We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Flora - Stresa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Flora - Stresa
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

I was staying in Hotel Flora in July. Not in the actual hotel but in their apartments up in the hill. We were 11, 4 kids and 7 adults. The apartments are very nice and spacious for the 3 families. Clearly newly renovated. The view from there is magnificent.

Breakfast was at the hotel and was good. Hotel staff and owner were helpful to us and offered us a drive from hotel to apartments if we needed. That was the only disadvantage, the distance between hotel and apartments, since there aren't sidewalks and you have to walk on the street that has fast traffic.


Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gudmundur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    75
    32
    8
    2
See reviews for
26
113
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This is a family run hotel. It was very clean. However the food though house prepared was only of average quality despite what brochures may say. The facilities of the Hotel are limited. The hotel did not take credit card for payment of any hotel expenditure so have enough cash for this and the tourist tax which is 1 euro per person per night. The Hotel is an easy 15 mins walk into the centre of Stressa. However the road at the front of the Hotel is very busy and noisy. It is close to the cable car to Mottarone. There is a 30 min water bus service from the jetty below the hotel to Isola Bella. From Isola Bella you can get any where on the lake. Buy a rover ticket and save a fortune. Beware the private boats which are much dearer. Try the Cento Valle train ride known as the Maggiore express, a scenic ride into Lucarno. The Lake is great think about the Hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view on the second or third floors. Any lower and the trees and other buildings obscu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Small family run hotel, spotlessly kept including the pool area. Well situate for ferries to the beautiful islands. Lovely helpful staff. A 20min stroll along a lovely prom into Stresa. Faultless hotel with good varied menu. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be quieter as there is a busy road at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, Hants
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We have just spent a week at the Hotel Flora. It is conveniently located for the station and a very short walk to the lake. The walk to town takes between 15 and 20 minutes depending on whether you take the direct route or the more scenic one. We had a double room with a lovely view of the lake. Both the room and bathroom were of a good size, very clean and well-maintained. There was a good choice at breakfast, considering this is a small hotel. There is a set menu at dinner with a main course choice of a meat, fish or vegetarian dish. The menu is displayed in reception. We ate in the hotel on one evening and enjoyed the meal. It was good value at 20 Euros for four courses, including a glass of Prosecco. There are, however many, many lovely places to eat in the town. There is a pleasant bar area in the hotel.
To sum up, I'd say this is a typical small Italian hotel. It is efficiently run and well-maintained. I would use it again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hampshiremum_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a week booked through Thomson Lakes and Mountains. As a single traveller I cannot fault anything about the hotel. The family run hotel and all the staff were exceptionally polite and couldn't do enough for me! Food was typically Italian and was varied every night. Hotel is a 20 minute stroll from the centre. Very easy access to the local ferry port and the cable car. A wonderful holiday with loads to do!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nickyormonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights during a trip to Stresa for a wedding.
The hotel is situated up a slight hill, a short walk out of the main area of Stresa but this elevation worked for us as it gave us great views of the lake.
The hotel team (possibly a family) were very accomodating, friendly, professional with smart appearances.
The 1st floor room was ample for our stay and unlike previous comments, our bathroom was really nice, modern in fact.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and all facilities up to the standard you would expect for a three star hotel, some actually much better than other four stars we have stayed in.
Breakfast was good, standard continental but lots of it and again for a three star hotel, better than most.
Overall a great stay at a friendly, clean and professionally run hotel in a stunning part of Italy.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My husband & I enjoyed a lovely week at the Hotel Flora.
The staff are excellent especially the english speaking receptionist.
The housekeeping is great,spotless, indoors and outdoors.
Food is delicious,lots of choice,large portions, a smaller portion is available on request.
We would advise a lake view room.
Thanks to everyone at the Hotel Flora for a lovely relaxing time.

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake view are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Scots2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.6 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
0.8 mi away
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Milan Speranza Au Lac
#7 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#12 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#11 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#8 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flora - Stresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flora - Stresa

Property: Hotel Flora - Stresa
Address: Via Sempione Nord 26, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Flora - Stresa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Flora - Stresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Flora - Stresa Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing