We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel with lake views”
Review of La Palma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Palma Hotel
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Positives: excellent location, some rooms have fine lake views. Large rooms with big TV, mini bar,sofa,shutters.large bathroom with hydro massage bath/shower. Other rooms may vary. Opulent gardens as lobby.good quality breakfast choices. Pool across busy road and luxurious sky bar/pool. Ideal holiday treat.
Negatives: expensive, 35 euro dinner per person (but plenty of other choices nearby), road noise.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

This is perhaps the most expensive hotel room I've ever stayed in, but it was worth it.

We had a junior suite on the fifth floor, balcony and fantastic lake view. The room was spacious and comfortable. I would have wished for a bit more drawer space. The bathroom was fully equipped. The steam shower never actually worked, and would be a bit cramped for anyone much over 200#.

It was an easy walk to the Lido, for the gondola ride,the ferry, and to the center of town.

Terrific buffet breakfast - clearly designed for the German/European audience. Scrambled eggs, lots of meats and cheeses, plus cereals, fruits and juices.

The roof bar has an incredible view, but it was a bit more a "scene" than I'm interested in.

Room Tip: I loved the junior suite - the balcony was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivavino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Just about everything was great - got what we paid for. Which was a lot. Service was friendly and efficient and the room, although looking slightly dated with a worn/faded carpet, was fine - with an excellent view of the lake. However, only a couple of grumbles: people really shouldn't be allowed to reserve tables for breakfast. On one occasion, a sunny window table with lake views (from which we were evicted) remained empty for all of our 45 minutes stay at breakfast with a 'reserved' notice on it. Meanwhile, the eventual occupant had been lolling on the lawn-seats in front of 'his' table puffing on a big fat cigar emitting a plume of rancid fog which drifted into the breakfast room. So tacky! Also, 10 Euros for a miniscule Irish coffee on the, admittedly, stunning roof bar - come off it! By all means charge riff-raff off the street those sorts of prices but we'd already stumped up £200/night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Hotel: Well maintained family run establishment.

Location: Excellent central location on the lakeside at Stresa. 2-3min. walk to ferry and 5min. walk to town centre.

Room: We had a first floor room overlooking the lake. It was spacious, well appointed and decorated. It had a safe and mini-bar.
The bathroom was good and in good condition. The air-con was effective and not too noisy.

Unfortunately it was close to the area from which housekeeping worked and from about 7.30 in the morning there was a fair amount of movement in the corridor. This was not enough of a problem for us to consider asking for a room change. The standard of housekeeping was high.

Dining: There is a large dining room with excellent staff.

Breakfast: there was a choice of tea or coffee , a range of cold juices or mineral water.

The usual range of cold meats, breads, pastries and cakes. However if you were hoping for a wide range of hot food, there was only scrambled egg and bacon.

Dinner: we did not have a disappointing dish, but there was rather more red meat than we would have liked and not enough fish or chicken.

The public areas were all well maintained and the reception staff wonderful.

On the 7th floor there is a rooftop bar, the Skybar. It affords wonderful views over the lake and surrounding mountains. Unfortunately, it becomes very crowded as it can be booked for functions and is open to non residents. Despite the wonderful cheerful, hard working but sometimes overstretched staff it was sometimes difficult to get a drink before dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pagliaccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

The hotel setting is beautiful! The staff, as well as the mangers, were gracious and welcoming. My daughter had her Wedding rehearsal with cocktails / hors d'oeuvres on the rooftop. The food, service, and view were amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Just returned from a 7 night stay and the hotel was everything we had hoped for.The location ,right on the lakeside ,near to the town,boat terminus,railway station and of course ,mini golf was spot on.

We had a family suite room 608 with mountain and side lakeside view . The room was spacious and well equipped ,with a separate panelled off section for the children. Unusually the TV had many uk channels .The room was well cleaned and turned down every night.

The restaurant was well managed and the food excellent. We had half board ,the breakfast was plentiful ,with good choice and the Dinner menu was varied and the quality excellent . The Head Waiter Luigi kept things working well and we were well entertained by our excellent waiter Mauro

The reception staff and management under Stefano were always friendly ,helpful and efficient .The views from the Sky Bar were fantastic as has been mentioned before ,the only negative was that most of the staff were at the sky bar ,so service at the outside pool and inside Bar and Garden was a little slow.

I would thoroughly recommend the La Palma ,with its mix of tradition and move to more contemporary facilities such as the Sky Bar and Pool and Spa making it a leading hotel in Stresa

Room Tip: Choose a lakeside or side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LoyalRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

all previous reviews are fairly accurate,this is a very good Hotel.We stayed 7 nights with Thomson on half board,this removes the need to wander around the pizzerias every night trying to find the perfect pizza,pasta or lasagne.The food in the restaurant was imaginative and very tasty,we didn't have a bad course all week,some of the waiters think they are marathon runners between courses but you soon learn to slow your eating to stop the next course being delivered!
Much has been said about the Sky Bar it is certainly unigue!.not sure if it supposed to be an attraction for residents or to attract people in.
Overall its position as third rated hotel in Sresa is well founded as both the others are 5 star.

Room Tip: Above 3rd floor with a lake view the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarkaj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA
0.1 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#6 of 35 in Stresa
1,442 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 35 in Stresa
401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#11 of 35 in Stresa
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#10 of 35 in Stresa
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palma Hotel

Address: Via Umberto Primo 33, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stresa
#2 Family Hotel in Stresa
#3 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range: $181 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Palma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Palma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palma Stresa
La Palma Hotel Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing