We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of genuine Italy”
Review of Hotel du Parc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Parc
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the HDP after being recommended to us, we were not disappointed,I had read earlier about the trains running through the night,as I am a light sleeper, I had asked for a front facing room,on arrival this had not been done ,but the Hotel accommodated us on our second night,with very little fuss.
The room we moved to No 3 is fantastic,with a beautiful balcony view towards the lake and mountains, and the bathroom was 1st class.
Our stay here was most enjoyable,by the owner Carla,her brother Giuseppe and his wife Pupa,all were very helpful and nothing seemed to be a problem for them, I would also mention Roberta at reception,very pleasant and helpful.
As mentioned by many the hotel is a little old fashioned in it's decor ,but I believe to be in fitting with the style, but hey who cares the hotel is very clean ,comfortable ,the staff are pleasant and courteous, the breakfast, as far as continental goes, was very good with plenty of variety.
HDP is nicely situated in Stresa ,5 min walk from the tourist info on the lakeside,it is a few years since I visited Maggiore, and there is plenty to keep you occupied there,there are some fabulous walks,the one either up or back down from Motterone,if you are up to it, are not to be missed.
Carla ,gave us 4/5 restaurants to try and were excellent,our favourite was the Torino,in one of the squares,Stresa town is not that big so this cannot be missed,the food at the Torino was beautiful and good value for your money, it will cost you around 40 E,for 2 courses with wine.
A little mention to Giuseppe who serves a beautiful bottle of Barbera,which was enjoyed as we watched couple of football matches that were on while we were there.
All in all a wonderful holiday,I had thought of going to the Borromees,but ended up delighted with my choice.
If you are a little unsure how to transfer from Malpensa,we booked prior with the Alibus ,all the info is on line ,www.safduemila.com ( and for 9 Euros each, one way,we found this easy.

Room Tip: Front facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wineonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 364 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

Hotel du Parc is a very nice hotel in a great location. Although it is not on the "main" street" it is only a few blocks from the center of the plaza. The setting is gorgeous with all the trees and garden. The breakfast/dining area was exquisite. The food was also very good...with many choices of breads, croissants, cereals, and fruit. The main building is also furnished with gorgeous antiques. The rooms were also very spacious and the bathroom was nicely up-dated. The only complaint or disappointment I had was that our room was heavly scented with room freshner that made it difficult to breath. We simply opened the window and unplugged the air freshner and we were fine. We did stay in the annex...which is a little cheaper. All in all, it was a great stay in a very exclusive and expensive town. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I think I would stay in the main building the next time. But I would not be opposed to staying in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbugqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for two nights after getting stranded due to the National Strike in Italy on the day we were due to fly home. We had been staying at the Regina Palace but did not want to stay there for the extra nights (see separate review).
This seems to be a family run hotel and everyone we met was extremely helpful and friendly. It is quite old fashioned but very charming and spotlessly clean. We had a room in the annexe. Whilst this was ok, we wished we had paid a little extra for a room in the main building as they were of a higher standard.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of cereals, cold meat, different cheeses, hard boiled eggs, breads, cakes, fruit, etc.
The gardens are lovely. Free wifi and use of the computer in the lounge was a bonus. You just feel really at home in this hotel.
Although it is at the top of the town, and therefore a bit of a climb to get to, it is very close to the centre of town and all the shops and lovely restaurants. The only problem is it is very close to the railway line and the trains are frequent and noisy. They do seem to stop around midnight until about 5 am. We also had some noisy plumbing in our room which gurgled all night. I would recommend taking ear plugs!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Depesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Old hotel with small but very clean rooms. The staff is friendly. The garden is nice but lacks the view on the lake.
Perfectly located to explore Stresa and surroundings (Isola Bella etc).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the Lake (2nd floor and higher)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J80-benelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

It's a very comfortable, relaxing hotel with spacious, clean rooms. We had slight trouble with electric as there wasn't any in our room when checking in, this was soon sorted but it happened again on 2 more occasions, I think there was a problem with the trip switches.
Some rooms are close to the railway but don't think this would cause a problem. The grounds are very nice as was the breakfasts, with a good choice of food and fresh fruits etc . Only a 2 minute walk to the town centre which has a good choice of restarants. The downstairs rooms were all in keeping with the style and age of the hotel, thus giving a pleasant atmosphere.
Some rooms are in an annex close by but breakfasst are served in the main hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynntee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We booked for car parking and position and were not disappointed. Beautiful building on a hill, internal decor very stylish, an antique feel. Very nice breakfast room with a wide selection of continental food.
Minor problem with electrics during our stay and Wi-Fi unreliable.
Railway is very close and seems noisy but it didn't keep us awake, not a problem.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silversurfer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

This was the second time here in the last five years. We stayed our first time just one overnight at the end of a long journey but we were so impressed we said one day we would return for a longer stay.
We made reservations for two rooms with lakeview and we booked directly with them for a good rate. Rooms 1 and 3 are the two best since there is also a terrace patio you can utilize.
The place is immaculately clean albeit old...but that is the charm.
The owners are very nice as well as all of the support staff. They truly do care about your comfort and happiness.
I would partake in utlizing the facility on occasiions for picnic, or card games. The charm of the reading room, little barroom where you can get just about any type of beverage and the sitting rooms could and should be used for relaxing,post touring reflections or card games. The grounds are superbly maintained.
Train station acess is easy walk as well as all of the attractions of Stresa.
There is only one dissapointment in that the wifi access was intermittent. It would go on and off requiring the manager on duty to reset or fix, which they were absolutely willing to do.If you are heavily reliant on wifi(which we were for skypeing home etc) this could be vexing. This is really the onlything that needs to be improved.
So to the owners Pupa, Giusseppe and their sister Carla, to the evening clerk Roberta and the overnight desk clerk Giusseppe we thank you for a great and memorable experience. Look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marcus54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#3 of 35 in Stresa
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#4 of 35 in Stresa
1,379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#11 of 35 in Stresa
1,080 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#10 of 35 in Stresa
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#6 of 35 in Stresa
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Parc

Address: Via Eugenio Gignous 1, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range: $134 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Parc 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Parc Hotel
Du Parc Stresa
Hotel Du Parc Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing