We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lake”
Review of La Palma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Palma Hotel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Lovely hotel with great room ,amazing rooftop sky bar it was just a shame that you could not get a drink (hot or cold) before mid day or after the evening meal the bars were not open. Drinks were not served at the pool

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandra777_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    411
    102
    23
    12
See reviews for
219
703
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Right on the lakeside overlooking the 3 islands in Lake Maggoire this hotel lived up to its expectations. The whole area has a retro feel and stepping into the hotel you certainly get this with the traditional decor. From the outside it isn't as impressive as the Regency Palace a few doors down but its location is perfect. 5 minute walk from the train station (an hour from Milan) and the same into the town.

I booked a junior suite and this turned out to be on the side of the hotel but it was a large room with a double sized balcony overlooking the lake. Lots of TV stations, including the BBC and ITV if that is something that is a plus for you.

Breakfast, which was included, provided plenty of choice. We ate in the hotel on one evening and this was very reasonable and good quality compared to the tourist trap on the town square. Especially with a view over the lake and an opportunity to sit in the gardens for coffee and after dinner drinks.

The hotel boasts a swimming pool on the lake side and a Sky Bar which gives even more magnificent views and seems to be "the" place to be in the evening. During the day it is a great place to relax and sunbathe with a large Jacuzzi plunge pool which is fabulous.

Service was excellent; everyone very friendly. The only slight negative points were the shower flattered to deceive with its spray-jet things and there were no refreshments in the room. I know this is usually the case in 5* establishments but could have been the exception as Stresa is predominately a holiday destination.

The hotel boasted 4* but I think it is equal to many 5* I have stayed in. Not cheap but worth every penny for a special holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Passepartout1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
189 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks exploring the area around the Lago Maggiore. We had a deluxe room with lake view. The room was nice, clean and specious. The service was really friendly and helpful. The most gorgeous thing to mention is the sky bar in the seventh floor with one of the best lake views. Even if you are not a guest you have to go there for a drink. The breakfast buffet offers a large variety. The internet (WiFi) is working well in the room and all other areas of the hotel including the garden. To use the free internet you have to re-register every 24h which is a little bit annoying. We can really recommend the hotel although the following point has to be considered but is properly also valid for the other hotels around. As a main road is running between the hotel and the lake you have to expect traffic noise starting sometimes early in the morning. This is especially the case if you book a room with lake view.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Noid42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This hotel is at Stresa on Lake Maggiore in the Umberto region of Northern Italy. This was our first visit to both the region and hotel and we were not disappointed with either.

The panoramic views from the hotel are just outstanding and the Sky Bar is absolutely wonderful in a chic modern style. A beautiful location to sit and gaze at the beautiful lake, the Borromeo Islands of Isola Bella, Isola Madre, Isolino di San Giovanni and Isola dei Pescatori, with the backdrop of the mountains whilst enjoying an aperitivo before strolling off for Dinner, really quite enchanting!

Our room was on the 4th floor with a side view of the Lake and provided a balcony from which to fully appreciate the beauty of lake and surrounding mountains. The room was comfortable and adequate for our needs; however additional plugs for charging of smartphones and other electrical devices would have been of benefit. The option of using the electric shutters to seal the room of light and noise and ensure a not to early start was a positive, however early risers opening their shutters some mornings awoke us as they are quite noisy!

The region is beautiful and not commercialised at all, a real benefit in my view. We explored the area; used the cable car and chair lift for a panoramic trip to the top of Mottarone and back again; the Borromeo Islands by little ferry boats; the Lake Maggiore Express was a full day round trip with a train from Stresa to Domodossola where you board the narrow gauge Centovalley Railway that travels to Locarno in Switzerland through the "hundred valleys" area, passing many traditional villages and old stone houses, where we enjoyed the spectacular scenery of the woods, alpine pasture, mountains and waterfalls, with a lunch in Locarno before boarding a ferry that provided a wonderful opportunity to see the valleys and towns surrounding Lake Maggiore as we gently returned to Stresa.

We tried several of the areas local restaurants and ate well with a wide range of local food on offer at reasonable prices and enjoyed trying various local wines.

We fell in love with the beauty of Stresa and Lake Maggiore and, for the Sky Bar alone with its stunning panoramic views, we will return and we would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Side or Lake views are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nic666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed here from 1st to 8th June in Room 219 having travelled with Inghams Travel. Our first time and both the region and hotel were superb in every way. The room was a Lake View room and really is a must to fully appreciate the beauty of lake and surrounding mountains. A young lady in Reception, who spoke perfect English, and whose name I have forgotten was brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble even though I blew the fuses by charging my mobile ( my conversion plug was faulty) twice so that we were unable to enter our room and they had to come and open the door. The Head Waiter called Luigi was brilliant and knows his local wines very well. All the restaurant staff and those who manned the bars were very helpful and speedy even though very busy especially at the "Sky Bar" on the 7th floor which is a dream place to have a lunch time snack or pre dinner drink. I have rated Sleep quality as 4 due to the hardness of the beds but that is entirely personal taste. No comment for the Spa as we did not use it or even look for it. Breakfast again is 4 as there was only Scrambled Egg, a type of Bacon and Toast as a hot choice.The toaster was the worst I have come across in a hotel being terribly slow and toasting only one side at a time. We do not have anything other than what is called a "Continental breakfast" so we were well catered for with fresh fruit and home made Yoghurt and lots of white and brown very fresh bread plus rolls etc.There were Cheeses and all the usual which the other europeans seem to like. The hotel is situated on the side of a busy road but separated from it by a lovely lawn with comfortable chairs and loungers and very wide pavement. The swimming pool is across the road and uses the lake water. Hotel is very well maintained with a classical air about the furnishings and is really not "dated" as some other reviews have indicated. If you want modern furnishings then go to a Sheridan or Holiday Inn. The front Lake rooms all have an electrical shutters that you can lower to cut out the light and noise from the road if it bothers you.

Room Tip: Lake View but the rooms at the rear of the hotel will be a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scooter402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The rooftop, since we were here last, has been transformed into a FABULOUS location for resort-like sun worshiping and an observation spot to watch the little boats taxi people to nearby towns. It now has an infinity jacuzzi pool with underwater seats, a full bar, lounge chairs (doubles, singles, and cabana types with the curtains) plus an area you can sit under umbrellas and have a snack or a fancy drink with an umbrella in it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The views from the hotel are just outstanding and the Skybar is absoloutely wonderful. The only slight quibble we had is that because it is understandably popular with local people, we had to wait a while to be served, especially as we were there over a Bank Holiday weekend. We felt that the bar in the lounge area should have been open as an alternative and we did enquire about this. We didn't get an entirely satisfactory answer to be honest. But apart from that, during the day we had the place more or less to ourselves and the sun beds were incredibly comfortable and there was plenty of shaded area if it got too hot.
Our room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast choice was perfectly adequate. Our deal included an evening meal, which on the whole was fine, if somewhat unusual at times. There was only one meal I chose badly - gammon translated into a rather unusual pork dish and I left most of it. But we certainly didn't starve and the desserts more than made up for it!
Stresa itself is a charming resort, not at all commercialised and just perfect for visiting the Borromean Islands. We arrived by train, and Milan is less than an hour away.
For the Skybar alone we would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Certainly get a lake view or, as we had a side lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.1 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
1,281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#8 of 35 in Stresa
966 reviews
0.0 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#9 of 35 in Stresa
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palma Hotel

Property: La Palma Hotel
Address: Via Umberto Primo 33, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stresa
#2 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
#3 Family Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Palma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your La Palma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palma Stresa
La Palma Hotel Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing