be very small-minded to allow this minor instance cause me to write an anything but glowing review of the accommodation provided, the food and the terrific staff. this hotel is a family-owned business, and the welcome we received from the three wonderful ladies involved made us feel like we had gone home. I referred earlier to the menu. it was a wonderful mix of dishes from all over Italy, and not once in the ten days was a dish repeated.
the hotel comes complete with a pool, close access to the cable car that runs to the top of Montarrone, the boats that will take you out to the historically Isola Bella and Isola Madre and a 15-minute walk into the lovely village of Stresa.
my only major complaint was the quality of the english-language television station. BBC World is absolute garbage but can you blame the hotel della torre's owners for that?

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank yamonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2006

In this hotel you are not a number, you really are a guest of the family. Impeccable service, rooms, pool, food. .. The location at the street maybe sometimes noisy, but they solved this with window shutters. Furthermore, almost every nice hotel at Stresa is located at the side of the main street, so this is not unique to the Della Torre hotel. The hotel has more than a 3 stars value. One day we hope to pass by again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank DirkB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2006

As we promised the Della Torre family, we went back again this year to have a most wonderful week's holiday we have ever had. This year we drove from England and took my brother-in-law and his wife with us,(first visit to Italy). The welcome we got was like family meeting again, and our week's holiday was perfect in every way. Thank you Angela, Cina and Loris. Roger and Rose Webber, Taunton, Somerset.

Stayed: June 2006
16  Thank Poproger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2006

Welcome great, room great, etc. but if you are at all noise sensitive go elsewhere. The train runs literally a few meters away behind the hotel, and we're talking trains that make a lot of noise. All night! Plus the inevitable vespa's (but that you cant escape anywhere in Italy), the bottle bank outside our window, dogs barking, churchbells ringing..... If you are in this hotel, pick a room on the front side of the hotel (next to the buxa main road) It will be quieter. Other than a sleepless night, the hotel was fine.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Swissmiss007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#11 of 35 in Stresa
1,069 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#8 of 35 in Stresa
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
0.5 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#3 of 35 in Stresa
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Della Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Della Torre

Address: Via Sempione Nord 47, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range: $138 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Della Torre 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Della Torre is a well-maintained, family-run hotel set just out of Stresa town centre and only 150 metres from Lake Maggiore. Enjoy pretty lake views from the gardens.Relax by Hotel Della Torre's outdoor pool, which features a Jacuzzi area. Sun loungers and beach towels are provided for use by the pool and there is also a snack bar here.The train station is set conveniently close, just 5 minutes' walk from Hotel Della Torre. This friendly hotel is also great if you want to visit the Borromean Islands, as ferries leave from close by.A pleasant 20-minute stroll along the promenade will have you in Stresa centre.Rooms at Hotel Della Torre are all spacious and air conditioned, with their own balconies. Junior suites have lovely views over the lake or look out over the picturesque mountains behind the hotel. Satellite TV is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Della Torre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Della Torre Hotel
Della Torre Stresa
Hotel Della Torre Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing