We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely old villa”
Review of Hotel du Parc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Parc
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“A lovely old villa”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I have little to add to others assessments but wanted to add my satisfaction vote which this hotel richly deserves. If you enjoy old world charm, with dignified service and quiet garden surroundings then this is for you. We were warmly received and received help with trip planning. All hotel services were good. No issues to mention at all. Book with confidence.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank scaredycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    151
    25
    8
    2
See reviews for
34
199
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Our family stayed in Stresa for three nights and this hotel was a great location to explore the town and take the ferry to other villages. The hotel staff were very helpful with restaurant suggestions and also refining our plans for the day. Other reviews have mentioned the train noise so wanted to say that it was not a problem for us at all. Our room faced the tracks but the noise was not loud enough to wake us up at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KR5984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just returned from 8 days at this beautiful hotel. Room 11 with balcony and lake view!!! Staff were lovely and very friendly. I would certainly stay here again. Downhill walk to town centre and very handy for trips on the lake of from the station.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luckycouple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Simply wonderful hotel from out of the past. The owners were very warm and helpful. The location was a 5 minute walk to town and maybe 5-10 minutees to the ferry dock. The breakfast was excellent in a beautiful sunlit room with a view. My husband and I asked for a room facing the lake with a view and did we ever get it along with French Doors opening to a small balcony. I stared at that view every time I went by the window. The room was comfortable, the bath large by some standards with a full bathtub. If you go ask for a balcony room facing the lake. The owners really made us feel welcome and even stood outside and waved when we left!

Room Tip: Definitely a balconied room! Facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pineapplehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We spent the May bank holiday here and it more than meet our needs. The hotel, like the whole town, echoes a long gone past but retains its charm and attractiveness. The hotel's decor is period and may not be to everyone's taste, plenty of photos on this site. That said the room was clean, spacious with a balcony overlooking the garden at the back. Yes there is a train line near by but we only noticed it a couple of times and it never disturbed our sleep. The staff were charming and very helpful. Breakfast is generous and consists of boiled eggs, ham, cheese, cakes, fruit, etc. The fridge in the room stocked a number of reasonably priced drinks, we do not use this facility normally but a bottle of water was €1.5 and a beer €3. It was too tempting not to finish the first evening off with the prosseco. The hotel is a couple of minutes from the main piazza and the lake. Parking is good and free. We would definitely stat here again and it would be quite suitable for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the house if you sleep lightly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewGrandTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This hotel is lovely from the outside with a nice garden to sit in. The public areas are nice. The room was basic but absolutely fine. It was immaculate and appears very well run. Breakfast was included and was super, all you could hope to expect. The location is ideal about a 3 minute walk to Stresa. Above all the price is excellent, really good value.

The only small problem was a lack of Wifi in everywhere but the public sitting area. Not always ideal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Naomi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Fancy Victorian decor, more sober but still pretty in (cheaper) annex. Lovely garden. Family-run and friendly. Local railway tracks run just uphill from the villa, but trains move slowly, and we did not hear any past 22.30. Breakfast was abundant but a touch disappointing as all dairy and juices were discount-brand, out of synch with the elegant settings. Cake and bread good.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bongo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
0.3 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#9 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#13 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Parc

Property: Hotel du Parc
Address: Via Eugenio Gignous 1, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Parc 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Parc Hotel
Du Parc Stresa
Hotel Du Parc Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing