We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Art Deco Time Warp” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fontana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Fontana
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Art Deco Time Warp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Behind a large slightly untended garden with a "moderne" design fountain lies Hotel Fontana. I traveled in Europe in the 60s and 70s and stayed in a lot of hotels like this. The lobby and large airy salon could be right out of the 1930s- furniture and chandeliers included. The rooms too are out of the 30s and the bathrooms perhaps the 70s. I found all of this charming because it was all spotlessly clean, the windows were large and the location quiet.It is family run and well maintained.The owner is very helpful and the dogs and cat friendly. I heard the rooster but did not see him. This place is not for everyone but I found it charming and a very good value.

Room Tip: Avoid the room on the ground floor in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    118
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
68
179
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
125 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hotel Fontana is in an old villa with fairly large grounds. Room 25 wasn't the largest in the place but it was one of the larger ones we had on our trip. And it had the advantage of being a corner room that got great cross breezes to cool it. Very nice, large balcony which was shady much of the time overlooking the grounds and the lake. Bathroom narrow with a half-size bathtub. Lots of chairs and swings scattered around the grounds. Lots of animals too - dogs, cats chickens, crows. We spent a couple of hours in the shady yard one afternoon with a very large rooster as a companion while we ate a picnic lunch and read. Very good breakfast with heated bread and crossants, coffee and tea brought to your table plus buffet of cheese, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, boil your own eggs. Very attentive and cordial service throughout the stay. Only downside is the noisy road that it is located on but it quiets down at night. Downtown is a pleasant 15 minute walk along the lake.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Worldwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

A family hotel with very pleasant gardens, featuring the eponymous fountain and an occasional assortment of dogs and a large very tame cockerel......... the owner Guiseppe was entirely charming and helpful, offering good advice when asked - such as the Lake Maggiore Express train/boat round trip which was one of the most enjoyable days I had there. Breakfast buffet was extensive, fresh and service swift and careful, and decent coffee! Pity they don't do an evening meal as well, but the Fontana is a pleasant 15 minute walk along the lake front to the centre of Stresa with a choice of restaurants. In the other direction it is 10 minutes gentle walk to Carciano which is a short ferry hop to Isola Bella and on to the other islands, and the magical Villa Taranto gardens across the lake. Carciano also has a cable car to the top of the mountain. The Hotel La Fontana is very reasonably priced and perfectly clean. Only gripe was the small size and rickety glass doors of the shower in our bathroom - obese visitors might have problems! Room safe with key, mini bar, hair dryer etc all fine.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel was quieter (facing away from main road) but did not have lake view, but mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaBi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We really loved the free breakfast and the fun of meeting other travelers! The lounge/living area was so comfortable. The owner is very helpful but prone to lecturing. :) Our room was small but clean and had a large patio. The grounds and exterior need some attention. The location is good because you "have" to walk along the beautiful lakeside promenade OR the hotel side of the street with its gorgeous grand old hotels, in order to get into town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovetoTravel84010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was our first time in Stresa but definitely won't be the last and Hotel Fontana is great place to stay. It has everything you could wish for and more. The rooms are basic but comfortable. We had a room with a balcony and a view of the lake which was fabulous. The breakfasts were amazing with a range of cooked meats and cheeses, cereals, boiled eggs, fresh fruit, pastries and home made cakes! The owner, Guiseppe is a charming host, so customer focused, nothing is too much trouble. He was there every morning and evening to greet you and if you needed anything all you had to do was ask. Nothing was too much trouble. It is a lovely 15 minute stroll along the lake front into the centre of Stresa, 10 minutes from the railway station and 5 minutes from the Lido. We will be returning to Stresa next year and will once again choose Hotel Fontana.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisandmike186317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

As my wife, son and I entered Stresa, we were struck by the many luxurious, grand hotels. As we turned into the drive at Hotel Flora, though it was smaller than some of the estate like hotels we saw along the lake, but still we thought perhaps we had made a mistake when we saw the beautiful building and hotel grounds. It was like a step back in time to the Great Gatsby or the like.

Our room was quite large with a single bed for our 18 year old son and my wife's and my double bed. The bathroom was also quite spacious. In addition to the dining room, where breakfast was served, there is a lovely living room with large screen television where guests can relax and enjoy themselves and one another. There is also a full bar, but I did not have opportunity to inquire as t when it is available.

Giuseppe the owner and our extraordinary host, greeted us cheerfully and throughout our short one night visit was very attentive. He is constantly visible and joins his staff in assuring the comfort of every guest. His fluent English, of course, is a godsend to those of us whose Italian is limited to "prego" and "grazie" and perhaps "buon giorno".

Breakfast was amazing with homemade delights, cheese, juice, plenty of coffee, etc. Our croissants were literally fresh from the oven. Again Giuseppe was present to answer questions, provide guidance, etc. I believe he genuine enjoys hosting his guests and helping them to have an extraordinary visit in Stresa. Our only regret was that we could not stay longer.

This is a truly lovely place. it will not merit a four or five star rating as it is older and lacks some of the bells and whistles of a newer hotel. But if you like feeling like you are a guest in someone's home, someone with a sincere desire to make your stay enjoyable, be sure to visit Hotel Flora if you travel to Stresa.

Room Tip: Our Room 12 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ken4401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 4 nights here and found it to be a great place to stay. It has an old fashioned charm and wonderful hospitality from the staff.

The location on the edge of Stressa was ideal for us with a pleasant easy walk into the centre.


We will be back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.4 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.6 mi away
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Milan Speranza Au Lac
#5 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#7 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#8 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontana

Property: Hotel Fontana
Address: Via Sempione Nord 1, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontana 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situato in posizione tranquilla e centrale a pochi metri dal lago, l'Hotel La Fontana è immerso nel verde di un bellissimo grande parco.La struttura, costruita negli anni '40, è stata fino agli anni '80 una villa.La gestione familiare assicura un caldo e accogliente soggiorno.Le camere sono dotate di servizi privati, aria condizionata, Tv-sat, telefono diretto, frigo bar, phon e cassaforte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Stresa
Hotel Fontana Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing